We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Spanish Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have stayed at many luxury hotels, but I have to say that the experience at Spanish Bay was a cut above. From the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness of the facilities and rooms, this facility is top notch (though definitely on the expensive side). A lot of times, it is the little things that make a difference. Simple ideas such as not charging guests for in-room soda and snacks, and not trying to gouge guests on prices from the honor bar show you that this facility know what it is doing. The Gas fireplaces in the rooms really add a nice touch. I would highly recommend this for those staying in the pebble Beach area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 695 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you are planning a Pebble Beach vacation I recommend the Inn. The inn has been updated and looks great. The lodge is more expensive and outdated. Great staff that go out of there way to make you feel at home. Deer roam the property and watching the bagpiper while sipping a cocktail was a great. They have great restaurants on site. Shuttles can take you to Pebble if you want to eat there.
The inn does not have a driving range. The morning we played Spanish Bay, we drove to the range at Spyglass which is very close. Great experience. Worth the cost.
Weather was perfect. No rain or wind high of 68! Perfect time to go!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Enjoyed a return stay at Spanish Bay after two years away. Everything was as usual understated and close to perfect. Every member of the staff you come in contact with seems interested in making your stay as good as it could be...I love sitting out at the fire pits looking at the ocean ...as others have said I have been fortunate to stay here more than a few times.. I am never disappointed .. the Inn at Spanish Bay has to be one of the best hotels in the world..

Room Tip: An ocean view over the golf course is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our 25th wedding anniversary trip. The room was amazing with views over the first tee at the Links at Spanish Bay. The hotel itself is lovely with great staff and beautiful surroundings. I had chosen this hotel as they have a piper playing each night as dusk falls and being from Scotland we thought this appropriate. It is very atmospheric as the piper plays (and he is good). We played golf at both Spanish Bay and Pebble Beach and on both occasions the staff at the golf courses were friendly and most helpful. I know this isn't a cheap place to stay but if you are a golfer and have a special occasion coming up there aren't many places to beat this.

Room Tip: We had a room looking out over the ocean which was fab - I'm sure all the rooms are the same ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellybean7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been super-fortunate to have stayed at Spanish Bay about 10 times. It may be my most favorite place on earth. The hotel is fantastic. The service is superior. The surroundings are gorgeous. The patio in the evening-with the sounds of the bagpipes floating across the moor, is surreal. Roy's restaurant is fabulous. And Carmel-Monterey is such a wonderful place. Not enough stars to rate this hotel.

Room Tip: The best weather on the North Coast is usually late Sept and October. Ask for a top floor with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayandteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had a difficult time rating this one. Stayed here in June with 3 other couples and I'll admit, it was a dream golf vacation for the guys so they could play Pebble Beach. In order to play Pebble, you HAVE to stay at one of the hotels, and this IS the cheapest hotel of the 3 resorts available. But at $700 a night for a garden-view (read: parking lot through the trees), I've honestly stayed at better resorts for less money. The buildings were somewhat run-down and old, the fitness center was tiny and the pool was fine but with no food/drink service. The room, while comfortable and cozy (especially with that lovely fireplace and huge soaking tub) did not "feel" like a $700 a night room, whatever that feels like. :)

Now, before I sound like a crabby lady, the positives. The service was amazing from start to finish. The staff (other than at the spa and restaurants) do not accept tips and yet go above and beyond. The shuttle to the 2 other facilities is free and runs continually. The fire pits at the back of the Inn have the most stunning views of the ocean and golf course and there was nothing better than snuggling up in the (provided) blankets at night, listening to the bagpiper as he made his rounds, and sipping our cocktails. There are 2 restaurants and 2 bars on site and more at the other properties so we did not get bored during our 3 nights. We girls enjoyed the lovely spa at Pebble one day and had a lovely time over there. And, as I've mentioned, the room comes with a great fireplace, lots of free snacks and lovely bath products. There is great in-room coffee and complimentary coffee in the lobby as well.

Overall it was a lovely stay and the service is what stands out the most for me. But again, I've honestly stayed at nicer facilities for less money. But, since you have to book tee times a year in advance, clearly it's popular and people are willing to spend the money. Pebble and Casa Palmero are even pricier, so if you are looking to do Pebble the cheapest way possible, this is your option.

Room Tip: At check-in we were offered to upgrade to partial- ocean view rooms for $100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oceanchic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at the Inn at Spanish Bay. We played the three courses, Spanish Bay, Pebble Beach and Spy Glass and it was in a word "amazing". The hotel itself is top rate, the room is large and well furnished. They provide some snacks such as, chips, pretzels, candy bar, granola bars, water, tonic, soda with the cost of the room, which was great for bringing some snacks out on the golf course. Had lunch at Sticks at the golf and pool area. Food was good and the view was amazing out on the golf course to the ocean. Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn0wb0under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pebble Beach
2.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
901 reviews
2.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
13.1 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
362 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Spanish Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Spanish Bay

Address: 2700 17 Mile Dr, Pebble Beach, CA 93953-2668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range: $671 - $1,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Spanish Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Preferred Hotels and TravelUp so you can book your The Inn at Spanish Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Spanish Bay Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel At Spanish Bay
At Spanish Bay Hotel
Inn Spanish Bay
Spanish Bay Inn
Inn At Spanish Bay
Spanish Bay Monterey
The Inn At Spanish Bay Pebble Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing