We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service and views...but at quite a price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Spanish Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Top notch service and views...but at quite a price!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had a difficult time rating this one. Stayed here in June with 3 other couples and I'll admit, it was a dream golf vacation for the guys so they could play Pebble Beach. In order to play Pebble, you HAVE to stay at one of the hotels, and this IS the cheapest hotel of the 3 resorts available. But at $700 a night for a garden-view (read: parking lot through the trees), I've honestly stayed at better resorts for less money. The buildings were somewhat run-down and old, the fitness center was tiny and the pool was fine but with no food/drink service. The room, while comfortable and cozy (especially with that lovely fireplace and huge soaking tub) did not "feel" like a $700 a night room, whatever that feels like. :)

Now, before I sound like a crabby lady, the positives. The service was amazing from start to finish. The staff (other than at the spa and restaurants) do not accept tips and yet go above and beyond. The shuttle to the 2 other facilities is free and runs continually. The fire pits at the back of the Inn have the most stunning views of the ocean and golf course and there was nothing better than snuggling up in the (provided) blankets at night, listening to the bagpiper as he made his rounds, and sipping our cocktails. There are 2 restaurants and 2 bars on site and more at the other properties so we did not get bored during our 3 nights. We girls enjoyed the lovely spa at Pebble one day and had a lovely time over there. And, as I've mentioned, the room comes with a great fireplace, lots of free snacks and lovely bath products. There is great in-room coffee and complimentary coffee in the lobby as well.

Overall it was a lovely stay and the service is what stands out the most for me. But again, I've honestly stayed at nicer facilities for less money. But, since you have to book tee times a year in advance, clearly it's popular and people are willing to spend the money. Pebble and Casa Palmero are even pricier, so if you are looking to do Pebble the cheapest way possible, this is your option.

Room Tip: At check-in we were offered to upgrade to partial- ocean view rooms for $100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oceanchic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    122
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
107
243
12
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at the Inn at Spanish Bay. We played the three courses, Spanish Bay, Pebble Beach and Spy Glass and it was in a word "amazing". The hotel itself is top rate, the room is large and well furnished. They provide some snacks such as, chips, pretzels, candy bar, granola bars, water, tonic, soda with the cost of the room, which was great for bringing some snacks out on the golf course. Had lunch at Sticks at the golf and pool area. Food was good and the view was amazing out on the golf course to the ocean. Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn0wb0under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just spend a very long weekend at the Inn at Spanish Bay. It was scheduled after an action packed week of vacation spent in San Francisco. We were looking for quiet lounging punctuated only by spa treatments and sumptuous meals. This hotel did not disappoint. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed. And since we were trying to just lounge around we actually spend a lot of time in our room and it did not feel like we were on top of each other or that we needed to get out to feel less cramped. Food was good and varied enough so we felt that we did not need to drive to any other restaurant but still be happy with our meals. Most of the time we spent reading or just sitting about. It was so quiet and peaceful. Just what we were looking for!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I took my husband to play Pebble Beach for his 40th birthday. We are both avid golfers and thought this would be a great "once in a lifetime" experience. Was it ever- except it will not be once in my lifetime! What service, what views, and the golf was perfect. We stayed at the Inn at Spanish Bay- not the lodge. I am so happy we did. much more intimate, serine, and beautiful place. The fire pits are so wonderful and the bagpiper is a must see! The staff is just wonderful and the service cannot be beat. We played Pebble Beach, Spyglass, and the Links at Spanish Bay. Spyglass was not in great shape and not as nice as the other courses and nothing matches Pebble! The rooms are very nice- not worth what you pay- but you are paying for the name and the golf access. I just cannot say enough about this trip. The resort is nearly perfect and they made it so special for my husbands birthday at every turn. Simply Amazing! I will be back!

Room Tip: Does not seem to be a bad room in the place- we had forest view and it was lovely- we were not in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
329 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Inn at Spanish Bay in June 2013. We had a "Forest View" room, and we were there on the "Stay and Play" Package, which cost $2,395 for two nights and included two rounds of golf (I played Pebble Beach and Spyglass Hill).

The positives are easy to see. The Inn is set in a stunning location on Spanish Bay, with views northward extending across Monterey Bay as far as Santa Cruz. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and luxurious - everything from the chairs to the TV to the carpet to the bedding was top-quality - think Ritz-Carlton. The bathroom was large, with a shower, separate large tub, and separate dressing area. Bath linens were high-quality, as were the soaps, lotions, shampoos, and other bath products. Restaurants feature great food (not gourmet, but very high-standard), have great views of the ocean, and the outdoor terrace has a bagpiper play each evening before sunset - definitely a great experience. The waitstaff at all restaurants were very knowledgeable and friendly. Needless to say, the golf is outstanding, with shuttles available to each of the Pebble Beach Company's courses. For non-golfers, the location is close to both Carmel and Monterey, and there is a spa on the property.

The negatives are few and hard to find. We weren't addressed by name every time we interacted with staff (but were most of the time). The overall ambiance was not what I would call smart, sleek, or sexy, but it was both classy and luxurious.

Overall, a great experience. To compare two sister properties with similar prices, unless you MUST have a room that overlooks the 18th at Pebble Beach, stay at the Inn at Spanish Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to experience this fantastic property during a company golf fundraiser. He did the golfing, I did the exploring. We had a "scenic view" room (a little bit of ocean and links). It was beautiful and spacious, with a fireplace, snacks, water, a mini fridge, large soaking tub with seperate shower. When we came back to our room in the evening we were greeted with soft music, a turned down bed and chocolates! The staff was incredible - from the gentleman who opened my car door to the servers at dinner. We had two company dinner functions and the food was excellent. We are hoping to go back next year - fingers crossed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterseekr
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent Memorial weekend at The Inn at Spanish Bay and loved everything about our trip. The service was just unbelievable. The employees go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. Genuinely enthusiastic and friendly service from the door greeters to the restaurant staff.

We are so glad we chose The Inn over Pebble Beach Lodge. We had a day at the lodge at it was like Disneyland! Tourists running around and just too many crowds. If you plan to stay at Pebble Beach and want beautiful views and relaxation choose The Inn at Spanish Bay.

My husband & BIL played golf at The Links at Spanish Bay & Pebble Beach. They have never played such beautiful and amazing courses. They used a caddie at Pebble Beach and were glad they did.

We definitely plan to return. Although very costly to stay, we believe our stay was worth the money. Meals are pricey, but every meal was delicious! Oh, and we had a forest view room with a slight oven view. Amazing weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterseekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pebble Beach
2.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
#2 of 9 in Pebble Beach
442 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
317 reviews
2.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
4.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Spanish Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Spanish Bay

Property: The Inn at Spanish Bay
Address: 2700 17 Mile Dr, Pebble Beach, CA 93953-2668
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Spanish Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Spanish Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Spanish Bay Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel At Spanish Bay
At Spanish Bay Hotel
Inn Spanish Bay
Spanish Bay Inn
Inn At Spanish Bay
Spanish Bay Monterey
The Inn At Spanish Bay Pebble Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing