We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bordering on Excellent!”

Basil Thai Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 195 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Bordering on Excellent!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Cannot say it enough times. This place is a must try when in Paso. Attentive service, good vibe in a red decadent late night sort of feel - decent drink pricing - ok wine choices - could improve - however, decent beer for those of you who enjoy that and of course the food is the star attraction. (large beer - 32oz for $8) The green curry with chicken (or other if you prefer) with a subtle bite, very round mouth feel, savory experience is amazing!!!!! Could order this all day long. The soy cubes with sesame, eggplant and delicious red something (forgot) sauce is incredible as is just about anything. Here's the thing. You look into the kitchen and see Thai folks cooking. Always makes me feel good to know they care and dedicate their craft to simple delicious always fresh and never dull eats to make anybody really really happy. Plus they are open a tad after nine. Always a good thing. House sake - not bad! One of my favorite spots on the central coast - for years now,

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    71
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Epic salad”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The salad my friends and I had, took me on a journey of tastes. From ginger to pineapple to onion to celery. Oh and don't forget the shrimp. Job well done. My friends had the rice and another had their sample plate which was awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Kreatine30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Good variety of Thai food on menu. Four people in our party. All entrees were delicious. Wait staff were courteous and friendly

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank martztrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very much improved”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I had been to Basil on multiple occasions and been disappointed. However I have been hearing good things and decided to give it another try. I was very pleasantly surprise on the food had improved greatly and showed much more creativity and authentic Thai flair than previously. I will return. The atmosphere is and has been nice, now they have the food to match.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UziL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Thai Restaurants...”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Basil sits right on the park in downtown Paso Robles -- ideal spot to people watch and have a relaxing dinner. Fresh, flavorful thai food, seafood and a good wine list, showcasing the Paso wines. Have eaten here several times through the years and always leave with good memories!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderllust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Thai Restaurant also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Basil Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing