We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food, good service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil Thai Restaurant

Basil Thai Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 186 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Corona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

A very good meal and reasonably priced. The salmon was superb as was the lamb shank. They seem to do quite a bit of take away. Always trust the locals. This a great place if you're in the mood for something different.

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    69
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We regularly enjoy having dinner at Bail Thai. The food is consistently excellent and the service is outstanding. Be warned, it can be very busy on weekend nights as it's located right on the park and is frequented by locals as well as visited by folks from out of town. A couple favorites on the menu are the pineapple curry which is prettily served in a pineapple shell and the param, a yummy dish with a great peanut sauce served on a bed of fresh spinach. The prices here are very reasonable as well. We've had thai food in many locations and this is one of our favorites.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryBlizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spreckels, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our "Go to Thai" in Paso!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I enjoy sharing Asian cuisine with each other when we dine out. The portions here are large enough to split entrees and generally come with your choice of steamed white or brown rice. Try the Spicy Red Curry (seafood and chicken combination is our favorite)! TIP: We let them know if we're headed to the movies after dinner and always they get our food out quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SVFarmGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Level Contributor
188 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A very good choice....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We enjoyed this Thai restaurant overlooking the square in town (a park like setting). This was our second time here for dinner. We order a soup which was great. Served in an heated bowl. We also ordered the Pad Thai and it was just ok. It was a little dry, but still good. I had a ginger tea which was fantastic on a cool night. The service was good.
I would recommend this restaurant for a nice experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I went her with my fiancee and her family plus a couple of friends. Great atmosphere, good food. It was kind of expensive for what we got, even though we did a bunch of food sharing to bring the price down. I would go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Thai Restaurant also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Basil Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing