We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great in the past”

Basil Thai Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 195 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It was great in the past”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

But no more. The Fresh Spring Rolls promised shrimp, noodles, lettuce, etc., arrived with zero shrimp and no noodles (lots of shredded lettuce and carrot, though). I pointed this out and they replaced the order with another sporting exactly one (1) medium shrimp, split in half, with no noodles for an appetizer priced at $7.00. The Crying Tiger should be called Crying Customer, as it was beef that had obviously been held and then microwaved back to dry tastelessness when ordered, again for $7.00. My companion liked her Param, which looked fine and actually came with fresh baby spinach leaves for $15.00. FYI, after I complained about the Spring Rolls, we were completely ignored by the wait staff, got no drink refills, nothing. We won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    72
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
545 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Dependable Thai Cuisine”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were both happy with the food from here. We tried the Chile Basil Chicken and the Crying Tiger (Beef with a Spicy Tamarind sauce). They gave us complimentary Tom Yum Soup and our plates came with our choice of rice, a fried crispy chip, and a small fresh salad. Both meals were delicious and prepared nicely and also reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSaltyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I ate lunch there. We had the scallops, tofu param, and vegetable red curry. We loved all the dishes. We would have preferred to order each dish a la carte but each dish came as lunch specials with salad, rice, and a complimentary soup. It was way more food than we could eat but we didn't mind because we took it home and ate the rest for dinner. The service was good. They must have refilled my wife's large tea five times. I did not find it that expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobEasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on the reviews we read and we loved it. The food was excellent and the service was good. We would definitely return if we lived in the neighborhood!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yellow Curry is out of this world!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Prices were a bit high, but then again this is wine country so everything is pricey. The service was pretty decent although our main waiter wasn't they most friendly person I have ever met. The young lady waitress who checked on us was pleasant and courteous.

We had the Pad Thai noodles which was very good but the Yellow Curry was phenomenal!! Even my wife who doesn't like curry as much as I do, wished we had just ordered two orders of it. The four of us quickly demolished the little bit of jasmine rice they gave us and a second small bowl of rice was $3 dollars! (Ouch)

Overall a very nice meal with tremendous flavors, but the service was just adequate and the prices a tad high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Thai Restaurant also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Basil Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing