We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel and great location in Paso Robles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paso Robles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paso Robles Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel and great location in Paso Robles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

This was my first visit to Paso Robles and this hotel was a pleasant surprise. It's right off the main street and it doesn't look like anything special from the street. But then there is this really beautiful courtyard with beautiful trees and ponds and fish. It was quite a surprise. The location is great - right across from a nice town square surrounded by all of the shops and restaurants. It was nice to sit outside in the evening by the fire pit and enjoy a glass of wine. We loved a wine shop in town - Bodegas - known for their bold reds. And the Villa Creek restaurant had the most amazing tacos, guac, and margaritas!!! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannekmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    450
    193
    79
    58
See reviews for
182
683
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We were in California for a leisure trip from San Francisco to San Luis Obispo, to Bakersfield .to Thousand Oaks, to LA to Paso Robles. We try to stay in hotels priced between $130-200. We had some great luck in Thousand Oaks and downtown LA. The rest, not so good.

We toured some wineries and on the recommendation of a winery employee, we booked the Paso Robles Inn. We received a 10% discount for using our AAA. We got a king sized bed.

Upon arrival, I was unimpressed with the exterior. Upon entering the room, 1st floor, I was even less impressed.

The exterior and interior of our room smelled like sulpher (rotten eggs) - not a pleasant smell after a long day of being out in fresh air wine country. Also, the mattress and pillows seemed dated and worn. The room seemed clean though.

As this hotel was our last night in California of our 5 nights there, this was in the bottom 2 of the hotels we stayed in.

For the price we paid, I really feel it was not worth it- reason being:
1. No breakfast included
2. The bad smell
3. Old/worn mattress and pillows
4. Overall dislike of the room

We paid the same price in Thousand Oaks and downtown LA and got:
1. Wonderful breakfast included
2. Clean smelling/newer rooms
3. Pillow top mattresses, down pillows, finer quality sheets
4. Nice toiletries

I was really disappointed, because I so wanted to end our trip in a nice, romantic, comfortable hotel room, but unfortunately, this place didn't meet that expectation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is a famous hotel as one drives up the Central Coast of Califonia. It has obviously seen better days. We used to enjoy stopping here, the restaurant used to be well known for its steaks and seafood. The restaurant has been updated and remodeled. However, the two entrees we had were expensive and not worth the price. Instead of concentrating on good value, the emphasis was on "unique". Our entrees though different (scallops, halibut) were not the kind of fish one would expect for the price. Side vegetables very salty, oily and overcooked.
Rooms were clean but old with furniture that looked like it came from garage sales. Not inexpensive, no breakfast included. Recommend staying at nearby chain hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank califnonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We came to Paso Robles as part of a wine tasting trip. The Paso Robles Inn is the perfect location. After a day of wine tasting we checked into the hotel, walked into town and sampled some olive oil and more wine. Then we had a fabulous dinner at the Paso Robles Steakhouse, inside the hotel. We took a bottle of wine we had purchased locally and we weren't charged a corking fee. It was the end to a perfect day. The only issue I had is that the rooms have very thin walls and we had to call the front desk at 1:00 am because the people next to us were having a party and it felt as if they were in our room. They handled it and we were able to fall asleep. We plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50statestraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

The hubs and I decided to spend our 3rd night as husband and wife in Paso Robles and we were looking for a quaint hotel to stay in driving back to SF from LA after our wedding on 10/10/10.

We came across the Paso Robles Inn on tripadvisor and thought it would be a neat little place to stay since we could choose a room that had a private balcony with a mineral spring tub and it would be a nice little honeymoon spot before our honeymoon next month.

We used our AAA discount to get 10% off.

We arrived at the Paso Robles Inn around 8pm at night and we felt like we just entered another century of old saloons and cowboys. The hotel is actually a historical site and one of the oldest buildings in the town which was pretty neat. I enjoyed reading about the hotel's history and the city.

The mineral spring tub definitely has its pros and cons so you should be advised about this before booking the room. Mineral spring water has a really really strong smell and this smell permeates through the room despite the fact that our sliding door is shut. To tell you the truth, I had a really difficult time sleeping because of the odor. Once you're in the mineral tub it's relaxing but I think it might be the last time I stay at a mineral bath hotel. There is also a pool and hot tub outside but we didn't get a chance to use it because it was already closed by the time we came back from dinner.

The Inn has a motel type feel to it as we had to climb up the stairs to get to the room. The fixtures in the room seemed to need updating (i.e. the towel rack that looked like it was going to fall off) and the bathtub still had hair in it from I guess a previous guest which is a little gross. Our room overlooked the courtyard and there was a mineral spring tub that had privacy curtains. There was supposed to be free wifi but our room didn't really get good reception for that.

One thing that was nice was the fireplace in the room.

My husband and I enjoyed our time in Paso Robles but I don't think I would stay here again given the fact that we spent a little under $200 for this place, we expected something a little bit more polished for that price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield CA
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

This hotel would be just "OK" if not for the beautiful grounds and ideal location.
The hotel is old so the rooms are small which would be fine if the service were a bit better. The fireplace was so touchy and tempermental that we had to call the front desk. The bathroom tile needed a good scrubbing and some re-grouting, the sink had a steady drip and the toilet seat was loose.
The place was noisy due to construction going on in back.
While the food in the restaurant was very good to excellent, they are not willing to split checks (we only asked for 2). The desk clerk was very unpleasant.
If it's history and location you are looking for, this is the place. If it's a friendly and accomodating atmosphere, move on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

This place really gets into being a historic hotel, and they do well with what they have. The grounds are nicely kept and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We had breakfast in the coffee shop and it was delish!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrienneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paso Robles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paso Robles Inn

Property: Paso Robles Inn
Address: 1103 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paso Robles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and centrally located downtown Paso Robles, the Historic Paso Robles Inn is the perfect spot to enjoy Paso Robles wine country! Right across the street from the City Park, the Paso Robles Inn is within close walking distance of wine tasting, boutiques, restaurants, movies, specialty culinary shops and more! The hotel features 98 beautifully appointed guest rooms and deluxe mineral spa rooms offering a private spa tub on your balcony or patio fed by mineral springs that have attracted travelers for over a century. Relax in the stunning garden setting, enjoy the award-winning Steakhouse, Coffee Shop and Cattlemen’s Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Paso Robles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing