We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway”
Review of Paso Robles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paso Robles Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed in a room with an outdoor mineral spa. It was a wonderful addition to the trip. After walking around to tastings and exploring the countryside it was nice to unwind in the spa.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank gopangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

Great location located on the west side of the park in the heart of downtown Paso. Everything you want in downtown is only a quick walk away. The rooms have something to be desired though. We stayed in a spa room.

The bad:
Carpet was dirty, balcony was also dirty, sheets were like sandpaper, 25" tube tv, dark with poor lighting, interior is left over from the 80's (although the building is only 6 years old?), spa doesn't get warm enough and is dirty, thin walls, sulfur smell.

The good:
Great location, huge room, double sinks in bathroom, friendly staff (everyone is friendly in paso), cheap room ($120 for the spa), fireplace in room (gas, glass sealed).

The details:
The carpet was dirty in the entrance area and near the sliding glass door. The lighting was poor with "can" lights and vaulted ceilings. The room was huge even with a king bed, you could easily fit a blow-up mattress if needed. The sheets and blankets screamed cheap motel quality and were worse than those found in mid-level hotels (holiday inn express, hampton, etc). The tv was a 25" tube, not a flat screen as pictured on the website. The walls were paper thin and I was awoken during the night by someone coughing in the room adjacent. At night upon returning to the hotel the room smelled like sulfur, I guess everyone must have had the spas going but putting on the fan did help.
Perhaps the worse part, the spa was a let-down it took 20 min to heat to about 85-90 degrees (warm bath water temp) and would not heat any higher after that, it was also a bit dirty. The spa smells like sulfur (eggs), but that is very normal considering that it uses mineral water (downtown has a sulfur smell), there was also white mineral deposits on the spa it's self but again a normal condition. The hotel does provide a scented gel to add to the spa which does help the smell.
The location was great, with plenty of wine tasting and restaurants around (artisan, villa creek, vinoteca wine bar, paso wine center all recommended), the bathroom was huge with plenty of room for both of us to get ready, the staff was friendly and helpful, the grounds were pretty with fish ponds. It was a pretty inexpensive room when using the discount for a 2 night stay. Again the location was perfect a quick walk to downtown.

I would recommend this based because of location and price. I would also check out hotel cheval for location or winery B&Bs for other places to stay.

Other advice:
Check out the liqueur/deli/market on 6th & spring for cheap local wines and good lunch.
Book "the wine line" for a winery tour. The $50 price was paid for by free/discounted tastings, and discounted bottles (it's like being a member of the wine club without being one). It's a hop on hop off service, you are also allowed to stop at any associated winery and you don't have to follow the group. The driver was prompt in picking up in 40 min and had a lot of patience if we needed an extra 10-15 min. We were able to get away from the other people on the shuttle, namely the drunk girls who weren't there to taste.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marchingant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

I think that one has a decision to make about Paso Robles before booking an overnight. If you just want to sleep and don't care about good food, then stay at one of the recommended motels on Hwy 101. But if you want to walk around a charming downtown and eat at an innovative restaurant, then stay at the Paso Robles Inn, right on the main plaza. Our queen fireplace room was clean and came with a microwave and refirgerator, and was quiet. And the linens were just fine, with white-white striped sheets and a new bedspread (OK my designer self would have chosen something different. And at $87 (AAA discount) for a Friday night made it even better. Just dont eat at their restaurant unless you are a meat-and-potatoes sort; there are three excellent, albeit not inexpensive, restaurants within three easy walking blocks.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank humanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Great Location absolutely amazing! Walk into town it is right outside your room. Great Restaurants Artisan, Bistro Laurent (Sommelier is extremely pompous for knowing very little) but he can't even deter me from a great tasting menu with very, very reasonable prices. In town you will find a movie theater, multiple wine tasting rooms, old timey candy store, and amazing cheese, etc... But this review is about the hotel. The exterior of the hotel is well manicured, and the history is quite intriguing(ask about there ghost!) I never ate at the restaurant. The Utmost downfall to this hotel is by far the rooms!!!!!!!!! Ugh i wish someone would invest money in the rooms. I heard they are adding a spa which is fabulous but someone needs to explain to the owners they need to focus on what they have. This hotel has the potential to sell out every weekend if they would focus on whats already there. So the rooms are bad 80's decoration and the BEDDING oh the Bedding makes me sick every time I think about it. Imagine sleeping in sandpaper. I can ignore the sulfur smell because this is a natural hot spring and I love this but you just can't ignore horrible sheets. It makes no sense to go from a nice relaxing hot spring bath to a horrible bed. I am sorry Paso Robles Inn but please focus on your rooms!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsmycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My husband and I took a short trip to get away from work and enjoy some wine tasting in Paso Robles and San Miguel. We chose to stay at the Paso Robles Inn and had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and cozy with a fireplace. We loved the heated pool and the hot tub... simply relaxing. Loved the place and plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCDinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed at the Inn for one night and did their "Castle to Castle" package to celebrate my anniversary. It was amazing! They surprised us with a free bottle of wine, a coupon for the restaurant, and a lovely note congratulating us. The room had a fireplace, which worked beautifully, a large, two person bathroom, and on the balcony was a mineral spa!! We LOVED the mineral spa. Probably stayed in longer than we should have, it was so awesome.

Had dinner at the Inn and thanks to our coupon, we ended up spending about 20 dollars less than we had budgeted, which meant buying an extra bottle of wine from a winery the next day :)

The Castle to Castle tour was the next day, starting at 8am! We had a wonderful tour guide, Lloyd, who really was the best you ask for. Hearst Castle was amazing, plus we got to have a fantastic lunch on the beach, saw the hundreds of hilarious elephant seals (you gotta see them to believe them) and ended the tour with a wine tasting. It was truly fantastic. Everyone at the Inn was great, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkw219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed above the ballroom. The room was nicely sized and we liked the bed. We were sooo tired and just wanted a good nights rest. Unfortunately, we were awaken due to the neighboring room turning on their TV loudly and leaving it on after he had left his room. We called the front desk and they promptly sent someone up to turn it off. Unfortunately, there was also roof construction next door, so our first night away from our infant daughter turned out to be a sleep deprived one. Since the building is older, the thin walls are not a surprise. The jacuzzi tub was stained with a black substance. perhaps from minerals, perhaps from mold. I brought it to the attention of the manager. I would recommend this place for businessmen or women that have to wake up early.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelCo-Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
656 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
706 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paso Robles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paso Robles Inn

Address: 1103 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: $142 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paso Robles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and centrally located downtown Paso Robles, the Historic Paso Robles Inn is the perfect spot to enjoy Paso Robles wine country! Right across the street from the City Park, the Paso Robles Inn is within close walking distance of wine tasting, boutiques, restaurants, movies, specialty culinary shops and more! The hotel features 98 beautifully appointed guest rooms and deluxe mineral spa rooms offering a private spa tub on your balcony or patio fed by mineral springs that have attracted travelers for over a century. Relax in the stunning garden setting, enjoy the award-winning Steakhouse, Coffee Shop and Cattlemen’s Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paso Robles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing