We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice retreat”
Review of Paso Robles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paso Robles Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Paso Robles and the Inn had been recommended by many friends. We weren't disappointed. I called from the road to request an early check-in and was promised they'd do their best. And they did. It was obvious that a huge group was just leaving but they got the room ready for us. And couldn't have been nicer about it. The grounds are charming and the historic nature of the place is great. This is not an ultra-luxury property but neither are the rates. We had a room with balcony and spa tub. Be forewarned that the natural springs used in the tub have a sulfur content that smells like rotten eggs. It's not a strong smell and, knowing the source was natural, didn't bother us. The location is ideal. It's in the center of town across from a park and central to wine-tasting country. Go. Enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony/terrace where worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Historic Paso Robles Inn and Steakhouse. We strive to provide memorable and relaxing experiences for all our guest and it nice to hear we did provide this for you.

We look forward to having you as our guest again real soon.

Warmly,
Erica Fryburger General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Too bad about the negative reviews, wanted to make sure and submit mine b/c we found it a very good stay. Grounds are gorgeous as some have mentioned; you can tell they really pay attention and keep things up. Enjoyed walking around the resort. Our room was a little small but it had super amenities and was very high end. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. Wish they had included breakfast as an option, would enhance the experience. A classic hotel in a lovely square, would definitely recommend. Would go back if in the area, for sure. We did not have a sulphur problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! Our staff takes great pride in our gardens, and we do our best to keep this area as a lush oasis to keep our property cool and offer our guests a place to relax without stepping far from their rooms. Among the different flowers and vegetation, you will also see our plots with different seasonal plants which our restaurant uses in their farm-to-table operations. Many of our rooms have been recently updated and they feature Bath&Body Works products, Seattle’s Best Coffee, and a kitchenette. Although breakfast is not included in the price of the room, our restaurant offers very reasonable breakfast options and serves a great breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and await your future visit!

Meredith A. Martens
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked this hotel without knowing the mid-state fair was on at the same time,the hotel was fully booked and had a great atmosphere. Our welcome at check in and the professional manner of the guy was excellent. We had a sulpher spa room which although a bit smelly, was great fun. The attention to detail in the rooms is very good and it was spotlessly clean. The grounds, gardens and pool are very well maintained and we had a lovely few hours lounging at the pool. We had diner in the restaurant which was very tasty and good quality but we thought the wine was somewhat overpriced. The bar had a live band which was a real bonus as we got to have a dance! I would recommend this hotel to any couple for a luxurious, fun weekend away. ( One tip: easy on the bubble bath in the spa tub......)

Room Tip: Get a spa bath room, it is well worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEBBIEDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and the town of Paso Robles. Our hotel does have gorgeous gardens, and we do our best to maintain them and keep our rooms clean and comfortable. Our mineral spa's do provide our guests with a feature that is rarely seen at hotels, as we are able to tap into our underground hot springs and provide naturally beneficially mineral water to our guest. It does have a sulfur smell, but the smell does dissipate and we provide scent packets to our guests to enhance their spa experience. Our on-site restaurant and lounge also provide our guests with meal and entertainment options without having to leave our property. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to future visits with you.

Meredith A. Martens
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had a friend recommend that I stay here- and the room was nice, the private jacuzzi mineral tub on the balcony was a plus. Their is the sulfur aroma- but that is what you get when you have one of the rooms with a mineral tub. I added the bath gels to it to alleviate the aroma when I took a soak. The bathroom was spacious, bed was comfy. The room next door to me had left their room service food and dishes out and no one goes by to pick them up. I even called to let them know that it was still there at 9PM. The room service ends early- don't expect to get anything delivered after 8:30pm. Check in time isn't until 4PM. If you are an auto club member they offer a 10% discount.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irelandcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that both you and your friend have enjoyed your stays with us! Our property is well known for our private spa tubs which feature mineral water from natural springs located beneath our property. Because we do not treat or filter the water it offers many beneficial properties to our guests, but it does posses a sulfur smell. Once the tub is filled and you are able to use the jets this smell does dissipate, and we offer bath gels to help you as well. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your spa experience with us. Our restaurant is on-site and offers our guests great breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room-service options. They do stop taking orders at 8:30pm, but they open at 7:00am in the morning. Our hotel also guarantees a 4pm check-in time, but we do offer a 12pm check out time. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to future visits with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife & two children for just one night on our way from Yosemite to San Diego. It's a very nice looking hotel with nice gardens & pool. The room was quite small but had a big bathroom. The air conditioner was very quiet and efficient. Beds were comfy. Free wifi worked OK and still got coverage by the pool. The hotel is right opposite the town park which is surrounded by bars and shops. We had breakfast at the Red Scooter cafe near the park - very friendly and nice food at fair prices. I would certainly recommend this hotel as it's in a great location if you want to explore the local vineyards. It was very clean and good value with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay with us. Our hotel is located in the heart of the downtown Paso Robles area and is located within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and other activities. Our property is centrally located, yet our expansive gardens provide a quiet and peaceful atmosphere to ensure that our guests enjoy a relaxing experience. I'm so glad your overall experience of the Paso Robles Inn was a fantastic one, and that the next time you are visiting the area you will visit with us again!

Meredith A. Martens
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was also there during the Mid-State Fair. The biggest positives here are the location and the grounds -- large, picturesque, well-manicured. The biggest negative is the poor service. In particular, my room was NOT cleaned following my first night there. (There a total of 2 nights.) The maid didn't come by until 6PM -- while I was getting dressed for a concert. I don't think she really apologized - she just said that she had to clean like 20 rooms in preparation for one of the bands that was going to overnight there. I told her cleaning at that time wouldn't be possible, to which her response was something like, "great, I get to go home early then!" Upon check-out the following morning, I mentioned this problem to the front desk clerk. She wasn't terribly sympathetic, just acknowledged they were busy because of the fair. When I asked her for a rate adjustment, she said she wasn't authorized to grant one but that she would leave a message for the manager to call me, going as far as saying that this manager was very good about quick responses. I waited 2 days for her to phone me. When she didn't, I phoned her and left a direct voice message. After a full week, still no reply. I phoned the hotel again and asked to speak to the General Manager. Left her a message as well. Still to date, it's been almost 2 weeks and NOBODY has responded!! I am shocked they care this little. There is no excuse for this! After having given them multiple opportunities to rectify the situation, I feel justified in posting this here. I doubt I'll be staying here again!!

Room Tip: My building (overlooking front street) did not have sulfur odor from hot springs that some others co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suncatcher99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for what you experienced during your stay. It appears that we failed to attain our goal of exceeding our guest's expectations in your stay.

The fact that you were offered housekeeping service at 6:00pm is absolutely unacceptable, and I would like to apologize for that. As you noticed, we were extremely busy due to the California Mid State Fair. Our check out time is 12:00pm, and most guests after a full night at the fair are a bit slower in their departure, typically checking out closer to 1:00pm. We do our very best to accommodate all of our in house guests needs as well as the departing guests and arriving guests; however, this should not have negatively impacted your stay with us.

Unfortunately we appeared to keep missing each others calls, but we did make every attempt to contact you and I see a discount was provided at check out by the front office manager. I would like to assure you that our staff does care about the comfort of our guests, and I apologize that we were unable to meet our expectations. Hospitality and guest service is of the utmost importance to us. Providing a caring and friendly interaction is one of our number one goals and I’m sorry that was not your experience.

Hopefully, if we are fortunate enough to host you in the future, we can make sure you leave with a more favorable opinion of the Historic Paso Robles Inn.


Erica Fryburger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had only a single, small nightstand to go in our king bed room. I called the front desk thinking it was an oversight but they informed me that they only provide one per room - awkward for a couple in a king bed. Additionally, we were above rooms with sulfur tubs that made our room smell like rotten eggs our entire stay. We were not made aware of this, nor did they offer an alternative when we complained. The rooms were well equipped and clean. If it hadn't been for the sulfur smell and nightstand issue we would have had a decent stay. Loved the location - walking distance to everything in downtown Paso. That said, would not recommend or stay again.

Room Tip: We were advised upon checkout that some of the other buildings do not have sulfur tubs, but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAB1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I do apologize that there was only one nightstand located in your king room. We do provide only one nightstand to our rooms with two beds, which is located in the center of the room, but our rooms with the single king bed are absolutely supposed to have two nightstands. Each of our rooms are in the process of receiving new furniture to update and maintain the quality of our rooms, and you were one of our first guests to see this furniture. Unfortunately, to our dismay, some of our nightstands were on back-order and did not arrive when we had expected them to, resulting in our king rooms temporarily having only one nightstand available. I would also like to apologize for the sulfur smell you experienced during your stay. Paso Robles is well known for the natural mineral hot springs located beneath our city, and our hotel is the only one in town that has tapped into these reserves to provide our guests with the option of reserving a room with a private mineral spa tub. I do apologize that you did not enjoy the benefits of using one of our mineral spa tubs, and yet were able to smell the sulfur smell that accompanies this amenity. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the Paso Robles area, as this is a unique town with a lot to offer all travelers. I hope that you will again return to our beautiful area to further experience all that we have to offer.


Meredith A. Martens
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
657 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
706 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paso Robles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paso Robles Inn

Address: 1103 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: $141 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paso Robles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and centrally located downtown Paso Robles, the Historic Paso Robles Inn is the perfect spot to enjoy Paso Robles wine country! Right across the street from the City Park, the Paso Robles Inn is within close walking distance of wine tasting, boutiques, restaurants, movies, specialty culinary shops and more! The hotel features 98 beautifully appointed guest rooms and deluxe mineral spa rooms offering a private spa tub on your balcony or patio fed by mineral springs that have attracted travelers for over a century. Relax in the stunning garden setting, enjoy the award-winning Steakhouse, Coffee Shop and Cattlemen’s Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paso Robles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing