We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Black Oak(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$179
$170
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oaks Hotel & Suites(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$205
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$379
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Marriott Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adelaide Inn(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$134
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerwood Winery & Inn(Paso Robles)
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cheval(Paso Robles)
$495
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,723)
Filter reviews
1,723 results
Traveler rating
676
585
268
119
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
585
268
119
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral spasulfur smellspa roomhot springsjesse jamesprime ribgrounds are beautifulhistoric hoteltown squarewine tastingwithin walking distancemovie theaterperfect locationrestaurants and shopspool and hot tubking bedcentral coast
Filter
Updating list...
1,351 - 1,356 of 1,723 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

On our extended California Coast trip, my daughter and I decided to return inland and go through Paso Robles and its famed wineries. We made an attempt to book a room at the Paso Robles Inn through Trip Advisor but it looked as if no room was available for the 2nd night of our stay. We therefore called to make a reservation and the story was different: no room was available except at all, even for one night, barring a suite at $201/nt incl. breakfast. Short on time, we booked it.

Right from the start it was a total disappointment. We got there around 2:30pm and heard that the suite was not ready yet, but we'd be called as soon as it was. After the long drive we decided to go for lunch without even the benefit of refreshing ourselves (nothing was offered, except a couple of chairs - set wide apart - in the dim reception area).

The surly person who checked us in did NOT call us and when we got back the room was still NOT ready and we waited in the uncomfortable chairs till way past 4:00pm before we could access our SUITE! The afternoon being practically gone and the temperature 113 F, we decided to take a dip in the pool. That turned out to be another disagreable occasion, as a very unpleasant young man went around harassing the bathers.

Next morning, after having ascertained that the breakfast was INCLUDED in the room fee, we proceeded to try it out in the space that the person at the desk pointed out with her finger without even a word (the Paso Robles Steakhouse on the premises). Though it was 9:00am, there were no other guests and no breakfast buffet appeared to be laid out... An unhurried waitress showed up and gave us menus... rather baffled we ordered out of a rather grim selection what we thought would do us less harm... mine was an omelette with a tomato and mushroom filling... atrocious... inedible! I sent it back after the first bite, without any offer of replacing it.

We went back to the pool where yet ANOTHER unhinged person roamed making us very uncomfortable. Apparently the maids knew about him and told us about incidents that had occurred with other guests.

The next morning we went for breakfast to a lovely place that served decent and healthy food for less money! The following day at check-out, we brought up the fact that the (shocking) breakfast was NOT included in the price, but we were told to take it up with the person responsible for the restaurant, as the Inn and the Steakhouse were under 2 different managements. We were handed a card as this gentleman was conveniently unreachable at the time.

Unfortunately when we sent a note to this person we were told that it was our misunderstanding (after 3 people had confirmed: on the phone at booking, on arrival at check-in, and by the front desk the following morning when we asked again).

This is a place to avoid at all costs... the price is way beside the value, the service is sloppy and unfriendly, the suite was not much and, being on the ground floor had almost no natural light, and a lot of noise all night long from upstairs! Evidently the guests of the Inn are also undesirable, as their staff.

NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: no suggestion: a place to avoid!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Historic Paso Robles Inn. We know there are many choices in Paso Robles and we are honored that you did choose to stay with us.

It is our practice to only accept room reservations by phone when our hotel availability is low to avoid any oversell situation. This is why you were able to book a room direct with us and not over the Trip Advisor website. Our housekeeping team works every hard to clean each room and have them ready by our 4:00pm check in time. We are always happy to check our guests in earlier than the 4:00pm check in time if the room is available. Our check out time is 11, and we often receive requests for late check outs, and we do our very best to accommodate the departing guests as well as the arriving guest. I do apologize that your room was not ready for you at the time of your 2:30pm arrival.

We take guest privacy and safety very seriously. Our practice to ensure pool privacy and safety is our locking pool gates and routine security pool walks. The only people who have access are guests staying in the hotel with room keys and our employees. Although uncommon, sometimes there are people who obtain entrance who are not allowed. We do have a house phone located at the pool. If there are any problems or any of our guests or are made to feel uncomfortable the front desk can be reached. We can then immediately address the problem.

I’m very sorry for the confusion and misunderstanding concerning your breakfast. Although I was not available at the time of your check out, I did call and speak with your daughter who was travelling with you at my first opportunity. Our conversation went very well and it appeared that the misunderstanding was not caused by the hotel. I know from my personal experiences, information from multiple hotels can become mingled together. In order to demonstrate our sincere appreciation towards our guest, we provided you with a credit for your breakfast charges.

Although we can not reverse the past please accept our apologies for a less than pleasant stay. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, it is through your feedback we can continue improve. We do hope to have you and your daughter as our guest again; this way we can leave you with a positive memorable stay; one that reflects our usual standard.

Sincerely,

Erica Fryburger, General Manager of Hotel Operations
Kevin Hyland, Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We came back after staying here years ago for a visit to the midstate fair.This was perfect-shuttle right across street walk into town and all of the shops..Recently redone rooms.Very clean bathrooms and comfortable smallish rooms.They were able to give us connecting rooms that worked great for us.They have several pretty koi ponds as well as a pool with nice landscaping very close to rooms.The breckfast was great-outdoors by a koi pond, huge portions of good food for a good price.This is defintely a historic unique property with a long history not a cookie cutter chain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

I'm delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience while at our Historic Inn.

We strive to provide a memorable and relaxing experiences for all our guest and it nice to hear we did accomplish this for you. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed the our newly renovated rooms and property.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to having you as our guest again

Sincerely,

Erica Fryburger General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just a one night stay in this well known Inn. Our room was a nice size and the bath/shower was good for one person at a time with a nice shower. The hotel sits on a large plot of land and the interior areas are gardens and quiet with no noise from passing traffic. The town square of Paso Robles is across the street from the Inn where you can find shops and some very nice restaurants.
Breakfast is served in their restaurant. There is a good selection of items to choose from.
Paso Robles can be very hot in summer so be certain you have a/c in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your stay with us. I’m glad to hear that you found the our Steakhouse, gardens, location, and amenities to be pleasing.

Again, your feedback is much appreciated. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Warmly,

Erica Fryburger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a gorgeous, gorgeous setting! We stayed here 2 nights in the heat of summer during the mid-state fair. What an ideal location to catch the shuttle (across the street) and return to a quiet and peaceful hotel. It is across the street from the park where the wine festival is held each May, so is a great location. What a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iteach043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. Our hotel is located in the heart of Paso Robles, and is walking distance from many shops, restaurants, and wine tasting options. Our property does feature different room type options for our guests, from standard rooms with a single or double bed, to two room suites featuring a private outdoor mineral spa. I am glad to hear that our hotel was conveniently located for your trip and we hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.

Meredith A. MartensFront Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my wife mid-week. Wine tasted in AM early PM then came to town for basking by the nice little pool. Remodeled room was comfortable and clean. Good location for browsing in downtown. Will be back.. Prime rib Wednesday don't miss it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us. Our hotel is the perfect location for wine tasting because it is located in the heart of the Paso Robles area and is walking distance from the tasting rooms, many of which feature a number of award winning wines.

I am delighted to hear that our hotel was the perfect location for your trip, and that our expansive gardens and our newly remodeled rooms and property were able to enhance your stay.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we all hope to see you again soon!

Meredith A. Martens
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews