We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Paso Robles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paso Robles Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cute little getaway right in the heart of downtown. Beautiful room, only complaint was walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbors on both sides. Could not beat the location, walking distance to great shops, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. We are definitely coming back to the inn.

Room Tip: We are upgrading to a spa suite next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Historic Paso Robles Inn for your stay. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and all the unique features the downtown square has to offer. We look forward to having you as our guest again real soon.

Alex Howze
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    499
    216
    93
    60
See reviews for
222
777
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stopped at this attractive and comfortable hotel on our drive home from the Bay Area to LA. It is easy to find from 101, has spacious rooms, and a good restaurant on the premises. It's also right across the street from the main square. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I'm delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience while visiting the Paso Robles Inn. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I look forward to having you as our guest again real soon.

Sincerely,
Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, california
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were a group of 8 ladies down for a wine tasting weekend in Paso Robles (between 23 - 55). This was a fantastic hotel for what we were doing. So close to the wineries and right on the "town square" where we could cruise around downtown PR. The hotel was clean, everyone who worked there very nice and helpful. We got 2 rooms with two queen beds each and when we got there they actually gave us a free upgrade to their "suite" which included a small livingroom with pull out couch. (which was great since one of the four in our room couldn't take the snoring and went and slept on the sofa bed - which could be "closed" off by the door between the living room and bedroom - perfect solution!) The only thing I wish I would have known in advance...was how badly mineral springs actually smell!!!! we never would have filled our private hot tub on our patio with that smelly water! in our second room we just filled the hot tub with tap water and it was divine - the four ladies in our other room had to come use our hot tub and try and get some fresh air circulating thru their room...it smelled just awful - truly like rotting eggs. But other than than little hiccup it was a great fun time. They have a full restaurant and coffee shop on site. They let us use their private dining room without a minimum that evening for dinner. Food was great, service outstanding. And to top it all off they have a full bar upstairs that had a live band performing! We danced, drank, laughed all night and only had to downstairs to our room. It really couldn't have been a more perfect spot for a fun ladies weekend getaway! I will be going back and just not add mineral water to the tub! (great breakfast too)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I’m delighted you and your group enjoyed the Historic Inn and all the wonderful amenities we have to offer. The Paso Robles downtown is truly unique and I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the hotels close proximity to the downtown square. There are so many good wine tasting rooms and restaurants to explore. It really is a lot of fun especially with a group of friends.

We take a lot of pride in maintaining the historic charm and character of the Inn. I’m sorry the spa experience was not what you expected in the one room. Yes, the sulpher order can be strong at times and smelt even when the spa’s are not in use. The sulfur smell is caused by sulfur dioxide gas that escapes into the air. The natural sulfur hot spring, although smelly at time, has been drawing visitors here for many years. Some of the benefits include lowering blood pressure, helping to relieve arthritis pain and detoxifying the body.

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay and we anxiously await your next visit to Paso Robles.

Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is my second time staying here, and I imagine it won't be my last. It's not only attractive and charming, it's really convenient. It's been our headquarters for our trips. So centrally located, it's easy to drop off the day's purchases, change clothes, take a quick nap, walk across the street to the city park, and walk to so many great restaurants and shops.
I do see what other reviewers have seen--the olives make a mess of the sidewalks, so it's a rating of 4 rather than 5.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Welcome back, I’m delighted to hear that the Historic Inn is your hotel of choice when visiting Paso Robles. The Paso Robles downtown is truly unique and I’m glad you are able to take advantage of the hotels close proximity to the downtown square. There are so many good wine tasting rooms and restaurants to explore while visiting the area.

We do take a lot of pride in maintaining the historic charm and character of the Inn. Yes, we have several large Olive trees on our property that date back to the 1800’s. They are one of the many historical features you can find here at the Inn. Our practice is to treat the trees twice a year to help minimize there fruit production. Along with treating the trees, we sweep the sidewalks twice a day to help minimize the build up of olives on the sidewalks. Please know we do our best to keep all the walkways clean.

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay and we anxiously await your next visit to Paso Robles.

Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Paso Robles Inn has great potential, location is great, rooms are cute and here comes the but... The rooms were recently renovated but not completed. All the art for the room was missing, blank white walls, felt like a Motel. The jets in the mineral tub were not working and the internet would not stay connected. Walls are thin, we could hear the man above us snoring all night. We decided to check out early and move to another hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't mind thin walls and are a heavy sleeper, then you should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori62012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your previous stay. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I do understand how missing artwork can give the room a baron feeling and I would like to assure you that, since our renovations, we have checked each room to insure that all of the proper artwork, railings, and amenities have been placed back in the appropriate rooms. I would like to thank you once more for leaving a comment with us on tripadvisor. Hopefully, if we are fortunate enough to host you in the future, we can make sure you leave with a more favorable opinion of the Paso Robles Inn.

Alex Howze
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Paso Robles Inn has been a landmark and an icon of Paso Robles for well over a century. Located in probably the most ideal spot to stay in Paso Robles, it provides easy walking (5 min) access to wine tasting rooms and wine bars, eateries and ice-cream shops as well as some fantastic restaurants, boutique shops, and much more. Surrounded by over 220 wineries in the Paso Robles wine region, the Paso Robles Inn is the perfect place for launching a wine tasting Adventure, which just so happens to be why we were there. Oh and eating.

We even got the all the healing powers of the thermal waters with a private hot springs tub in a Deluxe Spa Room. These are the famous sulfur springs that put Paso on the map in the late 1800’s and one of the things the Inn is known for. You fill the hot tub with hot sulfur spring water and fill the air with the aroma of, yes that’s it, sulfur (rotten eggs). Thank goodness the Inn has some more pleasing aroma liquid to put in the water so not only your body but also your nose can relax and enjoy.
Check in was easy and the staff were friendly and efficient and came through later with some minor personal items that were left at home! The rooms have some variety from simple old style (but relatively new) decor in small comfortable rooms to the more palatial (OK maybe not “palatial” but large well appointed suites) and they even have some dog friendly rooms for those that can’t leave their four legged child Fifi at home. The rooms are equipped with hair driers, irons, a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. All the comforts of home. Well, at least your first apartment.

To quote the Inn “A full-service destination, the Inn features an outdoor heated pool and spa, spa services, complimentary Wi-Fi, a premier Steakhouse, our historic Cattlemen’s Lounge, and a 1940s diner-style Coffee Shop”. They also have facilities for weddings and events, with a beautifully restored Grand Ballroom as well as several other meeting rooms and an executive boardroom (whatever that is).

Koala wandered the grounds on the first morning and really enjoyed the beautiful setting with Koi ponds and grass areas with big beautiful oak trees and various assorted other trees and gardens while sipping on his tea. A very very nice place to wander. Kiwi’s room was adjacent to the pool(s) and made a nice spot to sit with a cup of coffee in the mornings.

As is usual for a Kiwi and Koala Adventure things never go as planned and some rooms needed to be vacated and extra rooms need to be accounted for on the second day. The staff at the Inn were very accommodating and helped our fuzzy heads to solve our dilemma in a matter of minutes. Well done!

The group ate breakfast both mornings at the Inn’s 1940s diner-style Coffee Shop” in preparation for our adventures and all meals were well priced and enjoyed by all.
Not many places can give you the location, the comforts, the conveniences and such an incredible sense of history and place as the Paso Robles Inn.

All in all a great place to stay in Paso Robles but make sure to book early as there are many events in the area and the Inn books out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDriver_m8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I'm delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience while at our Historic Inn. We strive to provide memorable and relaxing experiences for all our guest and it nice to hear we did accomplish this for you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto,CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We selected this hotel based on feedback from friends from their trip last year. Loved the downtown location within walking distance of many highly recommended restaurants and easy access to the 100 plus wineries in the area. The room was comfortable and clean albeit small with 2 double beds. Bathroom was huge with generous counter space and 2 sinks. No problem with wifi during our visit. My big complaint was sleep quality. Both nights we were surrounded by tour bus guests. The first morning wasn't a huge problem, there departure time was relaxed. After leisurely breakfast they hit the road. The second morning was another story. A different bus group was staying in rooms on either side of us and they were up early like 5:30AM and heading off to breakfast talking loudly as they passed our room. The same as they returned to their rooms to collect their bags and roll them down the porch walk way at 6:15 AM. Clicky, clack,clicky, clack. We are both light sleeper so getting back to sleep was not possible. I am just wondering if there is any way tour bus groups could be located in room units together so they don't disturb non tour bus guest with their early departure times? Ask if your room can be located separately from the bus groups rooms. Breakfast was generous and reasonably priced but service was slow because of the need to take care of bus groups so they could hit the road. We would stay there again if the room could be located in a building away from the tour bus groups.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittehmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay with us.

I’m glad to hear that you did chose the Paso Robles Inn as your hotel of choice while visiting the Paso Robles area. It’s also nice to hear you enjoyed your time exploring the Paso Robles downtown. Paso Robles is truly a one of its kind destination with all the tasting rooms and restaurants to dine in.

I am sorry you were woken up by other guest early in the morning. Please know we do our best to separate tour groups for our other guests to ensure each guest has a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you as our guest again real soon.

Sincerely,
Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paso Robles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paso Robles Inn

Property: Paso Robles Inn
Address: 1103 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paso Robles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and centrally located downtown Paso Robles, the Historic Paso Robles Inn is the perfect spot to enjoy Paso Robles wine country! Right across the street from the City Park, the Paso Robles Inn is within close walking distance of wine tasting, boutiques, restaurants, movies, specialty culinary shops and more! The hotel features 98 beautifully appointed guest rooms and deluxe mineral spa rooms offering a private spa tub on your balcony or patio fed by mineral springs that have attracted travelers for over a century. Relax in the stunning garden setting, enjoy the award-winning Steakhouse, Coffee Shop and Cattlemen’s Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paso Robles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing