We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Paso Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My Paso Home”
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I have been traveling to Paso Robles for wine fun for several years now, and after staying at several places, this is my preferred place to stay. It's not perfect, but here are my experiences:

Pros: Can't beat the location. It's very convenient since it's located near the 101 and 46. The rooms are clean. They have wireless Internet. Parking is convenient, and it's generally quiet. It's the best value for the quality ... generally I wouldn't expect this quality at this price. La Quinta is more expensive.

Cons: At our last stay we were located under the stairwell during a kids' soccer tournament. 'Nuff said. The front desk can be kind of, well, *leisurely* in their customer service. That being said, I still haven't had a bad experience with them.

All in all, a great place to stay for a reasonable price. Located close enough to downtown, very close to freeways, and with restaurants within walking distance, it's hard to beat. I have had no reason (other than room availability) to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasWineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    302
    68
    9
    8
See reviews for
206
355
42
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

I have stayed at both the La Quinta and this hotel, and actually prefer the Best Western though some co-workers prefer the La Quinta. Rooms are slightly dated, and not quite as nice as the La Quinta. But the sound insulation seems better, and I actually like the exterior hallways. Also it is a (long) walk from downtown Paso, so you can drink and walk back if you feel like it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2008

There were too front office people but after helping one couple the young man ignored me and left me to wait until the young woman checked me in. The room had two beds and I normally book one. I was told that the Best Western site was notorious for making mistakes, and even if I had a confirmation for one bed they weren't going to honor it.
There was a horrible smell in the room (musty and sour) and when I complained I was told to keep my windows and doors open. The young lady eventually came up to "smell" the room. Her comment was that she couldn't smell a thing and then said that the room just smelled stale and to keep the door open. This was after the door had been open for 15 minutes as well as the ceiling fan. She left and then yelled back that I was paying for the room whether I liked it or not.
Terrible customer service. I would not recommend this place at all which is a shame as I am a Best Western Crown Club Diamond member.

  • Liked — It was in Paso Robles
  • Disliked — The room smelled and the facility lacked quality customer service.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NucGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We recently stayed at the Black Oak and was pleasantly surprised. The room appeared to be recently updated. It was very clean and nicely appointed. I don't mind rooms looking dated as long as they are CLEAN. The architecture of the motor lodge is older but very well kept, with the entrance to the rooms by outside corridors, definitely a motor lodge. Although the hotel was fully booked, we were not disturbed by hearing other guests in nearby rooms or noise from the outside corridors (even with the window open). Ample parking despite being full. There are restaurants and a Starbucks within easy walking distance. We will definitely stay here again. The price, comfort of the room and service is hard to beat!

  • Liked — The cleaniness
  • Disliked — Not in the center of downtown
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We, two adults and a nine years old child, stayed at the Motel on the 12th of July for two nights.
Our room was very spacious and newly decorated. A new carpet and new hangings. Everything was fresh and very clean. Except the air condition was too noisy to let it turned on the whole night. A nice middle sized pool and a spa is also located at the motel. The restaurants located directly near the motel offer tasty food for dinner or breakfast. Especially the Steakhouse located at the left side of the motel is a good choice for dinner. If you want you can participate to a bull ride contest.
Conclusion: More than a good option to the overpriced accommodations at the coastline.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We selected this hotel as an overnight stop on a slow drive from LA up to the Bay Area. The hotel was very popular (full) and we were glad we had reservations. This may have been because it was a holiday weekend. We found the room fairly large and very clean. The thing that stood up was the staff. Everyone was very professional, friendly and accommodating. They even called us while we on the road to confirm we were on the way. (though they may have wanted to give away our room, they didn't sound like it).

I wouldn't want to spend a vacation here, but it's a great place to stay on the road.

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielHCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed at this motel on June 15, 2008 and i want all travelers to know that it is an outstanding place to stay, at a relatively reasonable price. I say "relatively reasonable" as California's beautiful and very interesting central coast is not inexpensive. This hotel really has it all in terms of comfort, service, pool, exceptionally clean, and very close by restauants.

  • Liked — Location, comfort, very clean, parking, exceptionally nice pool
  • Disliked — None applicable
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredderico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Black Oak

Property: Best Western Plus Black Oak
Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing