We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for wine tasting in Paso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location for wine tasting in Paso”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is a great place to stay if you are wine tasting in Paso. The amenities are nice, the rooms are clean and quiet, the parking is easy and the staff is nice and helpful. There is a shuttle that picks up next to the hotel for going to downtown Paso ($5 per person). Our group found this easier than looking for parking or waiting for a cab.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank KatiePesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOMLBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are so happy that your group enjoyed your stay. We work hard to provide a great experience even though we are not the newest game in town. I am glad we met your expectations.

I am also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Wine Wrangler's shuttle service available to our guests on Friday and Saturday nights. With all the great restaurants and activities downtown, parking can be tough and then everyone gets to enjoy themselves too.

We hope to see you in 2014. Happy holidays!
Angela McKee, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    302
    68
    9
    8
See reviews for
206
355
42
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at the BW in Paso Robles recently. The service is excellent. Our room had a broken curtain and the staff immediately came up and assigned us to an upgraded room. We really like this Best Western. There are 3 levels of rooms available (standard, deluxe and deluxe with jet tub; and also a two-bedroom suite which is great for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

There's nothing significantly wrong with this Best Western except that in many ways it's like stepping back into the '70s. The rooms are small; the furnishings are, gently said, mismatched; and ambiance is reflected in the brown carpet, brown wallpaper, black lamp bases, etc. It's not a terrible place (although its rating as a "Plus" from Best Western guarantees that I'll book a BW Motel that doesn't have a Plus only in an emergency), it's just a step back in time farther than I care to go.

The internet connection is acceptable. The room was very clean and quiet despite the amount of traffic in the parking lot. The mattress was quite comfortable. The staff I dealt with was excellent. And the $5 coupon for breakfast at Margie's was most welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
previse
Level Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The desk staff cheerfully repaired an error I made my reservation. They were friendly and helpful in every respect. The room was comfortable and convenient, with a large flat screen TV, an unusually comfortable bed, and state of the art locks – the most sophisticated I’ve seen. They have real coffee cups (not paper) and glass glasses; unusual for a motel in this price range.

Only two minor drawbacks.

Breakfast is not included. They provide $5.00 per person vouchers for the attached restaurant, which adds some expense and extra time to your morning routine.

They are located on a freeway off ramp. Getting in and out of the motel can be problematic in rush hour and the entrance is not well marked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We try to make Paso our lunch stop on our trips north to visit family and have always wondered what the hotel was like. Now we know. Best night's sleep on our week long trip. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, small, but clean. We'll stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 393beverlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a great nights sleep last night at the Black Oak! Our two queen bedded room was spotless, very comfortable, and nicely furnished. Very easy to get to off the 101, but situated so that you really don't get the noise from the freeway. Margie's Diner is attached to the motel, and your room comes with a $5 voucher for breakfast. Try the home made biscuits! There is also a row of other small restaurants to choose from just next door, if Margie's doesn't appeal to you. We will definitely stay here again on our way home!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poodlemom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

the be t western black rock is an excellent hotel and always my choice when in Paso Robles. The rooms are clean and very good internet service. The restaurant is a great value. The heated pool was fun to use. Close to main shopping and dining. Just a great place to stay in Paso Robles. I just can not believe my points were lost from previous stays through the past years stays

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jackieww11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Black Oak

Property: Best Western Plus Black Oak
Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing