We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, decent place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Convenient location, decent place!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We were happy to find a place that allowed us to only stay one night on a holiday weekend. We were pleasantly surprised with the room quality and the pool area. Everything was nice, clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlene08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    302
    68
    9
    8
See reviews for
206
355
42
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth,CA.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I booked this location for a surprise wine tasting weekend for my husbands birthday. I had signed up for the rewards membership (free) when I booked the room via the Best Western website and when checking in provided this. Not sure if this affected what room we got (should have asked) but we ended up getting a really nice upper level room (311) which was surprisingly large. Our room was much nicer then the room of our friends who were on the lower level in the 200's. Great big king bed, couch, recliner, small bar w/ microwave, shower w/ big tub and nice water pressure. Their pool is open until 10pm and is heated. The pool was great after a long day of wine tasting in the hot sun! We had forgotten our toothpaste and the front desk had toiletries at the front desk for no charge . I've paid a lot more at much fancier places who would just direct me to the store to buy what ever we forgot, so I thought this was a really nice touch. There is a dinner on the premesis which is were we ate breakfast and we were very pleased w/ the food and the staff. Plus the front desk gave each a great $10 off per person coupons to use at the diner for breakfast (score!).

Room Tip: Upper lever all the way and the 300's away from the entrance would be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomales, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

.......with the other reviewers who found the Black Oak to be a really good selection for an overnight stop between the Bay Area and L.A./the Southland. Although Paso Robles motels do seem a bit higher-priced (for their chain's usual pricing), that may be due to the popularity of this area for an overnight stop. In any event, I thought the Best Western Plus "Black Oak" was a good choice, from all standpoints (convenience, value and quality) and am pleased to add my vote to those recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent one night at the Best Western Black oak, and we were very satisfied. The welcome was great - the lady in the reception was very nice and took the time to tell us about the area and recommend different restaurants.
Our room was spacious and had all the amenities we needed, and the bed was very comfortable.
The only thing that bothered us was that breakfast was not included. They give you a $5 coupon to the diner next door, and the breakfast there is very good, but we ended up having to pay $35 for breakfast (we each had 2 eggs with bread and bacon, coffee, a glass of juice and we share a plate of fruit), so the $10 off didn't cover it at all.
Otherwise we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, Ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is my go-to hotel whenever I stay in Paso Robles. I have been coming here for years and stay at least three times per year. It is easily accessible from Highway 101 and there are several mid-range restaurant choices within walking distance. The service has consistently been gracious in all those years. I often see the same people at the front desk. This is a very popular hotel and can sell out at times. The rooms are clean and well appointed for a Best Western. I appreciate that there are room size choices; I've used different ones for different trips. Each room has a refrigerator, coffee pot and a bowl of candy. This hotel is not within walking distance of the "downtown square" of Paso Robles, but it is an easy drive to downtown and other locations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank stclarapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
377 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were on a group trip to Paso Robles with vintage cars. Smooth check in, clean comfortable room. One thing I liked is that they have FREE internet, a fridge and a coffee maker in the room. Parked in front of our door. They have papers in the lobby as well as info on local attractions. It has a nice pool area too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Black Oak

Property: Best Western Plus Black Oak
Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing