We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were between San Francisco and Vegas on a road trip. We hadn't planned a stop over venue, and came across Paso Robles. Found the Black Oak which had vacancies and went for it!

Not a bad price, thou not much to compare it to and there did seem to be a lot of other motels in the area. But I did notice our price on the day was cheaper than if we had booked via Lastminute, so worth walking in on the off chance! Bonuses included free wifi, and a meal ticket for $5 off each breakfast in the restaurant adjacent. The restaurant was good too, so worth visiting- breakfast amazing!

Black Oak has a heated outside pool, jaccuzi, free parking and wifi, the discounted breakfast, lots of freebies in the room (lots of toiletries, sweets, coffee!) daily newspaper available....

The bed was massive too! The biggest bed I have ever seen! Room was very large- contained a desk, lay-z-boy style chair, microwave, fridge, coffee machine, large tv, big bathroom, ...need I go on? Excellent amenities!

Worth a stay...? Yes definitely. If you're in the area and in need of a bed, you cannot go wrong with booking into the Black Oak. :)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 969 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank StephenM152
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really a good hotel and a pretty decent price. The rooms were updated, modern, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was fairly high for a Best Western but weekends in wine tasting country are always going to be pricey.

The complimentary breakfast was very good - fresh with lots of options.

Very convenient to what we wanted to do and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kencatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice room. Friendly helpful staff. Clean. Right off the freeway. Walking distance to lots of places to eat! One of the best rates we could find, even though we still payed $170 for a Sat in March. Didn't feel like a "motel."

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Plus Black Oak while touring the wine country. I had asked for a room away from the ice machine when I made the reservation and was surprised to learn that they had upgraded our room to a deluxe 2 Queen room. The room was very spacious and had wonderful amenities. Beds were comfortable and found that we slept better with the fan continuously running to drown out noise from other patrons. Would stay again.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask for one away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p2mille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A friend and I arrived at the hotel around 10 AM (were taking a winery tour that started at 10:40 with the pick-up being at the hotel) and asked if a room was available that early. The woman at the front desk was VERY accommodating and friendly. She allowed us to check-in and even gave us a call when the tour bus arrived 5 minutes early.
After the tour we sat by the lovely pool in a relaxed and quiet (surprising due to the location of the highway) atmosphere for the rest of the evening. Some people swam or were in the hot tub (both looked clean but we didn't get in).
The water pressure of the shower was great, the room was clean, there was a refrigerator and the 2 beds were comfortable. We would stay again.
One thing to note, there aren't a lot of steps to get to the 2nd floor but there isn't an elevator. We were in room 323 (quiet).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
715 reviews
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,545 reviews
1 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Black Oak

Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: $119 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing