We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Best Western.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The B/W Black Oak Paso Robles is an older hotel like many in the Best Western chain. However, it is well maintained and clean despite its age. Our stay was fine with the exception of a mediocre A/C unit. The best thing about this property is that's it's not directly on the major highway so it's pretty quiet. The location is central to many wineries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCinterscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Black Oak
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 922 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautifully landscaped with amazing flowers. Microwave and refrigerator, and amenities I've never seen in other hotels like mini hand sanitizer etc. Many choices of restaurants within walking distance...most sharing the same parking lot! The room was comfortable, newly furnished/decorated. The perfect midpoint stop between San Francisco and L.A.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at Black Oak for a night in Paso Robles. We were a midweek walk up, having heard good things about the place elsewhere on the Internet, and got a standard room no problem. The room was spacious, nicely appointed, and very clean. The bed was comfy, and there we some nice touches like some sweets in the room. The desk staff were very friendly, and helpful when we wanted a cab downtown for some wine tasting, and gave us a load of vouchers for tasting rooms. There's no breakfast included at Black Oak, but each person gets a voucher for 5 bucks off breakfast in Margie's diner (and it's good too).
Overall a really good experience. We'd certainly stay here again if we were passing through Paso.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yer-Maun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This Lodge is in the perfect location for wine tasting around Paso Robles. Easy access to freeways; friendly staff; comfortable room; and Margie's Diner for a quick lunch or a hardy breakfast. I didn't take advantage of the pool, but lots of shade around the pool deck. The staff was knowledgeable with suggestions and directions for wineries. I look forward to our next trip to Paso and making my reservation at BW Plus Black Oak..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elcyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The has to be one of the 'Best' of the Best Western chain. Friendly staff sets the tone and the facilities do not dissapoint. The BW Black Oak is a great lodging choice for a trip to the Paso Wine Country. If you want a luxury spa experience away from everything, this is not it, but you will get a warm welcome, clean rooms with comfortable beds & fridges, a nice pool area and a convenient location right by fwy , gas stations and diners. All in all- great place to stay.

Room Tip: I had been a bit concerned since our rooms were on the fwy side - but it was not a problem - apparen...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladida12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Paso Robles for an event happening at the fair grounds across the street. Having been familiar with the Best Western brand, we decided to book this hotel for it's convenient location,positive reviews, and affordable price tag. We were only in town for the weekend, but we were quite impressed with the level of service, the cleanliness of the hotel, and the amount of space that a standard guest room had. The rooms are spacious and are typical of budget lodging; the main difference being that this old motor lodge had gotten the BW treatment and was recently renovated. There was a pool, ample free parking, free wi-fi access, and in lieu of the typical (mostly gross) continental breakfast, each visitor is given a breakfast voucher for $10 a person to use at the diner attached to the hotel-- American breakfast fare made-to-order? Well now that's just cherry on top of the budget lodging sundae. I will definitely stay here again when on business in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissFranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

As you know, not all Best Westerns are good! That is the one advantage Holiday Inn Express has over BW. They are more consistent no matter where you go! However, this Paso Robles was clean, affordable and had a TERRIFIC pool! Breakfast coupon was provided for the diner next door - yummy! They only give you $5 per person but share an entree - it is plenty big for 2 people. We stayed here for 2 nights and I'm glad it was this BW as opposed to some of the others we stayed at! Would stay here again when we visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Black Oak

Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: $125 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing