We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRENCH FLAIR IN PASO”
Review of Panolivo

Panolivo
Reserve with OpenTable
Panolivo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 196 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 14th Street
Description: Tasty, comforting and healthy, French-inspired California cuisine, in a warm, inviting, casual chic atmosphere. Breakfast, lunch & dinner served nonstop, all-day, everyday. Dedicated Vegan Menu. Dedicated Gluten free menu. Menu also featuring Mediterranean dishes from Jaffa Cafe.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“FRENCH FLAIR IN PASO”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

First, I'd rate this bistro 4 1/2 stars, but that's not a T-A option.

Second, go there for the food. The atmosphere is OK, but it's "glorified coffee shop"-style, clean and friendly, but not fancy.

The owners are from Paris, and it rubs off, in a pleasant way, if you like French food. We had both a dinner and a breakfast here, and both were very good, with a Parisian accent.

The French fries and breakfast omelet looked (and tasted) like they were straight out of a Parisian cafe. Thin-cut, fresh french-fries and an omelet with a thin egg layer, and lots of stuffing is expected in Paris, but unusual here. It was delicious! The breakfast pastries (as are all their pastries) are fresh-made on the premises, and taste like it.

For dinner, we had a filet steak, and the salmon. As you might expect in Paris, both were very good, but the biggest emphasis was on the sauces, the vegetables, and the presentation. Good, good, and better, but the hit of the night was the apple tatin, that was the best I've had since - you guessed it - Paris! And, again, like in France, the wine list included some pretty good wines by the glass, half-carafe, or carafe, as well as bottles of local wines and wines from France. Gutsy to serve French wines in Paso Robles, but you do have a choice.

Service was friendly, with the owner helping to pick up the slack by bringing us fresh, hot coffee within seconds of our arrival. The place seemed to be more popular for our late breakfast/early lunch than at dinner, but they did have a great looking breakfast menu. We'll be back - I can't wait to try the "breakfast burrito" (in a French-type bistro ???).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    109
    30
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Burnt and bruised”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Rarely do we get bad service and poor food from this type of establishment. Granted my review may be affected by being almost knocked over and my foot stepped on by one of the waiters, who simply turned around, said "Oops" and ran off, without checking to see if I was ok. The rest of the experience was not any better. Not sure if this type of service is "usual" as we are visiting and have never eaten there before. This place has been in business for over 10 years and has gotten local "best dining" awards in the past. We ordered lunch which totalled about $60.00 for a party of 3, and one person only ordered dessert. For the two meals, we got "good" soup, nothing to brag about, a GF sandwich with burnt bread, and some nice ravioli. I do think that the "bad service" might have affected the food quality, in that the server (different one from the football lineman hopeful who almost knocked me over) should have immediately sent the burnt sandwich back to the kitchen. We also ordered 3 desserts, 1 was ordered off the Gluten Free a menu and arrived with a cookie inserted into the whipped cream. When asked about the cookie, the server said that it would be removed along with the whipped cream and re-served. note - She did know about "cross contamination" issues as she informed us that we could not order the fries, due to these issues. The seating cause some discomfort for an older diner. Her back was hurting for hours after leaving the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhxWhiteJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanolivoRestaurant, Owner at Panolivo, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I am sorry about your recent experience. Please be assured that this is not typical on how we handle special requests. I have addressed the issue with the individuals who have been involved and used this incident with the rest of our staff . I would appreciate if you can call me at the restaurant at 805-239-3366.

Didier Cop
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate here twice on our recent trip to Paso. Our dinner entrees were delicious. I had Spinach & Feta Rigatoni, which was a very flavorsome veggie dish with lots of fresh spinach, broccoli and beans. My husband had the Beef Bourguignon, with pasta. Huge plates - but it was so tasty we both ate it all. Sadly no room for desserts, so we'll have to visit again to try those!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SylviaWaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good alternative”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have eaten breakfast here multiple times now and will be back again. Nothing fancy or over the top just good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OZ
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Panolivo Restaurant, We Will Visit Again”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a very relaxing business dinner at Panolivo. Service was great as were the apetisers, main meal with a Mediterranean flair and desert. They also offered a good beer selection. Everyone was quite happy and we will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Autobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panolivo also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Panolivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing