We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in the heart of Paso Robles”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel Cheval is a small, boutique hotel nestled among towering oaks just one block off of Paso Robles' town square, which puts it within walking distance of multiple excellent restaurants, art galleries and wine tasting rooms. Front desk service was exemplary and our room immaculate. The Pony Bar hosts live entertainment several nights/week. The interior courtyard had multiple fire places glowing in the evening, making for a lovely setting. We recommend this property, although they have a two night minimum over a weekend, so bear that in mind. One minor complaint: the A/C in our room was very loud when cycling on/off and woke us up multiple times throughout the night. For the price of the room, the A/C should not be audible. Also, parking is very limited and you can expect to park overnight on the street. We found a nearby spot on the street, but removed all valuables from our car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our outdoor courtyard and in particular the fireplaces. The parking situation is a continual frustration for us. We are currently working on a solution and hope to have more spaces available very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cheval
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 434 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a delightful find and our dogs were welcome as well. This beautifully appointed boutique hotel will surprise you. Everything is top notch and quite beyond what you might expect in Paso. We loved it. The breakfast is terrific. You might prefer a main level room if stairs are a problem as there is no elevator.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank seetheworld2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad that your dogs felt welcomed too. It was nice to get your feedback on our breakfast. We are constantly adding items and welcome your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely magnificent. The room was beautiful and the Pony bar for happy hour was perfect. I woke up and didn't want to leave. It's a great place to stay if you're doing the Paso Dobles wineries.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esteffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. Upon checkout, many of our guests comment that they do not want to leave! I hope that we will see you again in the future - perhaps for a slightly longer stay?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I were on a short little road trip and love the Central Coast for wine tasting, so off to Paso Robles we go. We checked into this beautiful boutique inn right off the town square.

Hotel Cheval, meaning horse in french is a classy equestrian themed inn. From the moment we stepped on the property, we felt relaxed, comfortable and right at home. As we checked in there were refreshments in the lobby. Shown to our room by a friendly staff member, she gave us a tour of the property, explained the times for the Pony Club, advised us about the gourmet S'Mores in the evening and then showed us to our gorgeous room. Our room overlooked the courtyard and had a lovely fireplace, comfy corner sofa to curl up and enjoy a glass of wine by the fire in the evening. The bathroom was large and had a nice tile shower.

Ann offered restaurant ideas for dinner and offered to make reservations, she also let us know about some of the shops and wineries in the area. She was very knowledgeable and more than happy to help.

We stopped in to the Pony Club right on property for a glass of wine and an appetizer. The cheese appetizers were fabulous and the wine offerings fairly extensive. They carry a lot of local wines, which is fun. You may find a wine from a winery that you can go visit the next day. Which is exactly what happened to us. The staff was helpful and were very familiar with wines and offered recommendations.

After dinner we casually strolled through the park and back to the inn. We sat for a bit in the courtyard when one of the staff members came and lit both of the fireplaces and prepared for S'Mores, that is service. These aren't your basic S'mores, they have several flavors of marshmallows, light and dark chocolate, sea salt and chocolate with caramel. The staff member takes your order, prepares your S'more and ohhhhhh, so good. What a fun evening.

Back in our room they have provided turn down service and we were ready to settle in for the night. Beds are great, towels in the bathroom are high end, everything was first class.

The next morning they served a continental breakfast, on the weekends they serve a full breakfast.

Everything about our stay was perfection.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable. We personally prefer the second floor with a view of the courtyard...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beetrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you felt so at home from the minute you stepped through our doors. I agree that The Pony Club can often offer some useful tips for wine tasting. They have a great selection of local wines and are more than happy to recommend some lesser known wineries to our guests. I will pass on your positive comments about how helpful Anne was. She is one of our newest members of staff and will be thrilled that she was mentioned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I were on a "wine getaway" and discovered the Hotel Cheval in Paso Robles. What a great property: Sitting in the courtyard with a glass of wine, you could close your eyes and think you were in the south of France or a bodega in Mendoza, Argentina. A full service hotel that cares about its customers and makes every effort to enhance your visit. The location is perfect as you can walk to lunch and dinner and stroll around the town. A REAL find!

Room Tip: Get a lower level room if you purchase wine, felt bad having the bellman bring up 4 cases of wine to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review. The staff are only too happy to help with the delivery of wine cases to guest rooms. To us that is the sign of a very successful vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Small, boutique hotel one block off of the Paso Robles central square; walking distance to several very good restaurants, downtown tasting rooms, etc. We had a very comfortable room overlooking the central courtyard with laidback seating and two fireplaces. There are also secluded seating areas on the second floor. Our weekend stay included happy hour music in the Pony Lounge and gourmet s'mores as dessert prepared by the staff in the courtyard fireplace (yes it was over 90 degrees but who could turn down sitting out there). The staff were very helpful in planning an inaugural tour of the Paso area, suggesting wineries, where to get food for a picnic and dinner locations. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Despite the unusually high June Temperatures, I am happy to read that you enjoyed the S'mores and our outside fireplaces!
Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Though this hotel is right in the center of Paso Robles, a lovely walk from some of the finest restaurants we've experienced in California, its classical layout around a serene interior courtyard with room windows which look into the surrounding trees make it a place of peace and solitude. The service and serenity was just what was called for after a day of wine-touring in this beautiful region. The library which sits at one end of the courtyard was exquisite, but it was the open-air fireplaces, best enjoyed in the evening with wine foraged from the surrounding countryside and cheese from local shops, which really make this place superb.

Each morning, a lovely breakfast bar was available and we took our food out to the courtyard, sitting amongst beautiful plants with the sun warming the cool stone.

Room Tip: While many of the first floor rooms had private courtyards, we enjoyed the more private second floor...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review. It sounds like you were able to relax and enjoy the hotel and the surrounding wine country. The great thing about the hotel's location is that you get to enjoy our “oasis” whilst still benefitting from the proximity to downtown!
Please come back and see us again the next time you are on the west coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,449 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
692 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: $422 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing