We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gem on the central coast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gem on the central coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I were on a "wine getaway" and discovered the Hotel Cheval in Paso Robles. What a great property: Sitting in the courtyard with a glass of wine, you could close your eyes and think you were in the south of France or a bodega in Mendoza, Argentina. A full service hotel that cares about its customers and makes every effort to enhance your visit. The location is perfect as you can walk to lunch and dinner and stroll around the town. A REAL find!

Room Tip: Get a lower level room if you purchase wine, felt bad having the bellman bring up 4 cases of wine to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. The staff are only too happy to help with the delivery of wine cases to guest rooms. To us that is the sign of a very successful vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    47
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
242
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Small, boutique hotel one block off of the Paso Robles central square; walking distance to several very good restaurants, downtown tasting rooms, etc. We had a very comfortable room overlooking the central courtyard with laidback seating and two fireplaces. There are also secluded seating areas on the second floor. Our weekend stay included happy hour music in the Pony Lounge and gourmet s'mores as dessert prepared by the staff in the courtyard fireplace (yes it was over 90 degrees but who could turn down sitting out there). The staff were very helpful in planning an inaugural tour of the Paso area, suggesting wineries, where to get food for a picnic and dinner locations. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Despite the unusually high June Temperatures, I am happy to read that you enjoyed the S'mores and our outside fireplaces!
Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Though this hotel is right in the center of Paso Robles, a lovely walk from some of the finest restaurants we've experienced in California, its classical layout around a serene interior courtyard with room windows which look into the surrounding trees make it a place of peace and solitude. The service and serenity was just what was called for after a day of wine-touring in this beautiful region. The library which sits at one end of the courtyard was exquisite, but it was the open-air fireplaces, best enjoyed in the evening with wine foraged from the surrounding countryside and cheese from local shops, which really make this place superb.

Each morning, a lovely breakfast bar was available and we took our food out to the courtyard, sitting amongst beautiful plants with the sun warming the cool stone.

Room Tip: While many of the first floor rooms had private courtyards, we enjoyed the more private second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review. It sounds like you were able to relax and enjoy the hotel and the surrounding wine country. The great thing about the hotel's location is that you get to enjoy our “oasis” whilst still benefitting from the proximity to downtown!
Please come back and see us again the next time you are on the west coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
367 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Cheval, and enjoyed it so much I wished it was longer. This place has a very upscale California rustic vibe, with comfortable rooms clustered around a lovely courtyard that features a soothing waterfall and two large wood burning fireplaces. It's a delightful place to sit in the evening, and I highly recommend the s'mores. I think they primarily do them a couple nights a week (Sunday & Thursday?) but on request they will give you the materials to make your own. They also have big furry blankets for chilly evenings, and there is a library at one end of the courtyard which I assume gets more use in bad weather, with its own fireplace and some games.

The rooms are well-appointed and spacious, with very comfy beds, complimentary water bottles and chocolates for the evening turn-down service. The Pony Club onsite is open for drinks in the evening, and serves the included breakfast every morning. Weekday breakfast is more limited, but still adequate - fresh fruit and juices, muffins, a pastry, English muffins, bagels, cream cheese, lox and capers, hard boiled eggs, and cereals.

Service was gracious and attentive to detail. They are happy to help with recommendations, directions, reservations...and when I asked if they sold postage stamps, they instead just gave me one. Overall, a first class experience, and I look forward to returning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad that you got to experience our courtyard and wood burning fireplaces. Although we are located in sunny California, there is sometimes a need for an extra layer in the evening so the furry blankets are in demand! The S'mores certainly are a hit. We serve them Thursday through Sunday and during the week if we have a special request!
Please do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here in May for three nights. They really do such a nice job. Very cozy courtyard and outdoor patio. Very friendly staff.

We did the wine tour with Jessica. She was so easy-going and laid back, but very informative. It was fun to see "off the beaten path" wineries. Such a great sense of community at all of them in Paso....

My only complaint about this hotel is that some of the rooms, although quaint, are on the small side. Most do not have soaking tubs. And I did not like the bathroom doors - two 1/2 doors on each side that swing close, leaving a small crack down the middle. I love my husband but like a little more privacy than that. There was also no separate toilet room...for those who care about that.

In all, this is the only place to stay in Paso. I especially appreciated that it was tucked down a quiet side street, vs. on a busy road, as many of them are. We also enjoyed the easy walking distance to the main square/park and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was over the bar's outdoor patio, which can be used by the public. With windows open w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your private wine tour with Jessica, our certified sommelier.
I have passed on your comments, with regard to the crack between the doors, to our maintenance manager. We will see if we can improve that situation.
I hope that you will stay with us again next time you are wine tasting in Paso!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was our second visit to the Cheval and true to our previous experience, the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Our room was so comfortable, it was almost impossible to leave but the vineyards were calling. In the evening the place to hangout is in the courtyard. So beautiful with multiple fireplaces plenty of seating areas and if your patient you can be treated to smores. Made while your sipping on a glass of wine or whatever. This place should be on everyones bucket list!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! I am so glad you had such a relaxing stay with us. Please come back and see us again, even though Hotel Cheval has been ticked off your bucket list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Absolutely amazing hotel. Great location in the heart of downtown Paso Robles! Great service and beautiful rooms. Courtyard is wonderful-- Amazing place to spend outside evenings by the fire. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend for anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope you had a chance to enjoy our S'mores butler, while relaxing "fireside"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Property: Hotel Cheval
Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing