We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this beautiful hotel! Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
Hotel Cheval
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved this beautiful hotel! Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everything was perfect! Beautiful rooms, walking to fabulous restaurants, beautiful hotel and the custom-made s'mores by the fire at night with homemade marshmallows...are you kidding me??
The staff were just great, the lemon bars are outstanding and the guy who makes the s'mores was fantastic!
The hotel is an equestrian theme and very gorgeous, but not overdone...just perfect. This is one of our top 3 favorite hotels and definitely nothing to compare nearby!

Room Tip: There are only about 15 rooms here and not one of them is bad! If the hotel is busy, maybe not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoJJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived to John's very warm welcome, to the great breakfasts, the afternoon cookies in the lobby lounge, the outdoor fireplaces and a gorgeous guest room, we were impressed! The hotel is small, charming and a wonderful place to be. The rooms are tastefully decorated with large comfy king beds. Even the "do not disturb" sign is unique; it's a horsehair hanger! Hotel Cheval is expensive but it's worth every penny. Also, the town of Paso Robles is a quaint little town with great boutiques and the 2 days we were there, weren't enough. We shall return!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here as part of a celebration of my husbands birthday. This hotel is beautifully appointed. The staff was considerate and friendly. A fridge doesn't come with the room, but they brought us one. The included breakfast is over the top for a hotel continental breakfast. They had smoked salmon, hard cooked eggs, fresh berries, European style yogurt, local baked goods, cream cheese, etc, etc, etc. They have a nightly happy hour with $7.00 wines from local wineries. The placed was decked out with beautiful seasonal decor and there are lots of nooks and crannies to explore. We were in Kingston and had a private patio. Its pricey, but worth it for a special celebration.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and it is a two story property. We stayed in Kingston on the second floor in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I drove down the Pacific Coast Highway and spent two nights at the Hotel Cheval. What a great hotel! We had a beautiful room with a large balcony. Since it is a downtown hotel the opportunity for a view is limited, but the space is great. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, lots of support but soft.

Unfortunately the room did not have a refrigerator. I asked about the lack of a fridge and was told one could be delivered, but it was not placed in the room. No worries, the town is so delightful it was hard to enjoy the room. The room also does not have a room safe, as a business traveler I am used to being able secure everything, but it was all fine.

We did a wine tour with the sommelier, Jessica. It was fabulous. She took us to great wineries and added commentary about the grapes, area, tastings, etc. it was worth every penny. We have done private tours in Napa, Sonoma, and Santa Cruz. This was the best!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I wish that I could take Hotel Cheval with me everywhere my husband and I travel. The room was spacious, the bed was so comfortable and the grounds were just beautiful. I only missed a swimming pool. It would have been nice to relax by the pool on a hot, sunny afternoon. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeaway693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great small hotel with a great location on Paso's "restaurant row". However, the prices are Way out of line for Paso Robles IMO. While this was a very enjoyable hotel experience, the magnitude of the price discrepancy had led me to expect even more than the property delivered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelproponent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in May, and we found it very comfortable and well-appointed. The rooms and public areas are attractive and well-maintained, and the staff is helpful. The bathroom was spacious, with an excellent shower. The central downtown location is perfect for anything in and around Paso Robles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgourmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#11 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing