We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale lodging in Paso Robles”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upscale lodging in Paso Robles”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cheval for 3 nights over Memorial Weekend. There was a little mix up with our reservations as we had added the first night later, but luckily they had an open room when we arrived. We should have confirmed ahead of arrival. The Hotel is quite upscale for the Paso Robles area. Our room was lovely and included a fireplace and outdoor patio with lounge chairs. The bathroom was rather small for a luxury hotel and I was disappointed that there was no tub for $378 a night, but the shower was roomy. The sink was very difficult to maneuver for a short person as it was an above counter bowl and was set back from the edge. The faucet stuck into the sink quite a ways too making washing your face awkward. Also, there was no way to plug the sink to fill with water for shaving.

I thought the breakfast was quite nice, the pastries were fresh baked and on Sat and Sun they offer an omelet bar. Also, in the afternoon, they offered brownies and lemon squares which were delicious. The wine bar on premises is very popular locally as they serve premium wines at reasonable prices for happy hour. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

The parking is a little tight--literally. Some of the spaces require you to park between arches which can be a little difficult to maneuver with a large car, but there were some other spaces that were larger. Just want to get parked before those are all full.

We enjoyed our stay and will come back again. The best thing is that you can easily walk to everything in town in just a few minutes.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have large patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS_in_the_OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    50
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
296
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice European style hotel. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and was well appointed. The staff was attentive, friendly and always available. A faulty coffee maker was quickly replaced. The continental breakfast was well done though a few more choices would be welcome. The center courtyard was very nice with several private sitting areas with fireplaces. The evenings were chilly and there was always a cozy fire waiting our return from dinner.

I did think it was odd that the television service did not include CNBC.

We would definitely stay here again on a return to this area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Large, comfortable and quite room. Good bath, large flat screenTV and very comfy bed. Breakfast pretty good but maybe a little short of choices. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location just one block off the picturesque square lined with neat shops and places to eat. Parking is a little tricky. Cozy lounge with live music with nice outdoor seating. Hotel Cheval feels like a European Inn in the middle of a very neat town, Paso Robles.

This is a very good boutique hotel. We would not hesitate to stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGH Metro
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cheval for three nights recently and we really enjoyed the property and location. This was our first visit to Paso Robles and can't imagine not returning to this area in the future.

We arrived to Hotel Cheval after a two hour or so drive from San Martin, outside of San Jose. We were staying for three nights while we toured and tasted at some of the wineries in the Paso area. Our room was on the second floor and was a cute room with nice appointments and decor. We were not in the room that much outside of sleeping and getting ready for each day, but the time spent was nice and comfortable.

Our stay did not fall over a weekend so we did not have an opportunity to enjoy the buffet breakfast but we did take advantage of the morning continental breakfast spread laid out in the bar each morning. Great coffee and offerings included much more than standard continental breakfast fare. There are quaint sitting areas in the courtyard, but we didn't enjoy any of them because the time we could sit outside was nighttime and it got rather chilly at night during our stay.

Another recommendation aside from Hotel Cheval is a diner serving breakfast and lunch in nearby Templeton called Hoover's Beef Palace. Awesome greasy spoon type of place to enjoy a hearty breakfast before heading out to wineries for the day. Highlight of our mornings!

I would definitely consider staying at Hotel Cheval again for our next trip to Paso. It's centrally located within the "downtown" area of Paso Robles and well within walking distance to the many fantastic restaurants, stores and parks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMedoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a wonderful place! Paso Robles is our new favorite destination and Hotel Cheval is a big part of that. We had a great time touring wineries with Jessica the sommelier and would highly recommend this for first time Paso visitors like ourselves. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms are even better than the pictures with super comfy beds/bedding (and I am VERY picky about this), the outdoor fires in the courtyard, the adorable Pony club, the location (walking distance to all the downtown restaurants & shops).....it all adds up to a great time. I wish there was a Hotel Cheval in every town!

Room Tip: We had the Kingston room and loved it! Upstairs off the courtyard, large corner room with fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautiful, quiet room overlooking the guest courtyard. We enjoyed the fireplace, in-room jaccuzi, mini-library and the most comfy bed ever. Truly dog friendly, too! Staff was amazing...would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on the drive between LA and San Fran. We were greeted by knowledgable, friendly and welcoming staff. Our room the 'Highflyer' was large very well decorated and very clean. The bed was amazing as were the linens, toiletries and overall decor.
We had mentioned the purpose of our trip and the team has left us with a bottle of bubbles and personally hand written note which was a lovely personal touch.
Breakfast in the Pony Club had a great selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereal etc. such a nice quite place to start the day or alternatively you can make a tray up and take it to your room.
The cheese shop next door is a must for an afternoon glass of wine and an antipasto plate.
The courtyard has cosy seating spades where open fires flicker at night. This is a great space to chat to other residents with a night cap. The property us respectful of noise and this isn't an inconvenience for residents. A MUST STAY LOCATION.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,357 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Property: Hotel Cheval
Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing