We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

If the wineries weren't calling, no reason to leave property. Very nice rooms. Great outdoor fireplaces. Right off the square. Good dining walking distance abound. Perfect getaway. I like it better than Napa.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fozmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 446 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent a long weekend at the Hotel Cheval and what a find. The rooms are very nice, good space, and mine had a fireplace. Beds are extremely comfortable and the high ceilings on the top floors make the room feel very spacious. Bathrooms are great, large, big showers, great water pressure and all the amenities you could need. Service is wonderful, everyone was nice and attentive except for the gentlemen who made smores at night for the guests, for some reason he seemed very annoyed to be there, oh well!. Location you cant bet as the town is small and walkable to all the close restaurants. Complementary breakfast in the morning gets your day going to hit hte wineries.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK75NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

No need to upgrade to a fancier room -- the Classic rooms are great. We really liked our room which is called Endsleigh. Good fenestration and a very nice private patio. The full breakfast was excellent as was the Continental breakfast served during the Monday-Friday mornings. Nice wine bar, too.

Room Tip: Choose Endsleigh at the Classic room level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OjaiJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Hotel Cheval more than fit the bill for a get-away weekend from So Cal to Paso Robles wine country. The 16-room hotel is a half-block off the town square and within walking distance of the area's best restaurants, and wine- and olive-tasting rooms. The hotel has charm to spare and among its pluses is the central courtyard with seating areas and two outdoor fireplaces. The property is very attractive and well maintained. As its name implies, there is an equestrian theme to the place and the rooms are named after horses. There are indoor seating areas which our group of 6 took advantage of including the lobby before breakfast and the library (another fireplace) in the afternoon when the sky clouded up. The staff works very hard to please guests. Don't miss the s'mores served up by friendly Nam in the evening. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious. There is a bar open in the evening that faces the street. It seemed popular on weekends but only hotel guests can access the courtyard. All in all we enjoyed ourselves enormously. The hotel is dog-friendly and would appeal more to adults than children.

Room Tip: Our upstairs "Lexington" corner room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just checked in for one quick night and I really liked the hotel. It is very well located within walking distance from most of the great restaurants and shops in downtown Paso Robles. The hotel itself is gorgeous and the rooms are very well appointed with fireplaces, flatscreen TVs, and cookies. The beds are super comfy and the sheets very soft. Water pressure was great too. The courtyard is beautiful with lots of comfy seating and warm fireplaces to enjoy a great glass of local wine. The Pony Club at the hotel has a nice wine list (beer too) and they have a great "serve yourself" continental breakfast set up there in the morning. The morning I was there, there was an assortment of teas, coffee, cereals, granola, fresh fruit (kiwi, banana grapes, strawberries), bagels, lox, and cream cheese, toast, wonderful jams, hard boiled eggs, pastries and more. Really nice.
I noticed lots of other people commenting on a rude staff. The gentleman at he Pony Club was very polite and helpful. The man that showed us to our room was also pleasant. Unfortunately, the blond woman at the front desk was not very friendly when we arrived, nor when we departed. Maybe a coincidence? I almost don't want to comment on it because it is no matter to us. We will definitely stay here again. But maybe the hotel should take note? The first and the last person you see definitely leave an impression. We will stay here again, and just ignore that. Too much good here to focus on that!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlcrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

On an early May drive down the California coast from San Francisco to Santa Barbara, we spent several nights at the Hotel Cheval. As we arrived in Paso Robles and drove up to the hotel, we were immediately charmed. I'm a sucker for ivy covered brick and stone! Our room, on its own private staircase off the courtyard was large, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Very quiet, too. Spent lots of time in the window seat and out on our own little balcony. Loved the hotel's inner courtyard with fireplaces and comfy places to sit and plan your next day. The incredibly helpful and friendly staff will even provide you with s'mores fixings! Not a full meal restaurant, but the Pony Bar had a breakfast buffet (I'm pretty sure included in the price of the room...can't remember!) and great snacks for apres-winetasting. Lovely outdoor patio to sit, sip and observe the town. Another great benefit to Hotel Cheval is it's proximity to the town square and the restaurants and shops. We parked our car for the time we were there, walking to lunch take-outs in the morning, dinners in the evening, and using the hop on/hop off wine van for visiting wineries during the day. It was a wonderful little vacation and we would definitely stay at Hotel Cheval again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleBadger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We really appreciated the service we received during our stay when a room change was necessary. Also, the bedding and location were fantastic! Fun to be able to walk to some awesome restaurants. Some rooms have patios downstairs which might be nice during summer. Otherwise, I would opt for an upstairs room unless you have a problem with stairs. Nice wine glasses in room along with other amenities. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sctraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
711 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: $411 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing