We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique at its best.”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service, staff and setting are just excellent. Paso Robles has come a long way in the last 20 years and this hotel is just one of the great additions. The rooms are well decorated and unique. One of the highlights is the two fireplaces in the courtyard that are burining brightly every night. A destination for peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: Whistlejacket, Kingston, Rosebud and Feathers are our favorites.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cheval
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 434 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are visiting the Wine Country in Paso Robles this is the place to stay. When you drive up to the front of Hotel Cheval you are enchanted. From the time you enter the front room to register you are pleased. All the employees are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful, classy and the beds are so comfortable. The Pony Room is a wonderful place for the perfect breakfast or a evening glass of wine. We look forward to our next visit to Hotel Cheval.

Room Tip: Any room is a joy!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved staying in this beautiful hotel in Paso Robles. I loved the way the room was decorated (felt so large and luxurious, but also cozy at the same time. This is definitely a romantic place to go for an anniversary or to celebrate something special. We were also able to stay with our large dogs (I was surprised that they allowed our 2- 80 lb. dogs in a place like this!). Anyway, it had a great wine bar, patio (with fireplaces that were lit at night- nice touch). It was a great way to end our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whirldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed there in May `11. The rooms were quiet and luxurious. The courtyard is very nice and has several fireplaces where you can relax in the evenings with a glass of wine. Several great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Friend-of-30A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Cheval was a very nice comfortable hotel in Paso. The room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Although expensive it is located in the center of town and is walking distance to all restaurants and shops. We would for sure stay there agan.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guynaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent two nights here as a base for Paso Robles wine tasting. The hotel is a short walk to the best restaurants in town and convenient to the park square in downtown Paso Robles. Each room has a gas fireplace but in the evening, two wood burning fires are carefully tended on each side of the central courtyard, while two fountains provide a soothing backdrop.

The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. It is a very small hotel with a limited number of rooms and that adds to the pampered experience.

We would definitely stay here again in Paso Robles. Spring for an upgraded room on the second floor -- no elevators but well worth the short climb.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kentkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Elegant and stylish hotel with a perfect location within walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping in downtown. It is without a doubt the nicest hotel in Paso. The common rooms are inviting and warm, the beds are incredibly comfy with turn down service every night. Definitely check out the amazing jewelry in the lobby. The breakfast was adequate, I would recommend Panolivo Bistro just down the street for a great breakfast or brunch and Il Cortile for dinner.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have patios with fountains and adirondack chairs. Really a nice extension of the r...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,451 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
692 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: $422 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing