We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place for a Wedding”
Review of Zenaida Cellars

Zenaida Cellars
Ranked #37 of 179 things to do in Paso Robles
Attraction details
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I normally don't write reviews but I had to speak up after I read the bashing Zenaida and Jen received for their wedding services. My husband and I were married here December of 2012. We had a fantastic experience with everything. We absolutely loved Jen and she never acted like we were a burden. I did not have a wedding planner, Jen helped with absolutely everything and honestly, we could not have done it without her. After going back a few times, we learned that Jen no longer works there, I really hope that negative review didn't ruin her reputation because she was truly wonderful. I highly recommend Zenaida.

Thank klo828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zenaida C, Owner at Zenaida Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your wedding review! We do our best (especially Jen) to take the best care of our guests as is possible, especially those that choose to be married at Zenaida Cellars! We love that our wedding clients continue to stop in over the years so we can continue to celebrate with them. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine club"
in 8 reviews
"great wine"
in 5 reviews
"big reds"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 12 reviews
"nice winery"
in 2 reviews
"zinfandel"
in 5 reviews
"bottle"
in 9 reviews
"paso"
in 8 reviews
"wines"
in 28 reviews
"wineries"
in 5 reviews
"list"
in 2 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Every time my wife and I go to Paso this is our first stop. The zins ate amazing. Excellent dessert wine too if that's your thing. Beautiful views. They also have 2 very nice guest rooms that overlook the vineyards and have a Window to the cellar. Located near plenty of other great vineyards.

They also have a great set up for small weddings and a very sweet wedding planner.

Thank dudeguykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zenaida C, Owner at Zenaida Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thanks for making us your first stop! We'll try to keep the Zinfandel and the Beekeeper in stock for you the next time you are in town! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My hubby and I were impressed with the selection and quality of the wine at Zenaida. We bought several bottles of wine while we were there. And Morgan, the girl who assisted us with our tasting, was so friendly and sweet. She really added to our pleasant experience at Zenaida.

Thank LoveBirds25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zenaida C, Owner at Zenaida Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We are happy to hear about your positive experience with Morgan and the wines! We hope to see you next time you are in town. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow, were we disappointed. This place is beautiful, there is a barrel room for cocktail hour and a beautiful oak tree to get married under, we fell in love when we saw, but boy were we treated SO poorly. Jen (in charge of the weddings there) seemed nice in the beginning, but eventually we began to feel more and more like a number. We felt as though we were just being herded through like cattle without much care for us. Leading up to the wedding it seemed as though she would try to do all she could to help us and even offered to hold some decorating items for us a couple days before the wedding, but when we showed up to deliver them as we scheduled, she acted surprised and annoyed that we were there. On top of that, there were numerous rude comments made during our rehearsal evening, wedding morning, and the day after the wedding. One of which involved a gentleman at our rehearsal saying “I’ve got kids” when one of our bridesmaids asked if she could buy a tasting prior to the rehearsal. I would think you could find a nicer way to say “no”. They allow you to sleep on the grounds in one of their rooms, but be careful; Jen will rudely rush you out, EVEN THOUGH you just spent thousands of dollars with them for the day before. The tasting room staff for the most part was sweet, but Jen was whom you had the most contact with and she really ruined a lot of our wedding day experience just because we felt so hated the entire time by her. I wish I could have had a better experience because it is beautiful, but I can’t. Thankfully other vendors during our wedding day made up for Zenaida’s/Jen’s rude behavior and faults. Also, come to find out from other wineries we did wine tasting at, Zenaida Cellars actually has a bad wrap around town for being mean; sadly we were not the first wedding party to talk about and experience rude service from Zenaida.

2  Thank Janell O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zenaida C, Manager at Zenaida Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

We were certainly disheartened to read the review left by Ms. Aitken. For a year, our staff worked with her to iron out the details of her special day. Upon arriving to our property to store some of her wedding items, we provided a space for her in our barn, helped her unload, and we also carried those items to her room once the room was ready so that Ms. Aitken could enjoy wine tasting with her friends. When Ms. Aitken arrived at our venue later that day, all of her wedding items had been neatly placed inside her room and were accessible to her for ease of mind.

Unfortunately, the tasting room is not open during our rehearsals, unless the venue is rented accordingly, as that takes place after our working hours. As a small boutique winery, we have minimal staff and unless arrangements are made, we typically close at 5p.m. The wedding rehearsals take place on the lawn area so the fact our tasting room closes does not impact the wedding rehearsal. In this case, we were not contracted with Ms. Aitken to provide tasting room service after hours during her rehearsal and were not able to tend the bar after closing.

During the actual wedding day, we had the pleasure of working with Ms. Aitken’s wedding coordinator and had very little, if any, contact with the bride during that time. We were informed that Ms. Aitken was ill and all vendors were working diligently to ensure the event was a success so she would not have to worry about it. All Zenaida staff members worked closely with the vendors for set up and take down of the event since Ms. Aitken did not contract labor to do so and we never charged Ms. Aitken for those services rendered. We understand that weddings are expensive and it seems that with thousands of dollars spent that “everything” should be included, but time is money for all of us and every vendor was more than generous to Ms. Aitken. In addition, we also made sure that a cake stand left behind was delivered to the baker the Monday following the wedding as a favor to Ms. Aitken. This required an hour drive to deliver the stand so Ms. Aitken did not incur additional charges. Once again, our time and energy donated to help Ms. Aitken. Perhaps she has overlooked the generosity of us all.

As for the check-out of her room, Ms. Aitken was notified one and half hours after the 11:00 a.m. check out time that we needed to get the room prepared for incoming guests scheduled to check in at 3:00 p.m. that afternoon. We gave her as much time as we could before having to ask her to vacate the room. We are unsure as to why Ms. Aitken wants to instigate derogatory information about our winery. Paso Robles is known for its tight knit wine community. We are certain that any ‘bad rap’ about our winery was construed by Ms. Aitken herself and completely unnecessary for her to post in this forum. As you can see from the other reviews posted, this is the exception.

We stand behind our staff and the service provided to Ms. Aitken. We are sorry she feels her wedding was ruined but believe that her feelings resonate from issues beyond our control. We wish her nothing but the best in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We truly enjoyed the wines at Zenaida! We bought a few bottles and definitely could have bought more. We had a great time talking with people here too.

Thank OCTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zenaida Cellars also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Zenaida Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing