We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Deborah's Room - CLOSED

Deborah's Room
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Executive Chef Will Torres takes full advantage of “farm to table” local offerings blending and bending savory and sweet, nouveau and traditional, Chef Will’s food delivers nuances of urban sophistication and down home delicious.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you want a small, intimate dining experience eat here. Reservations are required as there are 4 or 5 tables and the drive isn't short. Our female server was great and the food was incredible. I have been to very nice restaurants, but nothing like this. The ambiance was beautiful and there was only one other table so it was almost a private dining experience. Highly recommend

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank maggieboo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Dauterman, Manager at Deborah's Room, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your dining experience at The Restaurant at JUSTIN! I'm glad to hear you had such an enjoyable visit. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
302 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Deborah's is quite a drive (especially in the dark) from Paso but well worth it. A warm & cozy lobby invites you into an intimate dining room with only 6 tables. Be prepared for an experience that pays attention to every detail. The service is friendly but very professional. Each course was delicious with creative presentation. We chose the wine flights as we had not previously tried Justin Wines and were very happy with them. We will definitely go back out in the daylight as the grounds look beautiful.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreedomBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Dauterman, Manager at Deborah's Room, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! Please come back and visit us again soon, cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING AND ROMANTIC”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Deborahs room is quite pricey to begin. The food and wine pairings are amazing but make sure to take a car because there is alot of GOOD wine! We had amazing service and the room is super small and romantic. All in all i would recommend it for a special night. I have heard the food can vary but to be honest we had an amazing dinner and extremely romantic night. Have fun don't forget the car

  • Visited May 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsmycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Dauterman, Manager at Deborah's Room, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We strive to provide a romantic and intimate fine dining experience, complete with excellent food, service, and wine. Thank you for visiting. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good food and excellent wine”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The menu is a modified prix fixe where you pick one of 3-4 items for each course. There is a 5 course option as well as a 3 course option that is not listed on the menu -- you have to ask about it. With the 3 course meal you don't get the cheese course and you pick either a meat or seafood instead of both. For both the 3 and 5 course options there is are wine pairings. The food was good, not the best food I've had, be still very good. Accompanying wine was great as well. Expensive. The breakfast there was very good and included with the stay at the JUST Inn.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Dauterman, Manager at Deborah's Room, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience, but I'm sorry we didn't exceed your expectations. If you have additional feedback you'd like to share, please don't hesitate to contact me. Thank you!

Tracy Dauterman
Hospitality Manager
tracy@justinwine.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Romantic setting, but food and experience could be much better”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I think Deborah's room would be a good introduction to fine, multi-course dining for folks who are new to it and who are celebrating a special, romantic occasion. The food, service and wine are all good but not at all unique or refined. If you are expecting it to compare to places like French Laundry, Cyrus, Gramercy Tavern etc you will be very disappointed - Deborah's room isn't even in the same ballpark. It's certainly not bad, but neither is it great. I found the food at Artisan in Paso to be infinitely better (though in a very different, casual setting).
And it's a hike and not inexpensive. Speaking of hike - I highly recommend that you hire a driver or bring someone who isn't going to drink wine. It's a 40min drive from Paso on a very windy dark road - absolutely not to be done after wine. And try to go at a time when it will still be light on your way there - the drive is beautiful.
So if you're new to the food scene and want to splurge on a fancy, romantic dinner in a gorgeous, far away setting then it might make sense. But if you are a foodie and/or winie, go to Artisan instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Dauterman, Manager at Deborah's Room, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We've taken your comments into consideration and have made changes to the menu and service since your visit. I hope you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deborah's Room also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing