We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Room, Incredible Service, Free Wine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerwood Winery & Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, ORegon, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Room, Incredible Service, Free Wine!”
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Summerwood Inn was the last stop on a 4-day driving journey we took from Oregon through California. When I first read the TripAdvisor reviews, I was a little bummed to see that Summerwood only ranked 13 out of the B&Bs in the area - but from the moment we approached the front door, I knew we'd made the right choice.

The building is absolutely lovely. Entry doors lead you right into the common room which has a large fireplace, plenty of plush seating, good reading light, and a buffet where some sort of goodies will await!

We came in late, about 1/2 an hour after the evening hors d'oeuvres and wine had been put away - yet the young woman who greeted us still brought us complimentary glasses of wine to our room AND, when we expressed interest in some basil-infused brownies the chef had recently prepared, she immediately returned with a bunch of them for us to eat. THEN, we expressed our delight with the in-room truffles and she returned with 4 more of those! We immediately felt right at home, more so than any of the previous B&Bs we had stayed at on our road trip. Plus there was a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us, and although we have not had it yet, another guest did try it and said it was very good.

The young woman recommended several restaurants for dinner - when we chose one, she got on the phone right away and discovered they were booked - we made a second choice, and she called them right away and made a late reservation. Dinner was great.

Our room was the Moscato Allegro - very spacious, on the ground floor. Huge bathroom, great bed with tiny stepladders up to it. Easy-to-use fireplace and great view of the grounds and vineyard from the back patio. No negatives to speak of, other than there was a large group staying at the Inn and they came back from dinner very late, and decided to talk (very loudly) in the common room - so we could hear that in our room. But we're pretty flexible people and it was not a big deal at all.

Breakfast was excellent, lots of options to choose from (including vegan), and we sat with a lovely couple who were up wine tasting for a few days.

I can't wait to come back to Summerwood and next time I do, it will be for a Paso Robles wine tasting adventure when we can spend more time at the Inn and tasting the local wines.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieMarie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
115
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We recently stayed a night at Summerwood -- our 3rd visit in a few years -- and it was like coming home. We have also stayed at the Hotel Cheval in downtown Paso, which is exceptionally nice and really convenient for walking to restaurants for dinner, but we missed staying in the midst of the vineyards.

As always, the grounds and gardens are lovely and there are very comfortable chairs and tables outside, so you can really enjoy sitting and reading or talking outdoors. In addition, several rooms have private patios. We have stayed in the Bordeaux room twice (a favorite since it has a private patio and is further away from the road) and also in the Diosa Suite (which we actually don't care for -- we found it too dark, and it doesn't offer enough more to justify the additional cost). Per some earlier reviews, I probably did notice a few nicks and scuff marks here and there in the room, but I'd still say the rooms are in excellent condition (and yes, maybe the old air conditioning units are a bit noisy). As comfortable as we are in the room, having the inn's main living room and outdoor spaces available to us makes the inn feel even more spacious.

In our experience, the wine and hors d'oeuvres time is second to none. On this last visit, we had 3 or 4 terrific items, with lots available so that we could take what we wanted and not feel like we were allotted 2 bites per person (as we have felt in some other places). In the evening, when we got back from dinner downtown, there was coffee, tea and sweets left in the living room - which we've always experienced and a touch we like so much.

In the morning, coffee, tea and scones were set out early; we came down to get some, then went to our private patio to read for a while before having our delicious breakfast outdoors on the main patio.

In our experience, the staff has always been very pleasant and friendly, available to help (they offered to make dinner reservations, although I'd made some already) or to leave you alone in your privacy.

All things included, we think Summerwood offers a great product in a lovely setting -- and a great base for exploring the Paso Robles wine region. It's also not a long drive at all to the coast, Cambria, Cayucos etc.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed here for one night during our road trip down the west coast of the USA.
It is a beautiful setting in lush green vineyards. The house is immaculate and the rooms are pure luxury. We stayed in Twilight which has a balcony.
The staff are all very helpful and warm.
Drinks and food are served throughout the day which are of a very high standard - the chocolate truffles are to die for!
We had a complimentary bottle of red wine in our room - I'm not sure if this is because it was our anniversary or if it's standard.
We had a disaster - my husband knocked a glass of the wine onto the wall and cream carpet. We set to work scrubbing and it came out of the plush carpets - they must be very high quality but we could not get it off the wall. We decided to fess up! It was about 11.30 pm so he went and told the girl on duty - she was great and was only worried it was bothering us. I've been waiting to hear from them - expecting that we will be charged but as she said - they would sort it out the next day - which I imagine would mean painting over it. As I said the rooms were immaculate and I am sure they would not leave stains for the next guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Location was lovely and the room was tasteful, but both bed lamps were not working and we like to read in bed. A call to the desk confirmed that they realized the lamps were not working and brought one up for us. Picture this: Two broken lamps attached to the wall with lampshades and in front of them on the night stand that was moved forward to accomodate the table lamps. All this for $300.00 a night.

The cuisine did not live up to it's billing. Wine was fine but the hor d' oeuvres were nothing special. The homemade deserts consist of cookies, probably made from a mix and the breakfast, which is what Bed and Breakfast's are all about was boring. I expect fresh orange juice not concentrated at a $300.00 a night.

The young people managing the Inn were very nice, but I think it lacked the feel you get when it is run by the actual owners.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDavis33514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

A friend and I drove up for a weekend getaway. I had the Bordeaux room, she took the Twilight. Both were immaculately clean, spacious, and quiet with private balconies and views of the surrounding vineyards. The best part of the Inn is the helpful staff. They gave us many suggestions on wineries to visit and things to do in the area and the innkeeper was kind enough to get up early and set out coffee and tea for me when she heard I would be up long before breakfast was served. The food is lovely; last night's wine and hors d'oeuvres were lavish, including artisan cheeses and smoked salmon on potato slices. I definitely recommend the Summerwood.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondodelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This was my second visit to Summerwood, the first one being several years ago. This time I stayed with my mother in Chardonnay, one of the first-floor rooms. Chardonnay is spacious with a nice east-facing view of the vineyards, 2 queen beds, and a fireplace. It is very nicely decorated, although I agree with a previous reviewer that some maintenance is in order - for example, in the bathroom there is a large crack running across the floor and odd splotches of blue paint in an otherwise soft yellow shower stall, and the wooden furniture (night stand, TV armoire) need refinishing. It also would be nice if the bathroom had a hook by the sink for the hand towel and the room had a ceiling fan. There is air conditioning, but it is not unlike what you find in hospitals or motels - under the window, noisy, with just two settings - high or low. That could stand to updated. However, apart from those items the room was fine. Chardonnay is located at the end of the inn nearest Highway 46, but road noise was minimal.

The food was absolutely delicious; the chef, Jessica, does a fabulous job. Evening wine and hors d'oeuvres were very well prepared and generous, truly a full meal. The breakfast was wonderful as well. Additional nice touches included a complimentary bottle of wine and a coupon for a free tasting at the winery tasting room just across the street. Everyone on the staff at both locations was friendly, helpful and professional. I'll definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This was our 2nd visit to Summerwood. It remains a lovely inn, but it needs some exterior maintenance (painting especially!)
The location is great, the food is wonderful (we did a food and wine lunch with the Chef, Jessica, and she is amazing and a fabulous chef) In addition to b'fast, they serve wine, cheese and lots of hor's doerves each evening. The setting is lovely. We stayed in the Diosa Suite, and the next time we'd probably pick one of the ground floor rooms---not so much luggage dragging--no elevator---but we enjoyed our room while we had it.

We'd recommend the inn, and don't skip tasting their wine!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
5.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Winery & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Winery & Inn

Property: Summerwood Winery & Inn
Address: 2130 Arbor Rd, Highway 46 West and Arbor Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446-8617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerwood Winery & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Summerwood Winery & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerwood Winery Hotel Paso Robles
Summerwood Winery And Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing