We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large menu - average food”

Big Bubba's Bad BBQ
Ranked #47 of 195 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Large menu - average food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch and the food was fine. Even though the restaurant was not crowded it took awhile to get our food. It also took awhile to get the waitresses attention and pay. We were trying to head out for a day of sightseeing so we probably should have tried some fast food, but we're not big fans. I guess I'm a bit "barbecue" spoiled as there are many in my home area. We did get lots of food, so you will not leave hungry!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    65
    53
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“late lunch”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Varied menu with a ton of options, including non-BBQ items and a wide array of side dishes. Service was excellent; our server had been working there for 10 years, and that says a lot for a restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnathann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great BBQ”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Big Bubba's has decent food but it's not super great. Overall, I enjoyed the flavor of the meats and we liked the sauce recipe. But some of our meats were cold and my hubby's french fries were not fresh. But there were fun cocktails that came in a boot!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good atmostphere but poor food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The atmosphere is real Americana BBQ county style. Lots of wood beams, furniture, old world/mining artifacts, a bucking bull, country music, etc.

Parking lot and street parking is very limited.

Menu selection is usual BBQ fair, ribs, chicken, burgers, and the usual sides. Some special fancy drinks and usual house wine and beer selections.

Food Service was not outstanding, but not bad. Our group of 4 were seated and served in a reasonable very acceptable time period.

Cooking was very poor at best. Of the 4 of us the 2 ladies had the Tuesday $2 Taco specials, no specials were advertised and the waiter just happened to ask if we knew about their daily specials? The taco's were pulled pork - not bad, chicken - was missing the chicken, tri tip - was tough and chewy, fish - just okay. 1 of the men had the, over priced, mini-BBQ plate which was a large plate of food but he was not at all impressed with any of the dishes - 1x beef, 1x pork, 1/4 chicken + 2 sides. I had a very over priced 1/2 rack of baby ribs which was poorly cocked on all levels, they were tough and chewy and barely warm. The backed potato was under cocked, almost raw, the corn on the cob was soggy and the ribs were inedible, I should have sent the entire dish back to the kitchen.

I do not recommend this restaurant. The kitchen have no idea what BBQ is and how to cock it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SquireDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ, certainly not great”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have been here a number of times because friends want to met...not by personal choice. I find the service to be lack-luster, the food okay, the sauce too sweet and the chicken dry. Other than that, it's wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yolyfe1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bubba's Bad BBQ also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Big Bubba's Bad BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing