We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we've stayed in”
Review of The Canyon Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Villa
Ranked #1 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warmington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Best B&B we've stayed in”
Reviewed September 20, 2007

What can I say? A wonderful location on a hill top outside town overlooking the vineyards. Friendly, knowledgeable hosts - and a fantastic cook in Diane and a room to die for!

The villa is about 5 miles out of town and has spectacular views over the vines. It was built about 5 years ago I think, and is perfectly designed as a B&B with guest rooms on one wing and the hosts living in the other. The rooms are very luxurious and ours, Sienna, has a wonderful view from its balcony over the rolling hills, getting stunning sunsets. I would say that the decor of the rooms is right up there with the very best 5 start luxury hotels.

Some people have commented on a lack of A/C overnight - we did not find this an issue. The day time temp was close to 100F and Diane said that they would run the A/C overnight if it stayed too warm but we found no problems with the heat.

Each evening Diane puts out canapes and wines, having a chat with you when you arrive to see what wines you like, and there is nothing quite like a glass of wine on the villa patio. In the morning, there is coffee available in the breakfast room from 7am, and then Diane's beautifully cooked breakfasts each day.

The hosts are also very knowledgeable about the area and the many vineyards and can offer very good suggestions and advice.

We did a day around the vines and then a day at Hearst Castle and Cambria. We eat out at Artisan in Paso and McPhees in Templeton - both great restaurants. Diane arranged taxis for us down to Artisan so that we didn't have to worry how much local wine we tried!

If you want a luxury stay in wine country - this is the place.

  • Liked — The room and the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Blue_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
275
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Canyon Villa for 2 nights while exploring the wineries of Paso Robles. It's a beautiful, secluded property, only minutes from downtown Paso. Our room was quite spacious, with a very nice jacuzzi bath and separate shower. One of the nicer rooms I've seen in a B&B.

Breakfast was amazing - the best I've ever had at a B&B (quiche one day and french toast the next). The owners are very helpful with suggestions on wineries and restaurants in the area. They truly understand how to run a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheelblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We just returned from a trip to central and northern California and enjoyed yet another wonderful stay at The Canyon Villa in Paso Robles. We are repeat visitors and will be for many years to come! Everything about The Canyon Villa from the beautiful rooms, the amazing food, and the warmth of the owners is top notch. It has become our favorite travel destination.

After reading a review posted for the same weekend that we stayed (7/13 - 7/16) I feel the need to comment on the air conditioning situation. We too were in an upstairs room and it is true that the air turns off for the night when it cools down outside HOWEVER, the first thing the owners asked about in the morning was whether you were comfortable the previous night. Everyone at breakfast responded that things were just great. It seems to me that it would be more appropriate to voice your concerns when asked rather than wait and complain after the fact. I know the problem would have been fixed immediately.

Book this place as soon as you can - you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpwBorregoSprings_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Rather than go to Napa for our first Anniversary, we decided to go to Paso Robles, since it had been recommended highly by friends who also love wine. We also chose to stay at a B & B because we felt it would be more romantic and intimate, and we chose the Canyon Villa because of the wonderful reviews that it has received on Trip Advisor.

It turns out that the reviews are well warranted. The Villa is about 2 miles out of town and the views are breathtaking. It has the distinction of feeling quite remote and removed from the world, yet in reality it is very accessible. There were deer in the neighboring field during the day, and a quietness that is not usually found near a city and major highway. Truly, it is a very special place.

Most special, however, is the graciousness of the Canyon Villa’s owners, Diane and Jim Babcock. It wasn’t just that Diane called up to confirm all our restaurant reservations as soon as we arrived, or even that she called us before we arrived because we were a bit later than anticipated. It wasn’t even that Diane made certain to have a Zinfandel open for us our first night, because I had told her that Zin’s are my favorite wine. It really wasn’t even that when we decided to have a picnic lunch at the last moment, Diane lent us an ice chest, with ice, and cold water, and directions to a deli that she recommended. The really amazing thing is how much Diane and Jim enjoy being hosts, and how evident it is in how they treat their guests. Their attitude and helpfulness made our visit so much more than just a lovely and comfortable place to spend a few nights. They really made their home feel like our home, and that was no easy feat.

oulsy

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, great view, indoor and outdoor comfort
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed at this B&B for a wine tasting weekend in July. It's just 5 minutes from downtown, yet feels worlds away. Our room was the Siena, second floor with a balcony overlooking some of the beautiful surrounding vineyards. The bathroom was beautiful and spa-like with a jetted tub for 2 and a separate spacious shower stall enclosed in glass. Our room also had a fireplace, but being July, we did not avail ourselves of that. The room has no phone and no TV, but for $300/night, odds are you're not really there to watch TV anyway.

This 4-room B&B was clearly built for this purpose, as opposed to being a converted home. The Italian countryside theme carries through the common rooms to the guest rooms, and is enhanced by the beautiful surroundings. Wine and appetizers are set out for an hour or so in the late afternoon, giving us a nice chance to socialize with our fellow guests. Diane and Jim are pleasant hosts and gave us passes for complimentary wine tastings at a couple of area wineries. Breakfast in the morning was cooked by Diane who trained at culinary school - so needless to say it was delicious and creative, hardly Waffle House fare!

The only drawback to this place, and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the central air conditioning. Apparently the entire building is on a single zone control, and to save money, they turn it off at night - relying on you open up your windows and patio door and crank the ceiling fan at night to stay cool. Now, this works on the coast where the days and nights are cool - but in Paso Robles, it was 97 degrees during the day, and cooled to the 70s at sunset. All that heat from the sun warming the building, and from being on the second floor, was released into our room all night long. I like it cool when I sleep, and that first night there I barely slept at all it was so uncomfortably warm. The outside air finally cooled to about 60 - but not until just before dawn.

So my advice - if you're thinking of staying here - is to wait until after Labor Day or whenever the weather cools in Paso Robles. Otherwise you may find yourself sleeping in 500 thread count sheets on a plush pillowtop bed - in a pool of your own sweat.

  • Liked — Serene setting, peaceful, romantic
  • Disliked — Air conditioning turned off at night in middle of summer
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katnip_21f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoTraveler, Diane Babcock, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review, July 21, 2007
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We appreciate your comments and while not all were positive – we thank you for the feedback.

I am sincerely sorry about the discomfort you experienced relative to the heat. The second floor Siena room has a direct west facing exposure, so keeping it as cool as the rest of our home in the summer months has presented some challenges. We recently installed extra insulated window coverings to combat the heat generated by the afternoon sun, but of course they only work if the guests keep them closed in the afternoon (which we advise at check-in). We understand the reluctance to close the window coverings, which ultimately block the lovely vineyard views, but keeping them open can easily add 20 degrees to the rooms’ temperature.

We do have multiple zones on our central air conditioning system, and monitor to maintain a comfortable temperature for our guests. Most of our guests have expressed a desire to open their windows at night, allowing them to enjoy the cool nighttime temperatures (and sounds of nature). Since our nighttime temperatures (between midnight and 7am) average 59 degrees in the summer months, we normally turn the air conditioning off between 10-11pm. Occasionally – during especially warm periods we do run the air conditioning all night.

Again – I’m truly sorry that you had an uncomfortable experience and only wish you had made us aware while you were here so that we could have addressed it immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2007

I was looking for a romantic getaway to surprise my husband for his birthday and found the perfect location. We loved the view, the hospitality and the location was perfect. It was also nice not having a phone or t.v. We were able to get away from it all. We have recommended the Canyon Villa to all of our friends and family.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cinbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2006

My husband and I stayed for three nights in mid-December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Siena room, which featured a king-sized bed and views out over the hills to the vineyard in the distance. An in-room fireplace provided more than enough warmth during chilly evenings.

Diane, who owns the inn with her husband Jim, was a gracious hostess and imaginative cook. Each breakfast was different but delicious: a yogurt parfait with fresh fruit accompanied a homemade sausage and artichoke quiche with delicious flaky pastry; fresh fruit and huevos rancheros made for a warming start the 2nd day, and a croissant French toast with apple and pear compote filled us up on our last morning.

The evenings were especially relaxing. We listened to Christmas music in the living room, watching the sun set while deer roamed the grounds and we sipped local area wines. Again, each evening featured a different pouring and a different selection of tasty treats, from cheeses and meats to pate to cheese spreads with crackers.

Diane helped secure reservations at local restaurant Artisan - a real treat - and was a good source of local information. The inn is a quick 5 minute drive from downtown Paso Robles. In the morning or evening, you can relax by walking down Kiler Canyon Road, enjoying the sound of morning birds or night owls, depending on when you take your stroll.

The inn makes for a great base for exploring local wineries, driving to Hearst Castle, or just relaxing and reading and letting time go by. We'll be back for more.

Other room amenities include terrycloth robes, a whirlpool tub with separate shower, hair dryer, and a selection of shampoos and lotions. At Christmas a tree sparkles with lights, and poinsettias and wreaths add green and red color to the villa.

  • Liked — Delicious food, quiet location, great innkeepers
  • Disliked — No control in room for heat
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.5 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.8 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
2.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cheval
Hotel Cheval
#1 of 18 in Paso Robles
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Villa

Property: The Canyon Villa
Address: 1455 Kiler Canyon Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-3718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Villa is an internationally recognized award-winning Tuscan-inspired Bed & Breakfast nestled among the rolling hills and vineyards of the acclaimed westside Paso Robles wine region. The Canyon Villa offers a gracious, luxurious and intimate hospitality experience. Our five-star boutique Inn will enthrall you with its Italian architecture, panoramic views, world-class cuisine, award-winning service and opulent amenities. Whether you seek a serene respite from a busy world, or an enchanting visit to the Central Coast, The Canyon Villa offers refined elegance to celebrate a milestone with a loved one, an extended weekend getaway with friends exploring the award-winning Paso Robles wine region or an overnight reprieve on your journey. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing