We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to relax”
Review of The Canyon Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Villa
Ranked #1 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to relax”
Reviewed December 20, 2006

My husband and I stayed for three nights in mid-December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Siena room, which featured a king-sized bed and views out over the hills to the vineyard in the distance. An in-room fireplace provided more than enough warmth during chilly evenings.

Diane, who owns the inn with her husband Jim, was a gracious hostess and imaginative cook. Each breakfast was different but delicious: a yogurt parfait with fresh fruit accompanied a homemade sausage and artichoke quiche with delicious flaky pastry; fresh fruit and huevos rancheros made for a warming start the 2nd day, and a croissant French toast with apple and pear compote filled us up on our last morning.

The evenings were especially relaxing. We listened to Christmas music in the living room, watching the sun set while deer roamed the grounds and we sipped local area wines. Again, each evening featured a different pouring and a different selection of tasty treats, from cheeses and meats to pate to cheese spreads with crackers.

Diane helped secure reservations at local restaurant Artisan - a real treat - and was a good source of local information. The inn is a quick 5 minute drive from downtown Paso Robles. In the morning or evening, you can relax by walking down Kiler Canyon Road, enjoying the sound of morning birds or night owls, depending on when you take your stroll.

The inn makes for a great base for exploring local wineries, driving to Hearst Castle, or just relaxing and reading and letting time go by. We'll be back for more.

Other room amenities include terrycloth robes, a whirlpool tub with separate shower, hair dryer, and a selection of shampoos and lotions. At Christmas a tree sparkles with lights, and poinsettias and wreaths add green and red color to the villa.

  • Liked — Delicious food, quiet location, great innkeepers
  • Disliked — No control in room for heat
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
269
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

My wife and I spent Thanksgiving weekend at The Canyon Villa and we had an amazing time. We have stayed at other B&B’s in the area and this one tops them all! The hosts, Diane and Jim, create a warm and inviting atmosphere. We felt like we were staying with long time friends! Diane’s breakfasts are absolutely divine. We couldn’t wait until morning to find out what we were going to have next! The villa is immaculate and cozy. The fireplace and the HUGE tube in the room were perfect accents on a wonderfully romantic weekend. Diane and Jim made several suggestions for wineries and restaurants and all were absolutely perfect. We can hardly wait until our next trip to Paso and The Canyon Villa!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wine_Lovers_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

The Canyon Villa was even better than hoped. The website is lovely, but the place exceeded it. The rooms are real quality, similar to ones I've seen for $300 or $400 a night in CA. Clean, pristine, big bathroom, great bed- very comfortable. The Siena room is best in house at same price as others- only King bed and best view. Luscious food also. Diane is extremely cordial and helpful- good local wine savvy. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — room and bed quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Sienna Room is best in house
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachcomer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

My husband and I were looking for a quick weekend adventure for our anniversary and this gem in Paso did not do us wrong. The owners are amazing, bending over backwards to make sure our stay was special. Diane even packed us breakfast one morning to take on the road because we had scheduled an early tour at Hearst Castle and would have missed her yummy breakfasts. The place is beautiful, with luxurious linens. We had an amazing time, thanks to the attentions to details of this small and welcoming villa.

  • Liked — Friendliness and welcoming owners
  • Tips/Secrets — Close enough to do Hearst Castle and amazing winieries!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

Although I had seen photos, the real life Canyon Villa was even more exquisite than I'd imagined! The B&B is gorgeous, I felt like I was staying in a mansion. The view was amazing, 360 degrees all around of rolling hills and acres of vineyards. Breakfasts were divine, Diane is an amazing cook. And chatting with the other guests over wine in the evenings was a real treat. I really didn't want to leave! Then to top it all off, we were right in the middle of fabulous wine country...I am definitely going back!!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2006

Me and My Wife just came back from our Honeymoon and The Canyon Villa was by far the biggest treat of our trip!! The location of this B&B is breathtaking with panoramic views of wine county and very short drives to the vineyards and very delicous restaurants. The hosts at the B&B were very nice and accomodating. They provided us with great insight on the places to venture in the area and the breakfasts that they cooked where wonderful! The rooms were very nice and clean. This is definetly the place to stay in Paso Robles!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blainesh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Diane and Jim made this 25th Anniversary trip perfect! They truly know what exceptional, friendly and warm customer service is. Diane made reservations for perfect restaurants for our tastes and helped with special touches our son wanted for us to enjoy even before we got there (including fresh flowers in the Lucca room). Diane's culinary skills are out of this world! She makes wonderful huevos rancheros and an awesome quiche with a wild rice crust! But the accomodations -- WOW! Beautifully appointed rooms with fireplaces, thick terry robes, spa tubs for two, and wonderful linens on the beds. The first day there was a fox drinking from the backyard fountain and deer were in the fields surrounding the villa every morning and evening. Diane and Jim know the area well, especially the wineries, if you need suggestions. We feel we made great new friends and will be back as soon as possible. It was truly the best trip we have ever taken - very romantic! Thanks Diane and Jim! Be sure to view photos of the views we took, submitted separately - it's been said to feel like you're in Italy!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marthasmentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.5 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.8 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cheval
Hotel Cheval
#1 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Villa

Property: The Canyon Villa
Address: 1455 Kiler Canyon Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-3718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Villa is an internationally recognized award-winning Tuscan-inspired Bed & Breakfast nestled among the rolling hills and vineyards of the acclaimed westside Paso Robles wine region. The Canyon Villa offers a gracious, luxurious and intimate hospitality experience. Our five-star boutique Inn will enthrall you with its Italian architecture, panoramic views, world-class cuisine, award-winning service and opulent amenities. Whether you seek a serene respite from a busy world, or an enchanting visit to the Central Coast, The Canyon Villa offers refined elegance to celebrate a milestone with a loved one, an extended weekend getaway with friends exploring the award-winning Paso Robles wine region or an overnight reprieve on your journey. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing