We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Like back in Tuscany but with good plumbing!”
Review of The Canyon Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Villa
Ranked #1 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Like back in Tuscany but with good plumbing!”
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Picture yourself in a villa on a hilltop in Tuscany with great wineries and vineyards all around. Now add wonderful hosts, modern construction, great breakfasts, sunrises you can't describe, and an easy, short drive into Paso Robles and the surrounding wine country. Now you have Canyon Villa.
Thanks Diane and Jim!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
281
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We had read the reviews on this little gem and I think someone put it best when they said why would you stay 2 miles down the street at the Marriott when you could go up the road for this experience!

I'll start by saying that we travel a fair amount, we're picky about where we stay, and we aren't afraid to pay for a nice place. So we booked one night here, our first stop coming from Santa Monica on our way to Napa/Sonoma. We've been to Tuscany and stayed in a little villa there, so this was an incredible little find for us as it was like we were back in Italy! The house sits at the top of a winding road, overlooking hills in every direction with nothing around you. The views are incredible - we almost had deer in the back seat of our convertible (be careful, they hide in the bushes outside the villa's gates).

The villa itself is awesome. Very Tuscan-esque decor, furnishing, paintings, the whole nine yards. The house is beautiful. We had a room on the second floor and it was great. Spacious enough for two, very nice bathroom and shower. Diane is a wonderful hostess - she set us on our way to local wineries with lots of great tips, offered to book dinner reservations and Hearst Castle tours for us, and in general was always available and happy to help.

We came back for afternoon wine and cheese after a busy (i.e. lots of wine) trip through the wineries...Diane has great taste in reds and didn't scrimp on what she put out for us. The back patio is a beautiful place to sip your wine and watch the sun set - we didn't want to go in to get ready for dinner! It's a nice, small place - we met 2 other couples who were also staying there and it's small enough that you can chat with others but enough space that you can be by yourself if you'd prefer.

The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast - strawberry, banana and granola parfait along with an Italian quiche that was second to none. Diane is very quiet and humble but takes great care of you! I can say that sitting at the breakfast table and looking out the doors was probably one of the nicest views of our trip.

Overall, we paid more or almost the same to stay in a few other b&b's elsewhere (Pacific Grove, Santa Rosa) and none of them compared to this place. I would recommend it to ANYONE, and if you're fortunate enough to have 8 in your group and can book the whole place (4 rooms), you'd love it. We were sad to leave after one night, and I feel this was far and away the best value, comfort and quality we experienced anywhere that we stayed on our trip.

Don't hesitate to book here, and even if you're headed towards Napa & Sonoma (which we also toured and quite enjoyed), don't discount the wineries in Paso Robles for a much more laidback, casual taste of California wines.

Last note: had a great dinner at Artisan in PR, which is about a 5-10 minutes drive down the hill and into town. You can't go wrong here either if looking for a nice upscale meal.

  • Liked — Hostess and the views
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rico44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Our stay at Canyon Villa was a wonderful beginning to a 10 day stay in California. Many times sitting on the porch overlooking the vineyards we thought we were in Tuscany! Diane, our hostess was extremely knowledgeable about the vineyards, wine and the excellent restaurants in the Paso area. The breakfast each morning was a culinary delight and our wine and cheese tasting every evening was a nice end to a busy day of visiting the Paso wineries. The special touch was when we sat under the pergola and had wood fired pizza in the outdoor oven. A return trip is a definitely a must for us. Thank you Diane and Jim! Hope to see you soon!

  • Liked — Comfortable and beuatiful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WandererEastLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

The Canyon Villa is perfect for a romantic getaway! It is located in a quiet area with delicate wildlife and beautiful vineyards. It's just a couple of miles from the main part of town and it's easy to find.

Since we were the only guests during our two night stay, we had this beautiful Italian style villa all to ourselves. I loved the fact that there are no televisions in the guest rooms, which forces you to be more creative with how you spend your time. You can take a walk, enjoy a relaxing soak in the huge bath tub or visit a few of the many wineries in the area. Diane will tell you where to go for a drive and where to eat, listen to her, she knows.

The breakfast, coffee, wine and evening hors d'oeuvres were EXCELLENT. Diane is a gracious hostess who puts forth great attention to detail and personal service. We would stay at this fine Bed and Breakfast again and again. We loved everything about it.

  • Liked — Beautiful guest room, food, relaxing setting.
  • Disliked — Loved everything about, no dislikes.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina00777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

The Canyon Villa is a wonderful place. Diane and Jim are fantastic hosts, and they have built a beautiful, relaxing retreat. The truth is I am jealous - I am jealous that they have such a lovely home. The good part is that they get to share it with guests. We stayed in the first floor room looking west, out towards one of the many vineyards in Paso. Let's talk about the bed - it was perhaps the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in (including my own). The sheets must be 1000 thread count Egyptian cotton. Simply awesome. The room was just perfect - a fireplace, a nice patio, a beautiful bathroom with large shower and jacuzzi tub. What can I say? Perfect. Breakfasts were also really good - day one was lemon souffle' pancakes with a berry compote and chicken/apple sausage; day two was an Italian sausage and fennel keish (sp?). Delicious, and hearty - good enough to prepare for a day of tasting wine. We will be back for sure. When I'm not quite sure, but we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_from_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Canyon Villa and had a WONDERFUL time! Diane and Jim are fabulous hosts - friendly and helpful whenever we needed them! We stayed in the Cortona room which is on the first floor with a little patio. The room and the bathroom was extremely clean and the towels/bedding were luxurious! The recommendations we received from Diane about restaurants, wineries and other activities were exactly on the mark. The breakfasts each morning were delicious along with the the wine and appetizers in the afternoon! My husband has a dairy allergy and we found Diane to be very accommodating and providing lots of options for him. Finally the Villa itself is in a wonderful location - less than 2 miles from Paso Robles, there are beautiful views of the wineries and fields, not to mention the local wildlife - pretty birds and the many deer. I would recommend the Canyon Villa to anyone - and we will certainly be back!

  • Liked — The delicious breakfasts!
  • Disliked — nothing - it was simply fabulous!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MplsTravelKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We have stayed at the Canyon Villa 4 times now, and we would never dream of staying anywhere else. It is a flawless experience from start to finish, with the most gracious and helpful hosts you can imagine. Jim is the ultimate gentleman, helping with luggage, pulling your chair out at the table, unobtrusive but available. Diane is a warm and genuine woman with amazing ideas for wineries and restaurants, not to mention her delicious gourmet breakfasts and wine/apps hour every evening.

The property is gorgeous, the rooms are well appointed with a spa bathroom and a gas fireplace. No phones, no TV, just what we look for in wine country. Great closet space in the rooms and lots of counter space in the bathroom. Beds are comfy and bottled water is provided which is a nice touch.

Diane & Jim have always found us new and wonderful wineries, often calling ahead to make us reservations or getting us in to the winemaker's home to taste in their kitchen. We have loved all of the places they have sent us, and they always have new recommendations. They even have a great sheet typed up of local restaurants with directions from the Villa.

They think of every detail and anticipate the needs of their guests, and that is why we will always stay at Canyon Villa when we come to Paso. Plus they have a delightful dog named Riley... if you ask nicely you may get to meet her.

Canyon Villa is our favorite B&B anywhere and although we wish we could keep it a secret, it's too great to keep to ourselves!

  • Liked — Innkeepers are wonderful and think of everything!
  • Disliked — That we can't live there. :)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.5 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.8 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
635 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
684 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cheval
Hotel Cheval
#1 of 18 in Paso Robles
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Villa

Property: The Canyon Villa
Address: 1455 Kiler Canyon Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-3718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Villa is an internationally recognized award-winning Tuscan-inspired Bed & Breakfast nestled among the rolling hills and vineyards of the acclaimed westside Paso Robles wine region. The Canyon Villa offers a gracious, luxurious and intimate hospitality experience. Our five-star boutique Inn will enthrall you with its Italian architecture, panoramic views, world-class cuisine, award-winning service and opulent amenities. Whether you seek a serene respite from a busy world, or an enchanting visit to the Central Coast, The Canyon Villa offers refined elegance to celebrate a milestone with a loved one, an extended weekend getaway with friends exploring the award-winning Paso Robles wine region or an overnight reprieve on your journey. The Canyon Villa’s unique brand of hospitality is unsurpassed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing