We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paso Wine Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Villa
Save
You added The Canyon Villa to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 29 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paso Wine Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Beautiful and immaculate Villa in the middle of Paso Robles wine country. Very secluded and only a couple miles away from downtown. Rooms and grounds are extreemly well kept. The hosts are very pleasant and offer delicous breakfast as well as wine and stacks at happy hour in the evening with warm hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
222
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This beautiful Tuscan styled villa far surpassed my discerning expectations. Our room was extremely comfortable and welcoming and beautifully appointed with French doors and patio overlooking gorgeous vineyard hills, and the bathroom was simply luxurious with every amenity plus large and quiet jacuzzi tub (complete with lavender bath oils) and a huge glass and tiled shower. The room had a gas fireplace that added wonderful heat and ambience. The common rooms downstairs were equally beautiful and comfortable, but it was the owners Diane and Jim who really set this experience apart. We arrived as guests and left as friends as they honored us with fine wines and cheeses at night along with their excellent company, and Diane's breakfasts were simply gourmet. We hated to leave and will be back. It was a treasure find!

Room Tip: Although the bed was very comfortable it was not a king and my husband is very tall. Ask if they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were there for the second time this past weekend and let me tell you our experience was just as good the second time as it was the first. The Inn is located on a hillside outside Paso Robles overlooking a vineyard and is not to far from the center on town. The ammenities were delightful; from the cleanliness of the room to the great room sitting area, with fireplace, to the hospitality Jim and Diane show to all their guests. The breakfasts that Diane cooks were unbeatable!!! Will go back in an instant!
Mike and Sandy Fiscus

Room Tip: Need to make reservations in advance as there are only four rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This house was built to be a B&B, and it shows. The rooms are very nicely done and are cozy, with fireplaces and lovely views. The beds are amazingly comfortable, with microfiber sheets. The bathrooms are nicely done, as well, with spa tubs...the only thing that would have been a nice addition to the bathrooms is heated floors (and some art on the walls, but the owners mentioned they had recently painted, so I'm assuming they just hadn't hung anything yet). The location was very convenient to the wineries, so we were able to kick off our wine tasting practically just outside their front door!

Breakfast was very good, and wine & cheese in the evenings was a nice touch, as well. The only thing that was a little "off" was that the owners, while very hospitable, seemed kind of like control freaks, for lack of a better term. Between flexibility on breakfast times to where the wine & cheese tray was set up, it was a little awkward at times...

Room Tip: All four are equally sized & comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoTraveler, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and your constructive feedback.

We have been updating our guest rooms and I regret that your bathroom artwork had not been installed in time for your visit. Yes, we agree heated floors would be nice 2 to 3 months of the year. That’s an amenity not typically found in our reasonable price range. I’m pleased that you enjoyed our bed linens, they are Egyptian cotton sateen, and not microfiber.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and happy hour. Our guests are given the opportunity to set their breakfast time; we understand that you are on vacation and might want to sleep in. Our coffee/tea service and afternoon happy hour is located in our dining room so that it is accessible by all of our guests. Some choose to sit in the dining room or great room; others may want to enjoy one of our many outdoor tables or in the privacy of their guestroom. The choice is yours!

I’m sorry to hear that we came across as “control freaks” ouch…Please let me know how we could have improved your experience.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This house is centrally-located and sits a on hill with a gorgeous view. The rooms were immaculate and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. We weren't able to get hot water in the tub but we made do anyway. The innkeepers were very welcoming and friendly. We felt a little bit subject to their scheduling, but maybe that's part of the b&b experience. Breakfast was ok. Cheese and crackers in the evening were better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trojanheart05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoTraveler, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you found your accommodations very comfortable. However, we were disappointed to learn that you had difficulty with the hot water in the tub. We do wish that you had shared that with us during your stay so we could have addressed it immediately. We have a very plentiful hot water supply; certainly enough to fill all four guest room tubs and run showers simultaneously, so we are puzzled by your experience.

We invite our guests to choose their breakfast service time between the hours of 8am and 9:30am. Most of our guests appreciate knowing what time to expect breakfast so they can plan their day. I’m sorry that you felt it was too scheduled.

Please feel free to call or email me with suggestions and/or additional feedback on how we could have improved your stay.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at The Canyon Villa for 2 nights and loved it. The owners, Diane & Jim, are very hospitable. Diane is an excellent cook. The Villa is very beautiful and clean. We would definitely stay here again. The Villa is in the county but very close to downtown Paso - close to shops, restaurants, and wineries. The bedroom has a lovely fireplace and the bathroom is spacious - definitely recommend using the jetted tub! If you're looking for a quiet, romatic getaway this place is ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBirds25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Agree with all the positive reviews. It is rare that an experience outperforms what you pay for your room, but this one truly did. From the beauty of the setting and view to the helpful and friendly charm of the proprietors to being able to relax in the big spa tub prior to climbing into our comfortable bed, we enjoyed every part of the stay. Including how the place smelled like rosemary rolls. No TV was a plus for us as we were on a romantic getaway. Would recommend that Diane and Jim add some insulation to the ceiling and plumbing (we were in the downstairs front room and a couple of times were a little too aware of the upstairs guests' conversation and water use) but this was a minor issue in an otherwise stellar visit - we would book into that room again, even as it is now. Bottom line is that we've found our Paso Robles home-away and won't be staying anywhere else after this.

Room Tip: Upstairs front is likely to have an even more gorgeous view than we had, and no water noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.5 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.8 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#1 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 29 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cheval
Hotel Cheval
#7 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Villa

Property: The Canyon Villa
Address: 1455 Kiler Canyon Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-3718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Villa is nestled among the rolling hills and vineyards of the acclaimed westside Paso Robles wine region. The Canyon Villa offers a gracious, luxurious and intimate hospitality experience. Our five-star boutique Inn will enthrall you with its Italian architecture, panoramic views, world-class cuisine, award-winning service and opulent amenities. Whether you seek a serene respite from a busy world, or an enchanting visit to the Central Coast, The Canyon Villa offers refined elegance to enhance your celebration. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing