We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in an elegant villa”
Review of The Canyon Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Villa
Ranked #1 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It is hard to add anything that hasn't been said. This is, by far, one of the most elegant bed and breakfasts in which we have ever stayed. It feels like you are staying in a villa in Tuscany. There are only 4 rooms, all gorgeous. The house includes a large, elegantly decorated living and dining room for the guests and use of lovely patios with views of the hilly vineyards.

Diane and Jim are warm and welcoming in every way. We stayed there recently with another couple, and were welcomed with 2 bottles of lovely wine and a great cheese platter. Diane is a wonderful cook--the breakfasts were hearty and delicious. She was a great source of recommendations for wineries, and arranged for a private tour of two of them during our stay.
We highly recommend them and will always try to book with them first when in Paso Robles.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs king room with a view of the vineyards, but our friends stayed downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineAtherton_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 363 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Yes, there is American class and style. How we found it?

It took a full year to prepare our 8 weeks tour (July/August 2012) through the USA. From the East Coast ( NYC) we drove all the way to the West Coast (San Francisco), took the California Zephyr to Chicago and flew back to Europe; eight weeks of merely highlights. New York City, Washington DC, Virginia (Shenandoah NP/Skyline Drive, Blue Ridge Parkway), Tennessee (Jonesborough), Alabama (Space & Rocket Center), Mississippi (Jackson, Natchez/Trace Parkway), Louisiana (New Orleans, Cajun & Creole, Swamps), Texas (Dallas/Fort Worth, San Antonio, Big Bend NP, McDonald Observatory), New Mexico (Carlsbad Caverns, Santa Fé), Utah (Arches NP, Capitol Reef NP, Bryce Canyon NP, Zion NP), Arizona (Navajo Reservations, Grand Canyon NP), Nevada (Las Vegas), California (Death Valley, Mohave Dessert, Joshua Tree NP, LA, Hw1, San Francisco), by train through the Sierra Nevada and Rocky Mountains, the plains of Nebraska and Iowa, and last but not least Chicago. We selected interesting places, events (as far as possible in Summer), restaurants and accommodations. So we really have something to compare…

We returned August 21st, 2012 but gave ourselves some time to be more objective, especially towards the nice B&B’s we visited. And the hotels? Well, they were good – that’s why we selected them. In reviews f hotels any form of dissidence is mostly based on encounters with employees (which may vary from day to day). Very good and very bad experiences are in fact part of the average appreciation of the hotel. As such a hotel is a firm; the overall image depends – among personnel – on many assets. An employee can affect that image, but not ruin it.

This is unlike B&B’s. Of course for B&B’s location, accommodation, rooms, amenities and facilities are very important too. But most of all the appreciation depends on the owner, the landlord, the host. Unlike hotels who have personnel, B&B’s are run by persons, people of flesh and blood, and not by officials acting on behalf of. As such a B&B is very vulnerable; it’s success depends mainly on the host/hostess, his or her capacity to be hospitable, friendly, and involved, but at the same time keeping a decent distance when asked for. He or she really has to like the presence of guests.

The Diamonds
All together there are 4 B&B’s which are way out in front; they all deserve the 5 star rating.
We mention these B&B all, because they are worth it, because they are from different regions (and as such not competitive towards each other), and because they are – at least for the traveler – rather complementary than disqualifying .
In journey sequence:
- Gorham’s Bluff – Pisgah (AL)
- Isabelle Inn – Breaux Bridge (LA)
- Sacred Sands – Joshua Tree (CA)
- Canyon Villa – Paso Robles (CA)
The reviews on Trip Advisor emphasize our opinion.
What others already wrote is true; these are perfect B&B’s. But since we had the unique opportunity to experience their excellence in comparison with each other, we made an exception to the rule never to give any review (and certainly not support the usual “great” and “wow” and expressions).

Are there differences between these 4 diamonds? O, sure.
We were given a hearty welcome by all owners/hosts, but – perhaps due to circumstances – at Gorham’s Bluff and Isabelle Inn their role was taken over by others the next day. Gorham’s Bluff, Isabelle Inn and Canyon Villa offer the tired guest a drink upon arrival. In addition only Canyon Villa offers a wine tasting with hors d'oeuvres every afternoon between 5 p.m. and 6 p.m.

Gorham’s Bluff owns a fully fledged, excellent restaurant; necessary, because the environment has – at least on this subject – no significant accommodation to offer. Isabelle Inn and Canyon Villa lack a restaurant of their own, but their visitors will primarily come to explore and enjoy the food and drinks of the region. Guests of Sacred Sands will have to go into the direction of Palm Springs.

Breakfast is excellent; that goes for all 4 B&B’s. Pure luxury and good taste.

One is brilliant
As having said already, all 4 B&B’s are excellent and fully deserve the 5-star rating. When you’ll plan a trip and book one or more of these B&B’s your journey is already a success upfront.

But … if we have to choose (yes, we know this is subjective) our number 1 is Canyon Villa B&B, and more in particular Diane (Jim welcomed us too, but was partly absent due to work).
She has class and the capacity to combine American values with European Mediterranean Style.
She is hospitable, modest, attentive and helpful – present but without forcing herself on.
Coming in you feel immediately at home, taken care of. The atmosphere is perfect, comforting and attractive. The house, the garden, and the environment are completely in harmony with Diane herself. It feels good, it feels natural. We don’t think you can act like that; you have to be like this. And she is. The perfect hostess. And her breakfasts (and wines in the afternoon) are outstanding, haute cuisine, alta cucina!
We were told a lot of guests would like to spend the latter years of their lives there.
It seems more or less cheating: already enjoying heaven on earth…

September 30th, 2012
Ingrid & Peter
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed. The views are unbelievable and the hosts, Diane & Jim make you feel so welcome. Our room was so comfortable and beautifully decorated. The estate is unbelievable. We have been visiting Paso for over 20 years and this stay was one our most enjoyable times and that was because of our stay at The Canyon Villa. The views, the food, the hosts, pure relaxation. The only negative thing I can say is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet_Eastvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our recent two day stay at the Canyon Villa in Paso Robles was just wonderful . Spacious rooms in a peaceful setting with great views, a fabulous breakfast, wine and cheese in the afternoon - it doesn't get much better. But it does! Our hosts Diane and Jim were very gracious, extremely warm, friendly, and accommodating. They do the little things that count. Not only were they of great help suggesting wineries to visit (including making reservations for us where needed) and places for a picnic lunch, they also provided us on that hot day with a cooler and cold water for our day's excursion. Since we walked to one of the nearby wineries, they volunteered to pick up any wine we bought so we would not have to carry it back. It is these small considerations (along with the spacious rooms, fabuous breakfasts...) that make us looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This B&B was perfection. On a hill top over looking the vineyards, you would have no idea town is only 5 miles away. The views are incredible and the hospitality is unbeatable. Diane and Jim are so attentive, kind and warm. They are a step ahead anticipating your every need, and are quite genuine. Diane serves a gourmet breakfast every morning and there is a 5 PM wine and cheese happy hour daily. We had no dinner reservations and she called before we even had a chance to ask for suggestions and went ahead to book our reservations for all three nights. The place is impeccably clean and very relaxing. The rooms are large with whirlpool tubs and great views. I want to come here annually, as I cannot image a better spot to get away for the weekend. I have nothing negative to say, and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 3rd visit to The Canyon Villa and had a wonderful time. As with past visits, Diane and Jim are so helpful and accommodating in whatever way they can. Diane is a great cook, so we enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and wonderful wine happy hours in the afternoons. We also got great recommendations on restaurants and wineries to visit so we made good use of our short time while visiting for the Labor Day weekend. Plus it's so nice to come back to such a beautiful and quiet place at the end of the day where you are welcomed like true friends.

I highly recommend the Canyon Villa and I know we will be back!

Room Tip: Love the upper floor rooms with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MplsTravelKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place is absolutely gorgeous! It has the moat amazing views, is very centrally located and couldn't be run by nicer people! Diane and Jim are very gracious hosts, made sure the place is spotless at all times, and very private for each one of their guests. This LUXURY B & B is on par with any 5 star hotel you can think of! Highly recommend it, can't think of one bad thing to say about it!
But if you are a rowdy bunch, find someplace else to go, don't ruin it for the other couples who want to enjoy a peaceful, romantic vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LARS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.5 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.8 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
660 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cheval
Hotel Cheval
#1 of 18 in Paso Robles
446 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Villa

Address: 1455 Kiler Canyon Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-3718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: $335 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Villa is an internationally recognized award-winning Tuscan-inspired Bed & Breakfast nestled among the rolling hills and vineyards of the acclaimed westside Paso Robles wine region. The Canyon Villa offers a gracious, luxurious and intimate hospitality experience. Our five-star boutique Inn will enthrall you with its Italian architecture, panoramic views, world-class cuisine, award-winning service and opulent amenities. Whether you seek a serene respite from a busy world, or an enchanting visit to the Central Coast, The Canyon Villa offers refined elegance to celebrate a milestone with a loved one, an extended weekend getaway with friends exploring the award-winning Paso Robles wine region or an overnight reprieve on your journey. The Canyon Villa’s unique brand of hospitality is unsurpassed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing