We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Villa Creek Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Villa Creek Bar & Grill
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th and Pine
Description: Working with local farmers since 1998. Villa Creek's Chef Tom Fundaro prepares local, organically or sustainably farmed products in rustic preparations. A local and international compilation of wines and a premium bar selection complement the fresh inspiring cuisine. "It seems that practically everyone visiting Paso Robles wine country passes through Villa Creek. That's easy to understand, because this winemaker hangout serves up youthful energy, satisfying food and an exciting wine list with excellent prices." Wine Spectator.
Claremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Was there two nights ago. Bartenders had too many of their buddies in there to pay attention to other paying customers. Taco Tuesday is good but pricey for the tiny "street tacos" that are served. They were ok tasting. The dinner menu didn't appeal to us either. One example is a dinner for two; one half baby chicken, pressed with a brick (big deal) with acoutrimonts. I think it may have had Rice and veggies. Price $45.00! For a half of chicken? Chicken? No thanks, I'd rather grab some at El Pollo Loco and save the cash and aggravation. I've decor was nice inside though with nice patio seating. We left and found another place to enjoy the rest of our night, and ate dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrStogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    82
    42
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service and Extensive Wine List, what else could you want?”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We tried Villa Creek on the recommendation of friends. It was a great recommendation. The chef clearly has some original ideas and tries them out with excellent results. l had a rabbit mole with a chile, wonderful. The wine list is extensive with wine from their own vineyards, others in the area and from overseas.
Service was prompt, cheerful and professional.
There is a popular sitting area in the bar as well as the sit down restaurant area. A small outside terrace is also an option. On this particular evening both were well attended. It appears locals like to eat here which is always a good sign.
Dinner for two with bottle of a very good local rose, two entrees, one starter, one dessert and an espresso about $100.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place came highly recommended by friends here at home and by the proprietor of the B&B where we were staying. Although, I wasn't crazy about the table location or the drapery wall I was next to, the restaurant is really good looking inside and nicely appointed. We just got the least desirable table.

The food was delicious and our server (Brittany) was excellent and knew what was cooking! We couldn't stop talking about how helpful and first rate she was. We ordered the wild mushroom bolognese and the top sirloin - both were delicious; the flavors mouthwatering.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoggyMonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Could have been a hit, however struck out”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile


Went in with great expectations as it was highly recommended. Two stars my be a little light but hard to give three. It was a Wednesday night and about 6:30pm. Not too busy but even with two or three open tables we were told it would be a 20 to 30 min wait and if there was a seat in the bar we could take but not eat order off the dinner menu. We were fine with it and after a few mins the hostess found us and said a table opened. Great. So far so good. The waiter came over and took drink orders. Two of three came and after about 15 min we asked about the glass of wine? No sorry or anything but he got it. We ordered three starts and two "lighter" fares. The food was very good. Cauliflower, duck nachos and fries with aioli. The table was no cleared of empty glasses. The wine left on the table basically untouched (not liked) never questioned as to why? After about an hour and change no main course? Asked to cancelled the first dinner as it took so long. No I'm sorry but said it was on the pass. After a few mins the second main came out wrong. Again no I'm sorry or anything other than you can keep it (not sure what it was). After another 15 or 20 mins asked to cancel it and waiter had an attitude. Are you kidding me? Again no I'm sorry what can we do? Got check and still an attitude from the server. (Wow). No manager no apology. Good food bad service what could have been a great night left a BAD taste so to speak.


  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSWCONSULT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent local style Cali-Cuisine,”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have eaten here 3 times over the past 4 years. It's right on the NE corner of the square The menu seems to be veering more towards small plates these days than I recall from previous visits. Nevertheless, the meal the four of us had was very good. I would suggest/expect that they offer more wines by the glass considering their location.But they don't have a great list unless you want a bottle.. The entrees are limited also but are really solid and all that we got were great. Apps: Ahi Tuna Ceviche yuzu, orange, microgreens, avocado,Quinoa Salad w/ feta, radish, peas, asparagus in buttermilk vinaigrette. I got seared cod and it was excellent and nicely plated , my boys got chicken and waffles which they scarfed down in about 3 minutes. They offer dishes for two as well which is a nice idea..... Grass Fed Pan Roasted Del Monico Pork or 1/2 Brick Chicken seared under a brick, Service was OK , it was kind of odd how quiet the room was at 9 pm on a Saturday night.
It may have lost it's " latest thing" cachet, but is still a high quality restaurant. needing a few tweaks.Check it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Creek Bar & Grill also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing