We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good traditional Italian food and excellent service”
Review of Buona Tavola

Buona Tavola
Ranked #2 of 198 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 10th Street
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good traditional Italian food and excellent service”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My husband, son and I ate dinner here on a Monday evening. I'm glad we made reservations as it got busy. I had the night's special salad, mixed greens, shaved fennel, artichoke hearts and pine nuts. My husband had the baby spinach, tomatoes, pine nuts salad with gorgonzola dressing and my son had a caprese salad - his favorite. They were fresh, delicious and very generous portions. The bread came with a very good homemade olive tapenade.

I had that night’s pasta special; wide noodles in a ragu sauce with chicken and prosciutto. My husband had the night’s special roasted lamb chops and my son had fettuccine in a braised chicken, duck, veal and beef meat sauce from the menu. All 3 dishes were hearty, generous portions and delicious. We took dessert back to the hotel with us as the meal was very filling. The desserts weren't very good ( apple tart and flourless chocolate cake), but the other food was soooo good that you had to forgive the desserts. We ordered a bottle of Tobin James “James Gang” reserve 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon which was $35 - quite a bargain as the retail cost would have been $28. Our total bill for wine, food and dessert plus tip for 3 was $240.

The service was very attentive and reminiscent of the older Italian restaurants in North Beach San Francisco with better prices! We felt very well taken care of and well fed. The ambience is like an Old Italian neighborhood restaurant, friendly and welcoming. We would return over and over. The cost was almost identical but the meal was more satisfying and certainly more generous in the portions than the Artisan. Obviously, the style of cooking was completely different so they are not entirely comparable. However, the warmth and friendliness of the staff alone put this restaurant well above our experience at the Artisan the previous night.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beezercal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    138
    31
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good Italian food”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

The food at Buona Tavola was very good. We went on a Monday night, so the restaurant was not crowded at all, so we had excellent service. We had the carpaccio appetizer which we enjoyed ($13). Most appetizers are $10-15. The main courses are $20-30 with the pasta dishes $15-20. So, a bit expensive, but the food was good. We had the flourless chocolate cake for dessert which we also enjoyed. Dress is casual. To sum it up, all the food was good, not the best Italian food I've ever had and a bit pricey.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Bourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal on a Three-Week Road Trip”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

It is worth going a couple blocks from the square to dine at this delightful restaurant. The food is delicious, the prices are sensible, the service is professional and unpretentious, and the atmosphere is pleasing.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good, Simple Italian Fare”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I was in a group of 8 that dined here for dinner last week. It was New Year's Day, so the place was very quiet. There was only one or two other parties seated during our entire dinner. We brought a couple of bottles of local wine and paid the $16 corkage.

Buona's menu is filled with classic Northern Italian fare at reasonable prices. We were impressed with the versatility of the chef and eager service. Our waiter knew the menu inside and out and worked hard to make the moderately large group happy. Just about any meal can be tweaked or changed to your liking. I had the veal in marsala sauce, which was excellent. Most of our group went with one of the pasta choices and really liked the cheese tortellini, pesto and parpadelle options. We foung the angel hair dish to be under seasoned.

The restaurant would benefit from a small side salad option, as all of the salads were large and moderately pricey. Same goes for the soups, although the waiter was quick to mention that a smaller cup of soup, for a reduced price was possible, but not on the menu.

In short, this restaurant does very well with traditional, simple Italian dishes. Presentation is straightforward and portion sizes are decent. It was by far the most affordable dinner we had in Paso and we were happy with the food and service.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsr914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food ... service”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

While located a few blocks down from the park ... it is worth a visit. Good Italian fare, intimate ambaince and low key. Great service too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABikeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buona Tavola also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Buona Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing