We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel very friendly staff”
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oaks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff took care of us like we were part of the family. The daily free breakfast had a great variety of foods. The hotel is only 8 months old and feels so clean. I can't say enough about the staff, maids, and cooks, most friendly hotel I have every stayed at. We will always stay at this hotel when we go to Paso Robles

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieBri93923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    138
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
157
306
17
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
396 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I found this place on trip advisor and so glad I did! This is a new hotel a little out of the center of town. But a very nice and clean hotel. Jennifer Johnson met us at check in and we hit it off immediately. We explained that it was our 1st time here and that we wanted to go wine tasting. She immediately took out a map and mapped out a plan for our day. She showed us 10 local, small winery's. boy this was the best. Everyone at the winerys were very nice and accomadating.
The hotel itself is very nice. Rooms are spacious and clean. They are well thought out. We travel a lot and are constantly searching for a electrical outlet to plug in our chargers and a C Pap machine that I wear. Well there are electrical outlets at both nite stands! To some that may not be a big deal but it was sure great to us! You are also given slippers and robes.
In the morning we were given a free complimentary full breakfast. Not a continental one.
Our stay here was awesome, on the way out we saw Jennifer again, she was veery interested in our wine tasting and the rest if our nite. She hugged us good bye and said she looks forward to us returning. She made us feel special which is always a plus!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveLalaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a great stay at The Oaks, Room clean , staff awesome ,Quiet at night. was surprising at all the families staying there, and so quite . Had dinner at the restaurant Indulge and was good also.
Would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Our room was on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If this hotel was like $80-100 per night, I'd be like, "Awesome." It's got comfy beds, it has breakfast. It is in a terrible, hard-to-find, industrial location, but if you have a car, it's a totally decent hotel. Also, right now it's new and so it's about as nice as a newer Holiday Inn.

But the rooms aren't $80-100. In fact, they actually cost about twice that much. And while my husband and I will pay for a nicer hotel when we want one, when a hotel is priced at the level of a nice hotel, I start comparing it with actual nice hotels and when you come up short, I feel a bit cheated. So, we gave the Oaks a try, and compared to other hotels at the same price point, we felt The Oaks seemed a little overpriced and "unfinished."

When we arrived the room was super-hot and we had to turn on the a/c and wait quite a while for it to cool down. As I say, the room was about like a Holiday Inn. And the breakfast the next morning was pretty good (say on par with Hampton Inn). But the kitchen staff was kind of rude. It was crowded and the layout is not very well thought-out. So the manager was sort of bossily directing people through the line--even though no one appeared to be asking for direction. And one of the staff seriously scolded me for taking the Tabasco sauce off an empty table. Apparently whoever took it off the buffet wasn't supposed to do that.

All in all, it's a mom and pop place. You'll see this in the reservation process, which involves getting a few emails from a random third party website. And they haven't adopted all the convenient practices you usually see at hotels. Like, for example, we called the front desk to ask them to check us out so we could be on our way. And they said no. They insisted we come downstairs (and stand in line) and check out in person because they wanted us to bring our keycards back. When was the last time you stayed at a hotel and couldn't just leave the keycards in the room?

The point is, putting up with these things would be no biggie if this wasn't trying to be a fancy hotel. But they are. For me, the bottom line is, if you stay in Paso a lot and are thinking that based on the price, this hotel might be comparable to, say, Paso's Courtyard, you're going to be disappointed. If you find them with a decent price deal (i.e. probably not on a weekend) you'll probably be satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip T, Manager at The Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your insightful feedback. We are happy you were overall content with your stay. I am sorry you had to wait for the room to cool down after your arrival. It was unfortunate that we were going through a heat wave at the time. One of our Green initiatives is to keep the A/C at a minimum when a room is not occupied.

Our competitive rates are based on surrounding hotels which varies depending on the level of accommodation and day of the week. We try to offer our guests good value with amenities and services which hopefully surpass their expectation (i.e. high end bed mattresses, a complimentary gourmet hot breakfast buffet (not prepackaged), bathrobe and slippers, ...). We also recommend our guests book as early as possible for the best rate.

I apologize if my staffs appeared to be rude during the busy morning breakfast. We will ensure we are more mindful of our manners.

Your invaluable feedbacks regarding our hotel’s operation is appreciated. We hope your next stay at our hotel will be a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our daughter was graduating college in San Luis Obispo and I needed 4 rooms for various family members.
Calling around I found that the hotels in San Luis were charging very high rates for that particular weekend , so I expanded my search and found the Oaks in Paseo Robles.for a very reasonable price, plus they would allow a 1 night stay if needed (something the hotels in San Luis would not do)
The hotel is not in town and when you arrive it looks like any one of a number of hotels that dot that part of town, but, that is where the comparison ends.
The hotel was new, not fancy, the rooms were clean and very quiet..the beds were exceptional. Water was provided free of charge, there was a refrigerator in the room also and breakfast was provided.
Waffles, pancakes , (totally made from scratch) which really impressed me, fruit, eggs, bacon ,juice, coffee tea etc...all top notch.
There is a pool, we did not use it since it was quite hot and there seemed to be little shade in that area.
We did use the exercise room, small but adequate.
All the clerks and hotel personel were kind and helpful.
A wine tasting was scheduled each evening, the first night I do not think the winery arrived, but, the second evening there were many bottles to choose from along with some nibbles.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needed to spend time in that area and wanted a reasonable, comfortable and convient place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
206 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Oaks to attend graduation at Cal poly. We chose Paso instead of SLO because we wanted to do a little wine tasting in the area so we needed to find a hotel in Paso. The choices are limited so based on trip advisor reviews we chose the Oaks. It was much better that we expected. I think it's individually owned and either the owners or managers were always right there to assist guests with any need. The rooms are on the small side but well appointed with excellent linens, flat screen TV, great bed and lovely robes, slippers and bath products. The room is equipped with a small refrigerator and microwave. The pool area is small but does the job. Breakfast is ample with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and pancakes. There's always coffee and tea in the lobby and bottled water in the rooms free of charge. This is not a 5 star property but clearly delivers for the price and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the best hotel for ,amenities and value. This family owned hotel offers everything you could ever want when visiting the central coast. Restaurant is great, bar is friendly and wonderful selections of local wines. Breakfast is free and great. I can't wait to go back next ear and take more friends (there were 6 of us this time) .

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor close to the pool and fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
1.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
3.9 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
622 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Property: The Oaks Hotel
Address: 3000 Riverside Ave, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1305
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in the fall of 2012, this brand new three story hotel offers ninety spacious rooms and suites, numerous amenities, a selection-rich bar and Indulge, restaurant for breakfast. We invite you to come and explore our new facilities and relax in one of Paso Robles’ finest hotels. Combining eloquent boutique design with modern finishes, The Oaks Hotel is the perfect destination after driving through the gentle rolling hills of vineyards and coastal mountain ranges of Central California. With nearby attractions such as the historic Hearst Castle, over 180 local wineries and quaint family owned shops located downtown, we wish to make you feel at home in between exploring and experiencing the beautiful wine country of Paso Robles. The Oaks Hotel and Suites is your ultimate choice when looking for a comfortable and elegant place to stay during your visit to this beautiful wine country. At The Oaks, you will discover that we are the new standard of comfort and convenience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing