We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Best Calamari Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill at Hunter Ranch

The Grill at Hunter Ranch
Ranked #25 of 179 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tucked away in the heart of wine country just off of Route 46 East near Paso Robles, The Grill at Hunter Ranch is a favorite destination among locals for great food and a relaxed atmosphere. Take a break on our veranda and enjoy stunning views of the golf course and neighboring vineyards. We serve up breakfast and lunch seven days a week, with daily happy hour specials and a Sunday Brunch Buffet that will keep you coming back for more. Whether you're golfing, wine tasting, traveling through town, or just love our signature bacon, stop in, relax, and enjoy your dining experience.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best Calamari Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I commented on the Resturant in my review of the golf course, but I will repeat it again because I would hate for anyone to miss this place. We ate lunch there one day after golfing (not me our son) and the another day he went back to golf and so my husband and I and our sons wife had appetizers and drinks. And they were fabulous! We had a artichoke dip that was good and the calamari steak was the best ever! A must!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Starlet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bacon with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I started out morning at The Grill for breakfast. We arrived too early to do the brunch, but that was okay as we had plenty of food.

We sat on the porch and took in the view of the golf course and the vineyards in the distance while drinking our coffee and mimosas.

My only mistake was ordering sausage rather than bacon with my breakfast.

The bacon is probably the best I have ever had. It was perfectly cooked and is glazed or marinated is a secret sauce. Our waitress, Summer, told us they sign a nondisclosure agreement concerning the bacon...

I wish I had been able to play golf, but this wasn't that type of trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous brunch here with a cousin and my mom! It was a very nice buffet and menu. Everyone was very happy with their meal! and we left there very well satisfied.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beaken66213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Golf and goodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great golf at reasonable prices and excellent food also reasonablly priced. Loved the outing! The course is challenging but not foreboding. The restaurant offers great food and a super Sunday brunch!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food with Great Views and Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I love having lunch at golf courses because the views are typically great and the food is usually pretty good. There are few better spots than Hunter Ranch and their restaurant "The Grill" with patio (enclosed in plastic covering in bad weather times) view of the course. Had lunch on way to ocean with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and my BLT and her Tri -Tip were two of the best lunch meals we have had in quite awhile. This was my 3rd stop here for lunch over past few years, and I can see why the place sells out early for Mother's Day, although I never remember to book it early enough (I think you need 20-30 days in advance). A real gem in Paso Robles and given all the winery choices you have in the area, that is saying quite a bit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill at Hunter Ranch also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to The Grill at Hunter Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing