We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch”

The Grill at Hunter Ranch
Ranked #26 of 198 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the heart of wine country just off of Route 46 East near Paso Robles, The Grill at Hunter Ranch is a favorite destination among locals for great food and a relaxed atmosphere. Take a break on our veranda and enjoy stunning views of the golf course and neighboring vineyards. We serve up breakfast and lunch seven days a week, with daily happy hour specials and a Sunday Brunch Buffet that will keep you coming back for more. Whether you're golfing, wine tasting, traveling through town, or just love our signature bacon, stop in, relax, and enjoy your dining experience.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If your goal is to stuff yourself, then any brunch will do. But if you go to a brunch for the variety and like good food served in a very pleasant setting, look no further. I've been a couple of times and was happy on all counts. This is the only brunch in the Paso area that I could find (and I looked) when I visited. The food was well prepared and tasty and my champagne glass was never less than half full. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamSumaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and yummy food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stopped in for lunch on a weekday, not crowded, great sandwich options, incredible views that go on forever. Very good service. Something I don't usually drink - iced tea - it was the best I've ever had! No kidding!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don't eat anywhere else in Paso Robles”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Grill at Hunter Ranch has fabulous food, wonderful views, and great service. We have visited many times it and it is consistently great. That's it. Love this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

A group decided to use the early 3-6pm light menu. The food was excellent and the prices were very appropriate. The only negative was the sourest waitress I have had in years. She did not do a bad job but what an attitude.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredfraz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Splendid Setting, Unremarkable All Else”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

It was a lovely warm, slightly breezy day so we decided to brunch on the veranda. Lots of people and about an equal number waiting at the first tee to play. We found a table for two with a nice view of the first tee and the well-manicured eighth fairway.

We started with a Mimosa, a glass of orange juice, and coffee. Coffee was lukewarm, Mimosa was generous but flat, and the orange juice was generous but not fresh squeezed. The brunch menu looked exciting with an Omelet Bar, Salad Bar, Pastry and Fruit Bar (Fresh Fruit Platter, Cheese Blintzes, Waffles, Cinnamon French toast, Assorted Pastries, Cinnamon Rolls, Cheesecakes, Coffee Cake, English Trifle, Fresh Fruit Cobblers), and a buffet of Certified Angus Prime Rib, Club Benedict, Kelly’s Bacon, Scrambled Eggs, Home Fries, Sausage links, Chicken Fried Steak with Biscuits and Country Gravy, Sweet & Spicy Meatballs, Smoked Salmon Platter with mini bagels, Baked Macaroni & Cheese, Vegetarian Egg Rolls, Chicken Burritos, Mini Corn Dogs, Savory Bread Pudding, and Quiche. All beverages are included. The price is $28, $23 for seniors 65 or older, children 12 and under $18, and children under 3 are gratis.

However, upon actually tasting the food, we were disappointed with pretty much all the fare although the Kelley's bacon was thick and crispy but overly sweet, salmon is virtually unruinable, the sausage links were fine, and the prime rib was probably better than at Denny's (if it served prime rib).

We polished off with another lukewarm coffee.

By the end of the meal we kind of wished the starter in the clubhouse was in charge of the restaurant: foursomes were going off in regular fashion while our service on the veranda was haphazard although cordial. Even if we were not moving to Sacramento next week, there would certainly be no more visits for us for brunch despite the fact one of us is a Hunter Ranch Players Club member.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InsiemeSempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill at Hunter Ranch also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to The Grill at Hunter Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing