We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable bit of Irish wine!”
Review of Pappy McGregor's

Pappy McGregor's
Ranked #29 of 222 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Pappy McGregor's Pub & Grill has an atmosphere that blend's Irish and American traditions. Always lively, always fun and always busy, Pappy McGregor's is just the right place for you to have a cold pint, eat a great meal, and meet up with new and old friends. Our executive chefs, brothers Chris & Martin Beckett, have created an extensive menu made up of gastro pub quality items. We strive for every plate to be a work of art that's better than any other typical pub. Our creative menu is made up of comfort food favorites like the Prime Rib Sandwich, Steak & Shrooms, Farm Stand BLTA, Grilled Cheese, and Tomato Bisque. We also feature a wide variety of seafood dishes like the locally famous fried Calamari, Raw Blue Point Oysters, Fresh Halibut & Chips, and Oysters Rockefeller. Our Prime Rib Chili and Lobster Mac and Cheese have both won multiple awards in local food competitions. Pappy McGregor's Pub & Grill proudly features fully stocked bars, with more than 150 sprits, imported beer, and an extensive craft beer list. We support our local wineries and feature only local wine from San Luis Obispo Co. Come by for our daily Pappy Hour or join us for our multiple weekly evening specials and events like Pub Trivia Night, Karaoke, and Live Music. Pappy McGregor's always has the big games on with our plenty of TVs you won't miss a second of your favorite team. When you're in downtown Paso Robles, stop by Pappy McGregor's Pub & Grill and see why we have been voted Best Bar/Pub for 8 straight years. You won't be disappointed no matter if its food, drink or a good time you are looking for.
Reviewed November 1, 2018

We spent a great evening at Paso Robles’ own Irish bar named Pappy McGregor’s. Great drinks, great atmosphere, great service and a very good evening over two bottles of wine!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2018

Try the main dining room first, the side bar was loud and noisy, the service is the same and priced accordingly

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018

On the town square in Paso Robles, enjoyed fish and chips one evening, went back the next evening for Scotch Eggs. Other plates looked very yummy as they were passing by our table. Would return on our next Paso Robles excursion.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Traveling solo from the Central Valley to the South Coast of San Luis Obispo County makes Paso Robles a better stop for lunch than the Kettleman City fast food junction at Highways 5 and 41. I was disappointed more of downtown Paso’s restaurants weren’t open for a 2 pm late lunch, so I found a reliable bar I could eat at. Pappy McGregor’s looks like it’s been on 1122 Pine Street for decades. It hasn’t, but it took over a spot that once had been. I’ve eaten in their first location on Monterey Street in San Luis Obispo, (Long closed for a slow building monster hotel), so I knew the food was good and generous portions. On Monday I wasn’t disappoint by either their western bacon burger or their pint of Guinness. I learned from the charming female bartender that Pappy’s will not wait any longer to reopen in SLO. The hotel was supposed to be completed last January. So Paso is your only choice.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SLOnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

The food was excellent- we are foodies and my fish and chips was really good and fresh, my hubby had the prime rib sandwich, wonderful- we should have split it. We had our dog with us and they were very gracious brought him water and it as very comfortable in the patio.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy McGregor's also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Pappy McGregor's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing