We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people”
Review of Ecluse Wines

Ecluse Wines
Ranked #25 of 165 things to do in Paso Robles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Écluse may not be familiar to you yet but we will be! We invite you to discover us and experience wine tasting the old fashion way – in the barrel room with the winemaker! We are a small family owned winery & vineyard dedicated to producing limited production, hand-crafted, award-winning Rhone and Bordeaux style wines. Located on 30 beautiful acres of gently rolling hillside terroir on the desired Westside of the Paso Robles AVA, our philosophy is to make the very best wines from the very best fruit. Come "Savor the Wine that is truly Écluse"!Cheers!We are a small, boutique family owned winery therefore a reservation is required for groups of 7-10 and must be made in advance. We are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10. To schedule a tasting reservation, please give us a call. We look forward to welcoming you into our tasting room!
Paso Robles, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice people”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Owner is really a great guy who will spend time with you and offer excellent suggestions. Great stop for a Red Wine Drinker without lots of wine knowledge.

Helpful?
Thank beaken66213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escondido
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Ecluse 1520 Kiler Canyon Road. Open 11-4 805-238-4998. This is the first and only winery that we visited that offered us barrel tastings. The place is tiny for tasting and quite austere. They offer free tasting of 5 wines and an additional 3 from the ageing barrels. The latter gives you a chance to see the progress of the wines as they age. The wines were priced at $12-30. Nice service, no pressure, free tasting, modest prices might be reason enough to put this winery on your list to visit. Remember not to expect much in the way of facilities. Perhaps Pam or Steve (owners) will be there when you visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ranles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice winery”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

People very nice and we got to barrell taste. Hard to find if you don't know where you're going and tasting room nothing special. Wines were nice.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 941 helpful votes
“Barrel Tasting”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had an appointment at this place and we delighted to do barrel tasting. I bought a bottle of the Ensemble which is a Meritage style wine. It is very good but costs $54.00.This is a very small winery and I enjoyed that aspect of it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyChism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ecluse is a great find run by great people.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently took a trip to Paso Robles and were curious about what Trip Advisor's recommendations were. Being that Ecluse is the top rated attraction and we were going to quite a few wineries, we decided to stop by.

First things first, the wine was excellent. Very consistent, complex, and delicious. I found myself saying "wow" after a few of them. After tasting we discovered Ecluse are prize winners in various competitions, one being the gold medal in San Francisco Chronicle several years running. This competition is an aggregate of 60 top reviewers, not just a small panel. Any fellow Metacritic fans will appreciate this.

Perhaps even more impressive was I left the winery not saying that "Ecluse is great", but "Pam and Steve are great." It struck me that every other winery out of about a dozen, I only remember the name of the establishment. Not so with Ecluse, and we really look forward to seeing Pam and Steve again!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecluse Wines also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ecluse Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing