We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simple space, good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chico's Cafe - CLOSED

Chico's Cafe
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simple space, good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

After a somewhat late lunch, we were looking for a low-key restaurant where we could get a light dinner at a reasonable price. Found that place at Chico's Café. If you're looking for ambiance, go elsewhere, but if good fresh food at reasonable prices is your goal, you will enjoy Chico's. Seafood was fresh and well prepared (we had scallops and salmon). Both dishes came with local vegetables and red potatoes. Small, reasonable wine list.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaptainL-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good meal and experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Chico's is a small (possibly family run) restaurant that is moderately priced in downtown. We were looking for a light meal of good food. We were not in the mood for a fancy or upscale experience. The quality of the food was very good and the service excellent. Chico made some of the best lobster bisque ever! He split an entry for us and the portion size and presentation were good. His pricing is about $7 per entry lower than most of the downtown competition. The setting was a bit more home style and not as fancy but comfortable although I wouldn't call it romantic. We would definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank National_Park_Lover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boring flavours and too small portion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We went here because of Tripadvisor's reviews, but I desappointed because 1) they were sold out of many options 2) menu was unclear (why there wasn't any exact list what does those portions includes? I hate capers and mine was full of it) 3) vegetables and potatoes were best part of meal but not enough of them 4) portion was too small, or maybe I'm just used to eat too much
Service was ok and wine, too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taru A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A menu with lots of variation, good portions, and everything perfectly cooked. We've had breakfast and dinner there, and will more than likely be back on our next trip to Paso.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 14foxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

On a beautiful, warm evening we sat outside at Chico's. We ordered the Alaskan Halibut Florentine and the farm-raised, grilled Salmon specials. Each came with a large, delicious salad. The fish was perfectly cooked and perfectly delicious. A great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetvinotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chico's Cafe also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing