We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Italy in Southern California”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Northern Italy in Southern California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

My fiancee (now husband), best friend, brother and a new friend we had never met before stayed at Villa Valdemosa for a weekend getaway over Columbus Day weekend... oh, and we got married while we were there.

First, regarding the Bed and Breakfast: Fabulous. Each of us are regular travelers, although most of our experience is out of country... even our dog has circumnavigated the planet... and each of us felt that the charm of Villa Valdemosa coupled the graciousness of our host made for a wonderfully memorable stay. Tom was actually performing at a nearby vineyard when we arrived. He left a note for us on the table in the entry to let us know which rooms to tuck into as well as passes and a map to nearby wineries. Anxious to meet our host, we started with Sculpterra where he was playing. Contrary to a previous reviewer's experience, we found the area to be easily navigable. The nearby wineries were each lovely with very individual personalities; all of them were enjoyable. We were welcomed warmly, engaged in intelligent banter about the varietals and looked after with a smile.

We were having so much fun at the wineries, that we barely made it back to the Villa for our wedding!

To the topic of having our wedding at Villa Valdemosa: planned, executed and celebrated without a hitch! The overlook patio in the sunset was perfection. The wine maker's feast (prepared by the host) was scrumptious. We drank wine and port late into the night on the back porch and woke to the smell of fresh coffee and pastries which we snacked on until Tom's utterly FABULOUS breakfast. The souffle was light, yet creamy and Tom very conscientiously took my best friend's vegetarian status into consideration in the preparation (extra bacon for ME!).

You know, you travel here and there... you stay in a five star in Munich followed by a boutique hotel in Bangkok followed by a bare bones in Chuuk... a well appointed room anywhere is simply that, a well appointed room. Our rooms here were certainly well appointed: the bed was big and comfortable, the bedding thick and smooth, the bathroom huge (garden tub AND walk in shower) with big fluffy towels. What makes Villa Valdemosa such a special place to stay comes down to the people running it. Tom is a very genuine, very real person... yes, the Villa is a business, but the hospitality is the heart of it. Tom is "good people"... this comes through in the Villa.

Not only do I recommend Villa Valdemosa, I can guarantee that we will return ourselves.

The jet port at Paso Robles makes this a very easy weekend getaway! All we had to do was park the plane, jump into the rental car they had waiting for us and scoot over to the Vila... Paso Robles truly is a hidden gem. Explore it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarheelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    31
    18
    28
    27
See reviews for
11
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

Four of us spent one night at this charming well-sited, Tuscan-style B & B. Tom Roebuck is an interesting, laid back host who promptly responded to our every request.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConradHastler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

The room was gorgeous! The website does not do the rooms or the property justice. It was everything we expected and more! It was beautiful, quiet and relaxing.

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted warmly. We were served a delicious plate of cheese, crackers and apples by the chef. Both mornings the owner prepared a mouth watering breakfast. We took our delicious coffee and sat on a deck overlooking the beautiful vineyards before adventuring to the nearby wineries for a weekend of memorable wine tasting. We recieved excellent personal service by the owner, Tom, who made sure all of our needs were taken care of.

We are looking foward to our next trip and we will be staying here again. We would highly recommend the Villa Valdemosa to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rberumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

although the inn keeper wasn't at the b&b when we arrived he made sure we felt welcomed, provided us with clear instructions and welcoming hors d'oeuvres and, of course, a bottle of wine. the service was exceptional and his breakfast choices were fantastic and delicious. his selections of where to eat were "right on" if you like fine and good dining. the room we stayed in was big, clean, and comfortable. the views from the b&b were magnificent and the location, well... apropos, a winery at the bottom of the property!! what i liked the most was the cozy environment and the opportunity to meet others. the b&b does not have cable in the rooms but who needs television when you are surrounded by nature and good wine! what it has is a large selection of dvd's that the guest can borrow and a library with many books on wine!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loszapatitosderosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

Its often the host that makes a stay enjoyable, by being attentive, responsive, friendly, and above all an expert in hospitality. Villa Valdemosa has all this and more - Tom, the host was also a fantastic chef and established expert in the area of Paso Robles (and certainly a known friend to many of the wineries we visited.)

As for the accommodation itself, we stayed in the Sorrento Suite which had private front entrance with patio, and also a private patio at the back from which you can enjoy a glass or two of red while being treated to a spectacular sunset. The room was clean and tastefully decorated largely in keeping with the Tuscan architecture of the building.

Theres a fantastic laid-back atmosphere to the place making ideal for those looking to escape city life for a while. Nothing seems set in stone (eating times etc) as the host seems most flexible to fit with the requirements of his guests.

All the best to you Tom from your Scottish guests, Lloyd and Suzanne.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinburger82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN JOSE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Highest recommendation.

The location at the top of the hill affords wonderful valley views and a cooling breeze. The gardens are immaculately maintained and frame the views of the valleys wineries. Tuscan architecture makes you feel like a real get away from work and home. Our room had a whirlpool tub, private deck, and the most comfortable bed ever found on a trip. The host/proprietor, Tom perfectly cast. He is open, fun, and is a fantastic cook. Breakfast was superb on the gazebo overlooking the valley. The only regrets were that we only had one night there, and did not take up his offer for a winemaker’s dinner of his cooking. Both will be remedied with a 3-day weekend visit as soon as time allows.

All this for the price of one of the nicer big hotel chains... its a steal. You will never find these amenities, views, food, and hospitality anywhere near this price.... so pamper yourself and have some money left in your pocket to buy wines on your next trip to Paso.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK100k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

PROS: For a little slice of Old World Europe right here in California, Villa Valderosa in Paso Robles, California is that and more. After traveling all across the U.S., I've never been more relaxed. Our room with private bath and lots of closet space was clean, and the bed was as comfortable as our own at home (that's a rarity to find when you are traveling). The sheets were soft and smelled so fresh. The spacious interior of Villa Valdemosa was a welcoming Tuscan architecture, and beautifully decorated with extra high ceilings and very thick walls that ensured us a lot of privacy. Parking was easy and very secure. The food was incredible with hot coffee waiting for us by the time we woke up, followed by large hot muffin-size fluffy egg souffles accompanied by a papaya chutney and toast, orange juice, and granola. Our meal ended with bowl of fresh fruit. All this amidst the fragrance of fresh lavender bushes in full bloom that formed a necklace along the circular private rode which lead up to the top of the hill where Villa Valdemosa rules the view. Our breakfast perch was in a gazebo across the huge lawn from the main house. It seemed to float on thin air. From there, we had a 300 degree view for 50 miles across the vineyard floor and onto second and third unit mountain ranges ending in a purple color wash in the distance. At home, we suffer from daily noise pollution, so the stark difference of the peacefulness of chirping birds, zooming dragonflies, a glimpse of deer in the distance, and fresh fresh air in our lungs was more than we could even imagine as city dwellers. At night, we saw a forest of constellations winking down at us in the darkness, which was a special thrill for my wife, who is an amateur astronomer. Our host was a spirited conversationalist who is worldly enough to broach any subject knowledgeably. He was most helpful in making recommendations for restaurants and places to visit in the area. By the end of our stay at Villa Valdemosa, we were made to feel like old friends. The innkeeper can be reached at this email: tomr1000@yahoo.com.

CONS: Still Waters Winery is at the foot of the the hill where you enter the road to Villa Valdemosa. The winery's sign is easy to spot, but there's no sign for Villa Valdemosa right there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytourschedule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
6.3 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
11.5 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
11.1 mi away
San Marcos Creek Vineyard & Winery
9.8 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Property: Desperado Inn
Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing