We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Brentwood, California
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Both my husband and I loved our stay at the Sundance Inn. It was for our Anniversary weekend. We loved the sweeping views of the near by vineyards and beyond. The breakfast each morning was our highlight of the day. This B&B is located near many wineries. I'm a Travel Agent so I'm very picky as to where we stay and B&B's are not usually my first choice but I'm glad I made this choice. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was ok for us at the time but I would love to go back and stay in the one of the (2) larger villas. Tom the owner was very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: If a little extra room is needed I would ask Tom to put you in One of the (2) outdoor rooms with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkins0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    31
    18
    28
    27
See reviews for
11
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood Berach, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Sundance Inn. It is situated in a beautiful, quiet setting with serene views of the surrounding hillsides. Our room was comfortable with a private bath and walk-in closet. We enjoyed the comforts of this home inside and out, Our host, Tom, was very accommodating and knowledgeable of the local wineries and restaurants,
We look forward to a return visit.
Mickey & Jerry Shaevitz

Room Tip: We were in The Butch Cassidy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had paid for two days but left after one. It was too obvious this was a home, not an Inn. The neighbor has a gun range set up and as you are sipping your wine looking over the vineyards, you listen to large caliber weapons being discharged. The toiletries were old large used bottles just as you would have at home.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms not in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRileyCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paso Robles hotels

California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A bedroom at the end of the hall does not qualify as an Inn.Safety issues abound,Dismantled fire alarms,no door locks,spa with no water but plenty of broken tiles.A dirty swimming pool with an overturned chair in it and protruding fasteners where the diving board once was.I know this because I tripped over them!Our first contact with Tom,the owner was a simple question. "Hi, Are you the owner?'to which he rudely replied "Whats it to you?"I went into the kitchen to pay the room tax only to see that is was disgustingly dirty.I haven't even mentioned the cat roaming the place-and I'm allergic! Our gourmet chef sliced up 1/2 an apple, cubed a couple pieces of cheese and tossed some corn chips into a small bowl for our "appetizer". The wine was literally undrinkable. Having said all this we left-NEVER to return!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coqui_coqui_jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I am staggered by this review. I personally waited on these folks and they said everything was fine.
I am amazed such a negative and obviously exaggerated set of comments would be allowed in print.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have known Tom Rigby owner of Sundance Inn since 2007 and have stayed several times at the Sundance Inn. The ambiance and views are incredible, the property is beautiful and warm and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and affordable for this type of stay. Tom is an excellent cook and even better musician and hopefully you will be able to experience both. Our favorite time to book is the Wine Festival Weekends in March and May of each year. This is a beautiful area any time of year, rain or shine. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaggioCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just a few miles out of the city makes for a very peaceful get-a-way. You don't see stars like that in town yet you are close enough to spend the day exploring what Paso Robles has to offer. Cozy yet roomy with great food. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I have been to this Inn several times. We keep returning because of the beautiful, pastoral vistas, a nice room and friendly staff. We are most comfortable there.
Our room has always been clean. When we ask for extra towels etc, they are accommodating.
The quiet surroundings are appealing to us and we are not bothered all day. It is very private.
Tom lets us keep a few items in his refrigerator, where guests are not supposed to be (in the kitchen). Occasionally he plays his guitar in the evening if he is there. Hotels in town might have more amenities, but when all put together, they are more expensive, close to the railroad tracts and have NO view. We love this friendly house. It does not pretend to be a hotel, nor is it.
It is much more personable and down to earth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paso Robles
6.8 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,427 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
684 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
905 reviews
6.7 mi away
Emily's House B & B
Emily's House B & B
#12 of 30 in Paso Robles
48 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Paso Robles
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Property: Desperado Inn
Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing