We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Sherry!!”
Review of Castoro Cellars

Castoro Cellars
Ranked #14 of 164 things to do in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thank you Sherry!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Sherry was an excellent teacher to my friend and I. We were complete noobs before Sherry got a hold of us. She taught us how to taste wine and she found wines that suited our palettes, so we didn't taste the exact same wines. The winery grounds are beautiful and inviting. I can't wait to visit again!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    4
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great wines - Awesome grounds”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very generous with the pour. Large amount of variety. Staff really knows their wines. You can stay and linger for a very long time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good wines, helpful staff, kid friendly”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited Castoro Cellars as part of a California trip which included several wineries. Castoro has a number of less expensive wines, and as we are on a budget, we included them on our list of visits. We were not disappointed. The tasting room was not busy, which helped, but we were still treated to a lot of good attention and information by our taster (Angela, I think!) She was very helpful as we navigated the wine options. She also offered our daughter grape juice - and even seconds on that! Castoro is one of a few wineries that also make their own juice, and even include the grapes used on the label

The tasting room was nicely appointed, and the building had an intriguing entryway. The wines were good - we tend to prefer semi-sweet wines, and most of their better (more expensive) wines were the dryer reds. Still, they have an excellent white zinfandel, and some other sweeter wines, so we came away with a case of wine and two bottles of grape juice.

Well worth the stop - good wines, good service, good location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh Grape Juice for kids!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We thought all wineries in Paso Robles offer fresh grape juice to kids, we thought wrong! This is the only place that offers fresh grape juice that is made from wine grapes. $6 a bottle for sale and it tastes so fresh and sweet!

Beautiful and lushy site for view, including a gallery for event. Nice staff and complementary tasting. Wine quality's average, but we bagged 2 bottles of fresh grape juice home!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WingCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A wide selection of wine at reasonable prices. Among the wines we really liked was the Zinfusion. Lovely winery, with the walk from the parking lot up a gentle slope lined with beautiful flowers, so reminiscent of Italy. The people were very nice, especially our server Sherry, and made us feel very welcome.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castoro Cellars also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Castoro Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing