We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There was a mouse in my room!”
Review of JUST Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
JUST Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Bordeaux Room at the Just Inn had a mouse during our stay. It kept us up at night with its gnawing. The hostess did not warn us about the mouse even though they knew about it. It scared our friend. It left droppings everywhere.
We had ONE bar of soap the first night and the hostess forgot to have the extra bed made. Not too comfortable for our friend since housekeeping had gone home before we discovered our problem. The second night was better. Everything was corrected, except the mouse. Third night was better. My husband found a mose trap and managed to kill the mouse. We slept better that night.
The Bordeaux Room is about a 1/2 mile from the other three rooms where the rest of our party stayed in the Sussex Room. WE should have been informed of this fact. It was a pain coordinating with all our party. No cell service, either. The pool was very dirty at the main part of the Inn.
The meals at breakfast and Deborah's Room were excellent.
We were given three bottles of wine, 10% off our bill, and no charge for our extra occupant in the Bordeaux Room. No enough for my satisfaction!
Margaret Blacksmith, 310-376-5197, MABlacksmi@aol.com

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winetaster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Dauterman, Retail Sales Manager at JUST Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2009

We appreciate your feedback and value your thoughts. The Bordeaux suite is a beautiful suite set in a very unique setting above our Chardonnay tank room and it offers guests a true winery experience.

Before your stay, the nearby vines had recently been plowed which disturbed the mice. However, there is never an excuse for mice in our guest rooms! I am VERY sorry you had to deal with this issue during your stay. We have taken the appropriate action to prevent this from happening in the future.

Additionally, the maintenance staff have been notified about your complaint regarding the pool and that issue has been addressed as well.

The innkeepers have also been asked to ensure that any parties staying in the Bordeaux suite with friends in Sussex, Tuscany, or Provence be notified that Bordeaux is 1/2 mile down the road located in one of our winery buildings which are separate from our hospitality center.

Unfortunately, due to our rural location there isn't anything we can do about cell phone service. However, we do provide phones in each of the guest rooms.

I believe the JUST Inn is one of the most charming, unique, and well kept properties in the county. We strive to provide a unique and exceptional guest experience and I am very sorry about the issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for your feedback, all of the issues you brought up have been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2008

What a place! After a long day's drive from Healdsburg - big mistake to do that much driving in one day, we finally got into Paso Robles, only to discover that the Inn is another 15 winding miles away. A beautiful drive out to the Inn, despite our weariness. Perfect for a convertible.

I don't know about the reviews from 4 years ago, but our experience with both the hotel and Deborah's Room, the restaurant, were phenomenal. When we arrived, we checked into the Tuscany room, which is upstairs and has the best view of the vineyards. There was a chilled bottle of Justin chardonnay waiting for us. During dinner, the waiter was very helpful, and repeatedly offered to pour tastes of other wines to compare with what we had ordered. There are only 4 tables in the restaurant, so it is quiet and peaceful.

The included breakfast the next morning was in an outdoor covered area. The multi-course breakfast was delicious.

Everytrhing about Just Inn - the room, food, wine, views - was high quality, making it easy to relax and enjoy your time there

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sccarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We just returned from a long weekend stay in the Tuscany Suite at the Just Inn Bed & Breakfast. This is our first time staying in the Paso Robles area and we rate this as one in our top ten. The service is excellent and the grounds beautiful. We found our room, the Tuscany suite immaculate and the decor romantic . Everything about the room is excellent and I am very picky, one can easily call me a hotel snob.

Since this was an anniversary celebration (#14), we dined in Deborah's Room Saturday evening. The chef, William Torres, did an outstanding job. Our food was perfect and the service excellent.

I could go on and on but need to mark some dates for our return visit. This place is in a class all it;s own!

Lisa and Cary
Westlake Village, CA

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaWLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Salinas Valley, CA
19
Reviewed October 17, 2004

Just Inn was once fun and innovative. The decor was beautiful and the food awesome for an out of the way Inn. The overall experience was like being in France. However, we feel the owners have now neglected the inn and the restaurant. It seems their only concern is money and building their own huge chateau on the hill. The rooms are now too lived in, things don't work, fixtures and sinks need to be changed out due to their poor quality water. Better to go into Paso Robles for a nice french dinner than eat a substandard meal at the inn. I hope they come back down to earth and do what they did so well in the past.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Dauterman, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at JUST Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2009

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at the JUST Inn. We have undergone a number of changes since your visit nearly 5 years ago including complete renovations of the JUST Inn and a number of staff changes. I believe we have the best chef and staff in town and I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit. We value your feedback and appreciate your concerns. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2004

I have stayed at the Just Inn 4 times now. When I first started going there about 5 years ago, the place was nice and quaint and served wonderful (inventive) food. The chef from that time, however, left sometime ago and since then there have been 2 or 3 that have come and gone. The food now seems rather boring and the menu repeats itself if you stay there longer than a couple of days. The quaintness and charm has also diminished quite a bit. They feel alot less concerned about the comfort of their guests as with building their little Justin empire.

The last time we went there, the door knob to the Sussex suite broke off while my wife and I were inside (trapped). We had to wait a good hour before anyone came to help us. When they did, Justin Baldwin (the proprietor) put a long screw into the door and asked us to use that to open and close the door (which meant that we had to leave the door open all throughout the night and earlier that day). This meant that we couldn't leave the premises without compromising the safety of our valuables. They never even offered to take a cent off of our bill

11  Thank milhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Dauterman, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at JUST Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2009

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at the JUST Inn and Deborah’s Room Restaurant. I’m sorry you did not fully enjoy your visit. Our new chef is simply phenomenal and I can tell you with great confidence that the menu is once again wonderful and inventive. In the nearly 5 years since your visit, we’ve undergone a complete renovation of our rooms and we apologize for the issue you experienced with your doorknob. I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to Paso Robles. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mandeville LA
15
Reviewed June 18, 2004

Just Inn located within the Justin Vineyards and Winery is a undiscovered dream come true. There are three wonderful suites with beautiful marble baths, heavenly linens, murals on the ceiling and breathtaking views of the vineyards. Our suite had a delightful sitting room with overstuffed furniture and a balcony overlooking the vineyards. In addition to the spectacular rooms, the true bonus is the opportunity to dine at Justin Vineyards in their small (5 tables) restaurant , "Deborah's Room". This is an extra-special treat as most bed and breakfast in the area do not have a restaurant. This opulent french Country dining room at the iwnery has a daily changing regional menu with current and vintage wines that can be paired with the food. A hint; join the Justin Wine Society (free) and get a discount on the room. Unbelievable 3 course breakfast the next morning and then on to the tasting room to sample Justin Winery's award winning wines. The stay at Justin Winery's Just Inn made our entire trip to the Central Coast Wine Region a dream come true.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
12.4 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
660 reviews
13 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
12 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
12.1 mi away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
491 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JUST Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JUST Inn

Address: 11680 Chimney Rock Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9792
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: $375 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the elegance, style and natural beauty of California’s Central Coast at the JUST Inn®. Surrounded by vineyards, our JUST Inn Suites offer luxurious appointments like fireplaces, Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, and Frette linens. An overnight stay includes breakfast and a tour of the winery and caves. Three of our JUST Inn Suites are located within walking distance to our Tasting Room and Restaurant. Our 1,400 square foot French country townhouse, the Vintner’s Villa, located ¼ of a mile from our Tasting Room, includes a full kitchen and dining room, surrounded by vineyards and a working winery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your JUST Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Just Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing