We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and great owner!”
Review of Asuncion Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asuncion Ridge
Ranked #17 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our very first time at this B&B and we just loved it! Philip is a great guy, there isn't anything he can't do! From B&B owner to winemaker to great chef to musician, he's done it all and it was wonderful to be on the receiving end of all his talents. First, the place itself is a little piece of heaven. It is about a 20 min drive from 101, up picturesque and windy hills until you reach the very top where the house has spectacular views out toward Morro Bay and the surrounding hills. You really feel like you are away from it all. Our room was comfy and had a little patio area. There is no TV in the room but we honestly didn't miss it one bit. It was nice to soak in the large tub and read a good book in the comfy queen bed. The common areas are great to hang out in as well, particularly the outdoor areas. Philip prepares a great breakfast each morning and you have your choice of eating it inside or outside. We ended up on the outside patio with the great views, chatting with our fellow guests. There are 3 rooms and even though they are near each other, we never heard our neighbors and it was all very quiet. It would be great to reserve all 3 rooms with friends so you can have the whole place to yourselves. We might do this next time!

Philip is also a wonderful winemaker! We stopped by his tasting room in Downtown Paso and just loved his wines. Even if you don't stay here, definitely visit the room and give his great wines a try.

It may be a little bit more of a trek to get to Paso (it's another 10 mins up 101 once you get down to the freeway ) but it is SO worth it!! The drive itself goes by so quickly because there are so many things to see along the way, especially the Texas longhorns! Phillip's hospitality, great cooking and fantastic place make it a very memorable getaway. We will be back! Thanks Philip!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iluv2traveli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We've stayed at Asuncion Ridge with friends for the past four Memorial Day weekends. Twice we rented all 3 rooms and had the place to ourselves. The first time just the hubby and I, and most recently with friends - their third Memorial Day getaway with us.

As soon as we get home, we all want to book the next year!

The three bedrooms are all different sizes, nicely appointed, wonderful linens, great art, stunning views. We have dibs on the largest and most expensive room, the Pinot Noir Suite - 1,000 feet of luxury. King sized bed. The bath (huge tub and glassed in shower are stunning, with oak tree views and plenty of privacy. The Zinfanfel and Syrah suites are smaller, but no less stunning.

The common areas leave enough room for everyone to sit together, sipping some of Philip Krumal's excellent Asuncion Ridge wines and chatting. There is alwaqys an open bottle, and some almonds and other snacks out. A bonus is when Phillip is there joining in the conversation. He is one of the reasons to stay here. Gregarious, interesting, winemaker, innkeeper, tender of herb garden, musician. You'll be friends before you leave.

On the first night, Philip asks what time everyone would like breakfast the next morning, and the first time, asks about any diet restrictions, preferences, etc.

In the morning, 2 French Presses and coffee grounds waiting for the early risers. Boil the water, make your own 2 pots. Once everyone is up and about, a buffet of that fabulous french press coffee in a big carafe, fruit juices, yogurts, fresh berries and melon and granola are laid out with plates, glasses, silverware on a white flowing tablecloth on a buffet off the kitchen.

Everyone sits together at the large table (tho' on our first trip - just the two of us - another couple opted to sit on the patio overlooking Morro Rock 8 miles down the mountain. I can't blame them, it's a gorgeous view.

Soon, the aroma of some savory, eggy delight wafts through the house. This year we had three breakfasts, so three different baked dishes. First one was a ramekin filled with a crustless quiche of pancetta and gruyere, next morning Chorizo (usually vegetarian) and pepper jack,and last morning we had a new creation. New this year was French Toast 4.0. Rather than the previous slices of eggy french toast folded over blueberries or some other fruit, 4.0 was a bread puddingy baked treat with apples and cinnamon in the middle, French toast points imbedded in the eggs. Not too sweet, even tho' it was apple pie apples.

The wines (will cover in my review of the tasting room) in downtown Paso Robles are scrumptious.Sometimes there is a port waiting after you return from dinner or a long day of adventures.

The winery inn is fabulous, nestled among ancient oaks, long-horned cattle that graze on neighboring property (most of the time) and are worth a photo stop on the winding road to the inn. The inn location and vineyards enjoy a 2,200 feet elevation, so the Asuncion Ridge wine club is appropriately named the 1/2 Mile High Club. It's perched in the southern end of the Santa Lucia mountains with a vast view to the west, including sunset and Morro Rock 8 miles away.

It's a 30 or so minute drive to downtown Paso Robles, and a 40 minute drive to Cambria on the Pacific Ocean from the Inn. So it's a perfect place to set up housekeeping for visits to the fabulous west-side and far west wineries nearby. Just ask Philip, and he'll suggest a day or two's worth of excellent wineries to visit. Or just bring a book and nestle into one of the inside cubbyholes or outside sunny or shady patios, and lose yourself in contemplation. I do both on every visit!

Perched in the southern end of the Santa Lucia mountains

Room Tip: Rent all three rooms with friends, and take the place over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our second trip to Asuncion Ridge and Paso Robles. Our stay was as fabulous as the first time (Refer to review of May 2011). Fabulous accomodations with a beautiful view. Phil is a wonderful host providing the perfect amount of privacy and hospitality. We had the entire house to ourself. He had no problem with us making an appetizer tray from our purchases in a local shop to enjoy on the veranda for sunset. His B & B is a challenging drive that is well worth it. We find we don't want to leave once we arrives. We also completely enjoyed his tasting room in Paso. This will not be our last visit.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Syrah suite. No fireplace but a cozy little balcony with a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarpeVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I planned a birthday weekend trip for my girlfriend and our best friends and relied solely on what I read and researched online which can be nerve racking but the Yelp Reviews were 100 % correct: Phillip is the warmest, sweetest, most considerate host/ wine maker I have met. His Inn is beautiful on all levels. We had dinner at Schnooners Wharf on the beach of Cayucos which I would also recommend. The drive is a little adventure in itself but the pay off is the feeling of being so close to the stars that deep conversations are instore as well as the pointing out of at leaset 5 shooting stars. The area has a lot of wineries and the beach is also close. We found ourselves stalling to leave the inn and making excuses to come back just to sit on the deck with Phillip's incredible Pinot Noirs. Needless to say--we will be back and we will be referring anyone who is heading to the area. Thanks Phillip :)

Room Tip: You cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenCali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We wanted a B&B instead of the usual motels in Paso. We found Philip's inn by recommendation and were not disappointed. He is a gracious and friendly host. The inn is on a hilltop surrounded by sun, sea, stars, lovely old oaks, and gardens planted by Philip.
We arrived to a welcoming glass of Asuncion Ridge Pinot Noir---we too brought his wine home.
The house is large and beautifully decorated in Tuscan style befittting the surrounding hillside. The entire house is open to guests and very comfortable for reading, napping, talking with other guests, or gazing at the view.
We enjoyed the drive up the hill from the 101. The speed limit is slow which makes it easy to see turkey, hawks and deer as you work your way up the hill. The drive to Paso Robles is very easy.
Book your room at this inn. Philip will make sure that you are not disappointed---we did like the fact that he took time to sit with us and tell us how he came to own this lovely place--a very good story.

Room Tip: All three guest rooms are well done---we picked the Zinfandel because it had a walk in shower as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosesRosesRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My fiance and I were eloping and wanted a private, romantic location. Philip definitely went above and beyond to make this trip amazing for us. The stunning views were just the beginning of this magical land where cows graze, Morro Bay is visible over the hills, and the cozy, Tuscan-style b&b invites you to relax. Not only did Philip upgrade our room, provide a bottle of champagne for us following our vow ceremony, but really made us feel welcome, like a part of the family. It was such a delight to wake up every morning to a beautiful breakfast (french toast omelet!!), french press coffee and wonderful conversation. And the wine.... Barrel Select Pinot Noir.. there is nothing like it! Thank you, Philip, for everything!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalri66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Booked a room for my wife's birthday based on reviews and we were not disapointed. The room/bed was very comfortable and the house has been well designed for guests and is very well decorated. It was a little inclimate on Saturday due to a system that rolled through on the night before but on Sunday we got a great view as you can see all the way Morro Rock an the ocean.

Philip was a great host and made a couple of awesome breakfasts and in the evening he puts out a sampling of his fine wine which we enjoyed so much we brought about a case home after visitng the tasting room in Paso. It's just under a 20 minute drive upfrom 101 but well worth it.

Do yourself a favor a book a stay at the Assuncion Ridge Inn. You'll avoid the hotel crowds, get an awesome view of the Central Coast,great food and wine and some relaxation. Plus it's an easy drive into Paso if you want to sample some of the local eateries for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.1 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,545 reviews
1.8 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cheval
Hotel Cheval
#1 of 18 in Paso Robles
454 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sundance Bed and Breakfast
Sundance Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
166 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asuncion Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asuncion Ridge

Address: 725 12th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2206
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just thirty minutes from our downtown tasting room,is our 320 Acre vineyard estate with luxury suites, stunning ocean and forest vistas and gormet meals. Complimentary wine tasting and discounts at our downtown tasting room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing