We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Hill-Top B&B on a Vineyard!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“An Incredible Hill-Top B&B on a Vineyard!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

To celebrate our 18th Anniversary, my husband and I decided to take a road-trip up to Paso Robles for some wine tasting. We found Ann and George’s B&B on TripAdvisor.com. Seeing Rave reviews, we were lucky to make a reservation for two nights at a short notice. We did see the One bad review that a city slicker from Los Angeles posted. He seemed to have trouble driving on dirt roads in the dark…next time; he should perhaps just stay at the Hampton Inn right off of the 46—there are a lot of lights and paved roadways there.

We look for peaceful unique places, and this B&B situated on the Rancho de Voladores Vineyard is one of them. We planned accordingly and made it to their place just before sunset. The scenery was awesome as the sun peeked through the oak trees and bathed the fields of grapevines softly. The directions given to us were accurate, while our GPS helped us see the roads we were driving on.

Ann, George and Roxy their very friendly ‘guard dog’ greeted us warmly. They all proceeded to give us a tour of their lovely home and then we unloaded our things. We stayed in The Loft room. It was very spacious, tidy and had all the amenities we expected. The flat screen in our room had great satellite reception and the wifi worked perfectly. There was a bottle of Justin wine along with cheese, crackers and fruit waiting for us to enjoy.

My husband took a nap after the long drive, while I took a little hike down the dirt road to watch the sun set and listen to the birds singing their night songs. We don’t have Robins in the desert, so it was nice to hear them warbling. There was an owl hooting in the distance, I thought it was my husband goofing around, but it was a real owl that I was listening to. Never seeing wild turkeys before, I enjoyed hearing their ‘gobbling’ whilst they were walking up to their nightly tree roosts. You could hear their wings flapping so they could fly up into the trees to perch for the night. When I got back from my hike, George explained this all to me, since I didn't know about the turkeys or their nighttime activities.

We slept like babies at this peaceful at this hilltop house. There were no trains, helicopters, planes or automobiles to be heard. It was almost too quiet. The bed was incredibly comfortable with its very soft sheets made by The Comphy Co. (We will certainly buy some of the same sheets and pillowcases for our home.) The bathroom was fully stocked with towels and other essentials. We couldn't believe how the hot water worked so quickly! The shower-head in the shower could use a little tweaking though.

George was the chef and made delicious breakfasts. He also makes a Great virgin bloody Mary, which I enjoyed immensely. My husband, who’s not a fan of this drink, even liked it. I’ll attach a photo of the dining room. You’ll see it’s nicely appointed and is adorned by beautiful paintings created by various members of their family. George and Ann joined us for breakfast where we had delightful conversations about travel, the B&B's history as well as suggestions of wineries for us to visit.

We totally enjoyed our stay and Ann and George’s place, we hated to leave, but will plan to return some day and stay a little longer than a weekend!

Thank you Ann and George for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home in the middle of paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanie_Balonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
89
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We recently traveled to the Paso Robles area, March 2014, and booked our stay with Ann and George. It was the best choice we could have ever made. All the previous reviews are spot on, except for the one where the couple had a hard time finding their home. We found their home easily in the dark and in the rain to boot!! All roads and signs are well marked to their property.
Ann and George are the most delightful and interesting people. They take pride in their home, property, and vineyard, which are all beautiful! They have stunning views of the vineyard from their hilltop home. We were welcomed into their home with a tour, and a bottle of wine and cheese plate waiting for us! We stayed in their queen bedroom/bathroom, which has a private entrance near the front door of their home. The room was perfect for us: a comfortable queen bed, mirrored closet with 2 bath robes, bathroom with shower, shampoo etc, sitting area, coffee pot, coffee/tea, chocolates, nuts, IHOME, CD player, writing desk, dresser, magazines, books. Everything was thought of! There is no TV or phone in the room. Wifi worked well from the living area. Their other guest room is upstairs in their home, which is quite large to accommodate more guests- queen bed, 2 twins, sitting area, and bathroom. George cooked us a delicious gourmet breakfast both days. We enjoyed talking with the both of them at breakfast and in the evening about their vineyard, family, and life!! Thanks Ann and George for a most relaxing and welcoming stay. We hope to come back again!! 5 stars to you!

Room Tip: Single room for a couple. Larger room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Ann and George went out of their way to make sure we had a fantastic experience. Staying with them is like being welcomed into their family. If you like quaint places off the beaten path and a real, personal, family experience you will love Ann and George's.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahummell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

What an incredible first B&B experience for our weekend getaway to the Paso Wind Country this summer. We found Ann & George’s through an internet search and WOW, what a great experience. From the minute you drive up you feel like you are visiting close friends or family. You are welcomed the minute you drive up the driveway, not only by your hostess, Ann, but Roxy the dog, who is all smiles and very sweet. Not only are Ann & George so welcoming – beware of the breathtaking views from their beautiful home perched on top of a hill. You have endless views over the rolling hills and vineyards of Paso – so gorgeous and peaceful.

The private entry room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. It was not missing a single amenity. The bed was very comfortable and …ooh…such soft, comfy sheets. Everything is very clean and well-kept – there is even a coffee machine in the room. The thoughtfulness abounds as you enter the room - there is a bottle of wine and a cheese, fruit, and cracker platter waiting for you to enjoy. Yum! It does not stop there with the good food. Each morning you are served a plentiful and delicious breakfast – not a detail is missed.

Just one word of caution – since Ann & George's house is perched on top of a hill, off the main highway and roads, be sure to follow the directions on the website. Watch carefully for their strategically-placed signs to direct you, and if at all possible try to get there before nightfall the first time you arrive.

Don’t miss a stay at Ann & George’s B&B - you'll have a truly unforgettable B&B experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Anyone who has viewed Ann & George's website might notice my comment written about six years ago after a one-night stay. Well, we did go back .... at least two times a year since then, and with each visit to Ann and George the experience just gets richer.

Paso Robles in a great town and wine-growing region to visit, with miles of almost-empty country roads to explore, and breath-taking views. The crowning pleasure for us is always staying with Ann and George. The anticipation starts when we wind our way up the hill and through the vineyard; it just feels as if you're going somewhere off the beaten track - somewhere special. Then comes the welcome, the comfortable guest room, the treats, the delicious breakfasts, and not least of all, Ann and George's own unique gift for drawing out their guests. It all makes us glad we've come to Paso Robles once again.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is perfect for couples; the upstairs room good for friends or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed with Ann and George three times now, and are looking forward to a fourth! They are kind, knowledgeable, and warm. Their house is gorgeous, and it's accompanying beautiful scenery is one of a kind! The breakfasts are fantastic and their dog Roxy is as sweet as sugar. This is your perfect Paso Robles B&B. Quiet and secluded, but only 15min away from town. If you're into "Warm Welcomes" and great company, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadesRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I came down for a friends sons wedding and were treated like royalty by Ann and George. The room was awesome, spacious and the bed sheets were the best! The rooms and house was built in the last 10 years, which was designed and built by George and others. The rooms are spacious and decorated with charm and delight. The views are fantastic, food wonderful, they even lit a fire for us Saturday night under the most georgous night of stars. We hiked around their vineyard to another hill with yet even more beautiful views of the valleys. I recommend their B & B to anyone who wants to relax, delight in wonderful views, quite times and prepare to be pampered by Ann and George.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunning Ranch Guest Suites
Dunning Ranch Guest Suites
#23 of 30 in Paso Robles
22 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 30 in Paso Robles
117 reviews
9.8 mi away
High Ridge Manor
High Ridge Manor
#9 of 30 in Paso Robles
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
CaliPaso Inn
CaliPaso Inn
#21 of 30 in Paso Robles
6 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#2 of 30 in Paso Robles
171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Summerwood Winery & Inn
Summerwood Winery & Inn
#5 of 30 in Paso Robles
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1965 Niderer Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9652
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located on Rancho de Voladores Vineyard located on eighty secluded acres of some of Paso Robles most beautiful mountain country. Whether green in the spring or golden in the fall, the views are enhanced by faraway mountains, open vineyards and nearby oak trees. Spacious quarters with private baths. Full style breakfast served on deck, weather permitting. Wine and snacks provided. Peace and quiet are two of our favorite amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing