We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on top of the vineyard”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Driving up the valley by Anne and George's map (You'll need it. Not every GPS can pinpoint this spot.), we laughed about the imposing white home topping the highest hill. "Wouldn't it be something if that was it?" Well, surprise. It WAS, and well worth the trek.
The house, view, and guest room with private entrance were superb , but Anne and George's hospitality trumped it all. (Nice surprise to see a bottle of wine, cheese & crackers, fruits and so on they provided in the guest room) Their preferred itinerary of tastings and eateries was also perfect. They give you coupons for free wine tasting and wine purchase discount of many wineries.
They were out when we returned from dinner. A couple of hours on their deck in exquisite darkness and quiet were reminiscent of childhood desert camping and mid-ocean sailing. Working wifi was a plus, too. A treasure in their garage is a 1934 Ford pickup, converted from a Borden dairy van, George's father's legacy.
The delicious breakfast on the deck overlooking their vineyard was fantastic!
Until seeing a negative review about a few meters of unimproved road, it hadn't occurred to us. True, it is not a paved lane, just like every private drive and parking lot we visited. Vineyards are back country, as Anne and George's security gate makes clear. A little limestone dust is a badge of honor. If people laughed and pointed at us going over Sepulveda Pass, our rejoinder was, "But we were at Anne and George's and you weren't."

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalBluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Can you say home sweet home? Who wouldn't want to wake up to a scrumptious homemade breakfast on a gorgeous vineyard and be close to all there is to do in Paso Robles? There aren't enough words to describe this B&B. Just go and stay there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangeRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just returned from Cali 2 days ago, where we had the pleasure of spending 2 nights with Ann and George (and Roxy) :) What an amazing couple they are! Ann is so spunky, pleasant and full of fire. George's very laid back but with a sharp sense of humor and golden hands, the breakfast king! We stayed in the bigger of the 2 rooms, felt like staying at your grandma's, really. So clean, so homy, so welcoming with roosters to wake you up.
We arrived late the first night (with NO TROUBLE DRIVING UP THE LAST 1/2 MILE OF THE ROAD) and were starving, but right there in our room was a tray with fruits, crackers, cheese and a bottle of Justin's cab. In the morning we were treated to a beautiful and delicious breakfast with freshly baked scones and freshly squeezed orange juice amongst another things. We spent a lovely afternoon relaxing on the patio with a glass of wine overlooking the vineyard at sunset, quite an experience. We had to leave early the next morning and couldn't stay for breakfast, but Ann and George met us to try and give us so coffee and some food to go. Lovely lovely couple with a great home!
Thank you very much!
Marina and Roman

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms - ours could sleep 4 (the bigger one), not sure about the smaller one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 04elan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just spent a delightful weekend ( July 20,21) at Ann and George's lovely B&B overlooking their beautiful vineyard. They are a wonderful and inspiring couple who truly care about their guests and see to every amenity and comfort! We stayed in the "guest room" and it was perfect ( a comfortable bed with windows overlooking the vineyard. And, all the little "extras", a bowl of chocolate candies, a container of delicious mixed nuts,a coffee pot with "real" coffee and best of all( for "wino's" like us) a full botlle of really good wine, plus ( each evening) a tray of delicious assorted cheeses, fruit, and homemade cookies! To top it all off, George's breakfasts' were fabulous and the fact that they join their guests for the meal adds a greater opportunity to learn what a lovely couple they are! Carolyn and Paul Hemann

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinnyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have stayed in B & Bs from the Olympic peninsula of Washington to St. Augustine, Florida, and from Cape Cod to Santa Fe. This is BY FAR the best B & B experience in the nation. The fact that it is in our favorite wine region is a plus, but the hospitality of Ann and George is worth the visit even if (horrors) you do not like fine wine. We have stayed with them twice and will hope to do so again the next time we can sneak back to California.

We saw the ONE grouse about the road to the B & B. Please understand that this is a hilly wine region and Ann and George's house is on a hill. And thank goodness because the grounds and the view are beautiful. It does not take a four wheel drive or a sherpa to get there. This "upper 60's" driver,in our basic two wheel drive rental car,has survived numerous trips up (and even down!) the hill without permanent trauma. Can't wait to do it again! THANKS, FRIENDS!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IronHorse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We found this delightful bed and breakfast while doing a search online for lodging and are we glad we did! We were welcomed with open arms by the warmest couple ever to run a B&B. Ann and George made us feel like part of their family during our entire visit. The drive up there is a beautiful journey up a long country road, complete with deer sightings and numerous turkey crossings. When you get to the top, you have reached a small slice of heaven. The view is spectacular and the rooms are comfy, clean and cozy. Breakfast each morning was deliciously made with love by George and served on the spacious deck overlooking the vineyard. There was always a nice fruit and cheese platter waiting for us when we got home and their friendly dog Roxy was a sweet addition to the experience. We look forward to future visits to Paso Robles and this bed and breakfast will be top on our lodging list! Tami and Tracey

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed July 4th and 5th at this lovely B & B. I can't say enough good things about it. First off, Ann and George are delightful. I feel as though they are our friends now. Their home is beautifully decorated. The rooms are spotless and they didn't miss a thing. Their breakfasts are wonderful. They leave a cheese and fruit tray for you every night. They welcome you into their home graciously. Going there is a great experience! Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
7.1 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
5.6 mi away
Inn Paradiso
Inn Paradiso
#9 of 30 in Paso Robles
141 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 30 in Paso Robles
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
High Ridge Manor
High Ridge Manor
#6 of 30 in Paso Robles
145 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sundance Bed and Breakfast
Sundance Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1965 Niderer Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9652
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: $190 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located on Rancho de Voladores Vineyard located on eighty secluded acres of some of Paso Robles most beautiful mountain country. Whether green in the spring or golden in the fall, the views are enhanced by faraway mountains, open vineyards and nearby oak trees. Spacious quarters with private baths. Full style breakfast served on deck, weather permitting. Wine and snacks provided. Peace and quiet are two of our favorite amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing