We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived around 11pm . The parking area made me feel a little apprehensive , it's very cramped with the vending machines in the corner . This didn't look like the classy section of Pasadena ! The fellow at the desk was friendly and emphasized that we did indeed want a non smoking room . The building looks a little old , but as we walked in the room looked fine . The smell of cleaning supplies was a bit strong at first , but we didn't notice after a few moments . It was quite spacious and had a decent sized flat screen TV . Water pressure for showers was great , AC worked fine and was quiet . The beds were a little hard , but we found them comfortable .
The same guy checked us out in the morning , both he and the maid were very nice to us . Getting to our car , the lot still looked odd , but not as dicey as the previous night . The spots are so narrow I almost had to go thru the passenger door to get in/out . The guy did warn us that parking on the street was illegal after a certain time . As the morning sun shone on the street the area didn't look as bad as the night before .
After always staying near Disneyland , this was a nice change to try a different area . I loved driving around Pasadena and will definitely stay here again in the future .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    23
    16
    21
See reviews for
21
13
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was surprised for the price point that everything in our room was new. New flat screen, new fridge, new microwave, new single-cup coffeemaker. The room was also very large.

The down side was the bed was too hard for us. That may be personal taste, but it was the hardest hotel bed I've been in possibly ever.

Our overall experience was very good.

Parking was easy - right under the building.
Elevators worked fine.
Lobby smells a bit like Indian cooking but the room did not - our room smelled fine.
Breakfast was as much or more than one expects at this price point - cereal, milk, muffins, breads, juice and crackers.

We'd consider staying here again, especially with such a great location, but may bring our foam top (we typically drive to LA) for bed comfort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieDSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there for our recent LA trip and had a below average experience
1. Sub standard interiors and furniture
2. No service, even to call someone at the reception you need to ring a bell
3. Breakfast was as good as not being there. Only corn flakes and bread with cold milk
4. You can smell smoke in the lobby
5. Front desk guy was not polite and was not willing to talk or greet us or anything.

You can find a lot better hostels in this price range.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Rodeway Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. We take our reviews very seriously.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• The front office staff has been given special training to ensure the best hospitality to our guests.

• The quality and quantity of the breakfast has been sumptuously enhanced.

• The maintenance staff have checked all rooms and confirmed that they are up-to-date in all respects.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose us for your stay and you can feel the change.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Easy check in process, let me check in early. Noticed as I got there, no real stores nearby. Liquor store across the street and a Kentucky Fried Chicken few doors down. Room was nice and roomy, clean and nice firm soft bed. Ask for extra towels which I got quickly. Nice housekeeping staff, everyone I came in contact with was nice. Small breakfast presentation, very basic. All and All a good visit

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for three nights whilst the Breeders Cup horse racing was on at Santa Anita race track.I had a queen room, it was clean , had coffee maker , a fridge and a microwave, the bathroom was a good size with a sower/tub combo.The free breakfast consisted of coffee , juice, cereals , croissants and apples. Next door is a KFC and within walking distance is a 7/11 ,Dennys and the Colorado bar. The bed was firm but comfortable the pillows were light but as i was on my own this was not a problem. There are no room safes or safety deposit boxes available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gigmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF,CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

You get what you pay for. I had to make a last minute trip to SoCal and needed a place for a very short amount of time. I was driving in from SF, checking in at around 2AM and would check out by 9:30AM. I pretty much just needed a place to sleep. I'm not one of those people that's just fine with a bed though. Yes, that's all I really needed, but I'm also a bit of a clean freak. It's a no frills kind of place, which is what I anticipated. I didn't expect a grandiose lobby with fresh flowers and a perky receptionist to greet me upon my arrival. I paid $80 for my stay so I knew I'd be getting the basics. The reception area is as big as some walk-in closets and the front counter has a bullet proof glass separating you from the attendant. I'm still ok at this point, mind you. I set my expectations very low since the reviews I read on different sites were so varied. I rang the bell and a man who is half awake (forgiveable since I arrived at 2AM) appeared behind the glass. Check in was quick and we were off to our room. This is where I cringe a little bit. The hallways are drab and need to be vaccuumed. When I walk into my room I'm hit with a strong scent of cleaning products. While the dead bolt on the door works, the latch is completely broken. I don't know why it's even there when it can't serve its purpose. The dangling latch made me feel a bit uneasy but what can I do? The comforters look very dated and have likely not been cleaned in a long time. The sheets were so rough that it made it so hard to move around in bed. The towels are just the same and had a very strong scent of bleach. On the bright side, I guess that means they clean them well? Check out was a breeze. As instructed, we just left our key in the room and left. I doubt I'll ever be back again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ensemble120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
All of our rooms are practically the same, except for the bed size. We at the Rodeway Inn & Suites clean all the rooms with the same cleaning supplies, and we have the same amenities in all the rooms. We keep are rooms as clean as possible and do change are sheets everyday. I do apologize for the deadbolt, sometimes the maids forget to tell the manager. We try are hardest to satisfy all the customers and try to do our best, but some customers will always have bad things to say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

while the picture of this place looks good the room we got was awful, it was dark, and the smell was unbearable. whatever cleaning solution they used to clean the room and floors was just too strong and impossible to tolerate.

didnt stay more than 15 mins and decided to check out and go to another hotel. i cant comment on the amenities, bed, coffee maker, etc. didnt in the room long enough

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotravelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We at the Rodeway Inn & Suites keep all of our rooms neat and clean. Sometimes customers smell the perfume and don't like it, but we use that in all are rooms, so we are sorry if you didn't like the scent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Pasadena
Ramada Pasadena
#22 of 31 in Pasadena
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Pasadena Civic Auditorium
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Reve Pasadena
Hotel Le Reve Pasadena
#18 of 31 in Pasadena
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Pasadena / Arcadia
2.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area
Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area
#16 of 31 in Pasadena
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena
Address: 2860 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91107-4315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn & Suites® is just 10 miles from Chinatown and Hollywood, and minutes from downtown Los Angeles. Popular area attractions like the Pasadena Convention Center, the Pasadena Civic auditorium and the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory are close by. A number of outdoor recreation areas, entertainment venues and specialty stores are close by. Visitors will enjoy shopping at the nearby Paseo Colorado mall. There are a wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area. Business travelers at this Pasadena, CA hotel will appreciate access to a copy and fax service. In addition to standard amenities, all of our guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers and cable television. Select rooms also have spacious work desks, flat-screen televisions, hot tubs and sofa sleepers. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms can be requested. Guests of the Rodeway Inn & Suites hotel will experience world-class hospitality when staying in the Pasadena area. Our professional staff is ready to assist in making your stay in California a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Rodeway Inn And Suites Pasadena
Rodeway Inn Pasadena
Rodeway Inn Hotel Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing