We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2007

I was not in love with this Ritz. I did write a wonderful review about the Dana Point Ritz that I stayed at in February, but this one did not compare!

I just thought that the renovation wasn't that great. I also got a really small room on the concierge level that overlooked the parking lot (not very happy about that). The service was basic although we did love the concierge staff and thought the staff there was exceptional.

The hotel grounds were beautiful...and I would consider going back for that, but if you don't have a lot of money and you want a really special vacation I could not in good concious recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2006
5  Thank CAtravel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,833 - 1,839 of 1,953 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2007

I stayed here on a conference with my company and it was great. A terrific location if you want to escape the bustle of LA or life in general. The food was always excellent and the staff friendly and attentive. I can reccomend strolling in the grounds, the pool, gym and spa too. Its a short ride to Pasadena old town, which has most high street and designer shops plus lots of good places to eat. Dont stay here if you want to travel to easily to downtown LA, the beach or to be in the centre of the action.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DommieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

The Pasadena Ritz Carlton is a real historic hotel built around 1912 and originally owned by Huntington. Everything inside is modeled around the turn of the century, including the crown moldings, old oil paintings, and high ceilings with chandeliers. Valet parking is $25 night, room service and hotel staff is outstanding, and room decor is high class. They have a nice dinning terrace and restaurant. Sunday brunch is $75 per person, which is very expensive but worth every bit. We stayed at $199 night weekend in a deluxe room with a small balcony overlooking the terrace.

However, hotel location is in the middle of high end multi-million dollar homes in Pasadena and far away from airports, taxi's, and other tourists attractions. Basically, the closest place to visit would be the Rose Bowl, about 5 miles away or old town Pasadena. If you like a nice, quiet, 5 star hotel to get away from the noise and traffic of Southern Cal, the Ritz Carlton is worth considering. But if you're looking for shopping and sightseeing activities, stay near a tourist attraction like Disneyland or Long Beach.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morebang4buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Phenomenal Hotel. Try to get one of the bungalows if you can. Great service, beautiful grounds, fantastic food. Nice little spa.

However, it is an hour from LAX and not close to golf or the beach. Very much a business hotel if you are in the area for that. NOT a vacation destination. It is 20 minutes in traffic just to get to Old Towne Pasadena.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nicebizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Great hotel. Had good corporate rate, otherwise it would be too expensive. Restaurant is good. Bar was fun at night-- live music and a nice scene.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LeisureErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Stayed for a wedding to make it easier. "Booked" a spa treatment online only to never get a response. Got locked out of the room at 1am in the morning because the locks "were old." Had to wait in a 20 minute line to get a new key that still didn't work. Left the next morning after a 45 minute valet line wait. Front desk hotel staff not friendly. For this kind of money, I don't need that kind of abuse. Wrote a complaint to the hotel and never got a response.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank feutze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

great hotel... but only with my corporate discount rate. $145 a weekday night. valet parking only.... rip-off.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugdaddyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
2.1 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,436 reviews
1.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
843 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,299 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: $241 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing