We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, HORRIBLE location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great hotel, HORRIBLE location”
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Phenomenal Hotel. Try to get one of the bungalows if you can. Great service, beautiful grounds, fantastic food. Nice little spa.

However, it is an hour from LAX and not close to golf or the beach. Very much a business hotel if you are in the area for that. NOT a vacation destination. It is 20 minutes in traffic just to get to Old Towne Pasadena.

  • Liked — The grounds are beautiful
  • Disliked — Difficulty in getting there from either LAX or Burbank Airport
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nicebizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    405
    122
    81
    58
See reviews for
488
553
80
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Great hotel. Had good corporate rate, otherwise it would be too expensive. Restaurant is good. Bar was fun at night-- live music and a nice scene.

  • Liked — Classy look
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Stayed for a wedding to make it easier. "Booked" a spa treatment online only to never get a response. Got locked out of the room at 1am in the morning because the locks "were old." Had to wait in a 20 minute line to get a new key that still didn't work. Left the next morning after a 45 minute valet line wait. Front desk hotel staff not friendly. For this kind of money, I don't need that kind of abuse. Wrote a complaint to the hotel and never got a response.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the stay
  • Tips/Secrets — find a cheaper option that will pay more attention to customer service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank feutze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

great hotel... but only with my corporate discount rate. $145 a weekday night. valet parking only.... rip-off.

  • Liked — brand name
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugdaddyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

I recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton Huntington for two separate trips in August.
This is a very nice hotel with nice grounds in a nice neighborhood. However, it is not your typical Ritz. Those who stay at Ritz Carlton's regularly should be aware of some key differences.
However, if you're looking for a high-quality hotel that's a step above the rest, this would be a good choice.

Rooms:
Very well appointed. Standard design and amenities to other Ritz Carltons

Service:
The service is a notch below other Ritz Carltons but still good. The key difference is that many of the workers seem to be young locals, so they may not be as integrated with the Ritz Carlton culture.
Example: A bellman counted his tips right in the middle of the lobby!

Common Areas: The gardens make for a nice walk. And it was nice to see people tossing a football on the main lawn. The pool is smaller than many, but is still very nice and good service

Dining: Exquisite - The Dining Room features award winning quicinse and the Cheff is excellent. The Terrace menu is better than most hotel cafes.
High Tea in The Lobby Lounge was very nice, but service wasn't great.

Overall: The Pasadena area is a fun find. And the Ritz Carlton Huntington is a nice location. Totally recommended, but I can understand that those who regularly stay at 5-star hotels may find room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PlanforFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

My wife and I have been going to this property for the past 5 years. We used to live in LA and would travel out to the Ritz for important events. Three years ago we moved to Florida and have always looked forward to our annual return trips to the Ritz. Over the last 3 years there has been a strong downward shift in the overall service, attention and quality of the property. The only consistency is the lack of real interest there seems to be in treating quests at this supposed 5 star property. This review is based on 3 seperate visits and while one or two infractions can be written off as a bad day, our sum total of 12 days visit only points to a broad accepatance of sub-quality service. On our most recent trip, from the first moment of pulling up to the hotel and waiting a long period for assistance with luggage, which eventually lead to my wife and I just walking in with all our suitcases and no assistance to immediatly shifting rooms because of a serious ant infestation in our bathroom, our trip was horrendous. When informing the front desk of our finding of the ants and the need to change rooms, no one was sent up for 45 minutes which forced us to march down to the front desk and demand an immediate change. We were shifted into a smaller room on a different floor where again, there was an ant problem! While not as bad as the first instance, shoes & slippers were kept on for the duration of our visit. A large can of Raid was purchased and kept in an easy access spot for quick use! There was never even a followup call from the desk to make sure everything was OK with us. Furniture, rugs, a/c equipment all seemed very worn and in need of updates. As peope who has experienced 5 star hotels and resorts all our lives, the ability to compare and critique this property is easy. They want to present the property as a top notch, classy enviornment staffed with experienced people. I beg to differ and will make the trip from Beverly Hills to my business in Pasadena in the future.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Tips/Secrets — go somewhere else, lots of choices
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank invest1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

I was in Pasadena for labor day weekend and stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Huntington Hotel & Spa. I expected this to be a relaxing weekend for my family and myself. What I got instead was a steady stream of weddings I think there was 8 in a period of 48 hours . I could tell that the wedding parties did not like this . The guests of the wedding parties seemed very confused. Many ending up at the wrong banquet room . Also the guests of the hotel had limited services due to all the over-crowding. The rooms are also in need of updating . Stained carpet in room , bathroom was in need of a complete overhaul,not what you would expect from the Ritz . I was told the weddings are a big problem at this hotel all summer long . The pool area is also not that good , small and very crowded . I would not return to this hotel unless these problems are adressed.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaccli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,165 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Property: The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing