We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful space hidden away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful space hidden away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Langham Huntington boasts a great setting. The grounds are spectacular. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean. The pool is large and busy. Hotel guests and spa members all have access to the pool, so on a warm afternoon it can be bustling. While not the quiet sanctuary we had hoped for, it was still a great time.

One drawback: we were on the first floor and while you would think we could enjoy stepping right off our patio onto the beautiful expansive grounds, you would be wrong. Instead, we had the unpleasant view of cars parked all across the grounds. They need to figure out a better way to deal with parking if they are going to require the use of valets and use the grounds as a parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. We would not stay on the first floor again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phdandtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    349
    97
    63
    45
See reviews for
382
437
68
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent two nights at the Langham Huntington at the end of our California cycling trip with Bikestyle Tours. It was a comfortable and relaxing place to spend the final 2 nights of our trip. Despite us walking through the very elegant public areas of the hotel in our cycling clothes and with our bicycles the staff did not make any fuss and were very polite, which is not always the case when a cycling group stays at a "posh" hotel. The grounds are lovely and breakfast by the pool was great during the warm weather of our stay. The streets surrounding the hotel in Pasadena are beautiful, with elegant homes and it's well worth taking time to walk around the local streets and see the historic homes that the area has an abundance of.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HDONTOUR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear HDONTOUR57,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel was a relaxing final destination on your cycling trip. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel… from the grounds, the neighborhood, your breakfast by the pool, and the polite staff. I will definitely share your comments with our team, as they will be so pleased to know that they had such an impact on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best regards,

Christoph Moje
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We arrived as a group of 20 +, our checkin was processed promptly and in a friendly manner. The rooms were a generous size and the air conditioning was quiet.
Our bed was turned down every night we were there.
The breakfast on the terrace did not provide quite the variety I was looking for. ie no oats or yogurt.
However we did ask about oats, and they were promptly supplied, although we did feel that our request was a bit of an inconvenience.
All in all a good place to stay. Live music in the bar was great too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with your group at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your rooms, the live jazz in The Tap Room and the service provided to you throughout your stay, as we truly strive to create great memories for our guests! I regret that The Terrace did not provide the variety you were looking for, but am glad that we were able to provide the oats you requested. Please be assured that I will share your comment with our Director of Food and Beverage and The Terrace Chef to review our menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Yours truly,

Christoph Moje
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Spent a few days at the hotel having meetings on site. Melissa in the event department and Duncan at the front desk took great care of my team and I. The meals were nice at the Terrace and the Royce was a very nice "hotel" steakhouse. Would not hesitate again to hold a meeting on site

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EvanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear EvanR,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena.

I am delighted to know that you and your team enjoyed your time with us and had successful meetings at the hotel. I will be sure to share your kind words with Melissa Selmanson and Duncan Moh, and it's wonderful to know that you felt so well cared for by them both and our very special team of service professionals.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Christoph Moje
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
276 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I grew up near this hotel. We went to brunch regularly thre. Recently, I booked a room while attending a wedding in the area. What a nightmare. There was a mix up on the date and the hotel was unwilling to rectify it. I ended up losing $350. The person I spoke to was so rude and offered no solution. I spend a lot of time traveling and have heard that there are countries where people tend to be rude, but I have NEVER experienced this poor level of service. Stay in old Pasadena and maybe have a cocktail at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank labonnevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Labonnevie,

Thank you for taking the time to relate your experience at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena and for sharing your less than satisfactory experience with us. We value your feedback as it allows our establishment to maintain exceptional levels of service by identifying potential problem areas and correcting them. On behalf of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments you encountered. On a personal note, it is a great professional disappointment when The Langham Huntington, Pasadena fails to deliver the unparalleled level of exceptional service we strive so hard to achieve. We have sent you a private message and hope to have the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your experience.

Sincerely,

Christoph Moje
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at this property when it was a Ritz Carlton. It has since been taken over by the Langham but we were disappointed to note that the Shamrock Cottage (2 bedrooms) we booked was not renovated like the rest of the main hotel. However the worst part of the Shamrock Cottage was that it faced on one side the main hotel (so the bedroom was very dark and visible from the outside) and on the other side the trash facility for the hotel. I cannot imagine having the priviledge of staying in a hotel between a thoroughfare and the trash facility.

When I inquired about the trash facility and pick up, I was told by the front desk manager that he did not know when the trash pick up would be and that I was the only customer who had ever complained about facing the trash! Clearly he had no idea of how to handle customers nor was he going to change our rooms as he claimed that he had nothing available.

Upon our insistence, a room change became available in the main hotel. We were delighted to with our suite and connecting room which was completely updated and facing over the horseshoe gardens. However our rooms were directly across from the service elevators and service area which meant a constant banging of doors from the service areas and the personnel coming to our floor.

Finally the service was inconsistent. One night, we would have turn down service with slippers, water and ice. On the rest of the evenings, there would not even be water provided. It was very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VoyageurW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear VoyageurW,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and for staying with us. I am sorry to learn our Hotel was not up to your expectations both in quality and service, and regret the inconveniences you experienced. We will, as always, take your feedback seriously as we continue to enhance our physical product and service. We hope to have the opportunity to make amends and I will be happy to oversee any future reservations to ensure you have a flawless experience.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future to experience our regular levels of seamless hospitality.
Best regards,

Christoph Moje
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights when I was moving and my new place wasn't ready. I did not want to leave. Good bed, great service. Nothing to complain about - Only issue I had was my room key did not work. Instead of making me go back to the registration desk, they brought me a new one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided to you. We are very proud of our team and their commitment to the guest and ensuring that each guest receives the attention and service quality they have come to expect from the Langham brand. I am glad that your key issue was ultimately resolved, and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. The staff will be so pleased to know that they had such an impact on your stay.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warmly,

Christoph Moje
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasadena
1.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.0 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
15.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Property: The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing